We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not in kansas anymore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Harb'r Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Harb'r Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Fox Harb'r Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1337 Fox Harbour Road, Wallace, Nova Scotia B0K 1Y0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wallace
Northbrook, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not in kansas anymore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wow, once you enter the gates it is a different world.
If you are a golfer the course is beautiful and extremely well maintained. It was in perfect condition when we visiting in August. It is a challenging ocean course with difficult greens. We did not play the Par 3 course which looked interesting.
Our accommodations were gorgeous with a huge bedroom and exquisite bathroom (heated granite floors). The robes were fantastic and not your usual cotton type. The kitchen was stocked with your usual glassware although we could have used a few plates for appetizers while sitting on our big porch enjoying the water/course view.
I didn't go into the Spa because we were there to golf, but we met a bride and groom on the course as they were heading to the bluff for a picture and she was raving about how well she was treated in the spa and how luxurious the treatment was she received.
The dining room was very nice, and the food was good. They have a huge deck of the dining room but when we went to have a glass of wine there it was as if we were causing trouble for the. It is a nice space looking out towards the water so I don't know why it was a problem.
Like other visitors, this resort is in the middle of nowhere and is not inexpensive. if you don't golf or shoot then there isn't anything else that I noticed in the area.
We were there on a Stay and Play Golf package which apparently included breakfast, but upon check in we were never told/reminded of the breakfast or where it was served so I can not comment on that.
I have to add that my husband left a club on the course which was returned and also sent to us asap back in the states. We thank you for that as when our caddie lost my sand wedge at Sea Island they never did anything.
We also enjoyed the excitement of watching a private jet land while golfing as the airstrip is off the first hole. I wish I knew who was on that plane!

Room Tip: no elevator to the upstairs, but you have a porch. We had steps down to the course from the patio wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
27
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolfville, Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our second trip to Fox Harbour. It surpassed the first. All of the staff were friendly, gracious, helpful, and treated us like no request was the slightest bit of trouble. The service in the dining room was significantly better than our previous stay 3 years ago, so I can definitely say that the service was on par with the food. Very good menu and an exceptional wine list in all price ranges.

Our room was perfect -- well stocked, immaculately kept, and comfortable.

The golf course was in great shape and even though we were called in because of some thunder and lightning in the area, we were able to get back out and finish our rounds promptly and the staff kept us updated frequently during the delay. Questions that we had regarding rain checks were answered promptly and although we didn't end up needing a rain check, we were very pleased that the facility would have treated us very fairly in the event that we were rained out.

This is a big splurge price wise. It is in "the middle of nowhere". There isn't anything pretentious about the place, but it is an expensive resort with high end amenities, food, and facilities. For those who love golf (or the spa) it is a great way to relax.

Don't go if you have to watch every penny. Don't go if you like hustle and bustle. Don't go if you think there will be lots of stuff to do offsite -- it's rural Nova Scotia.

I don't think that it would be suitable for young children, and older ones might get bored. I think this is adults only -- couples, or golf fanatics.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We did not stay at the resort, we were just passing through Nova Scotia and my husband wanted to stop by and try the 5 Stand Shooting Lesson and the Sporting Clay Course. I never having shot before decided to join him and give it a try. It was the highlight of our vacation! The lodge was beautiful, equipped with everything you needed. Our instructor was very informative and made the morning fantastic! The course itself was superb! We were given the time to try what we wanted and with a little coaching even managed to hit more clays then I was ever expecting! We are already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

A couple of observations and one caveat. There are 31 reviews on this place and 22 rate it excellent. Only one rates it average. Almost every reviewer is a seasoned traveler with multiple reviews on TripAdvisor. The caveat. I'm not a golfer. I was just here for business. Fox Harb'r is impressive and I get why it would get such rave reviews. You drive to what seems the middle of nowhere and go through a big beautiful gated entrance into a perfectly manicured park like setting. As I said, I don't golf but the rolling lawns and vistas were enough to make me want to learn (almost). The room was like a condo with a small porch where you could walk right out on to the greens. The view from the room looked pretty much like the photos in the overview above. The room itself was modern and nicely furnished. The air conditioning was too enthusiastic and I couldn't get the tv to work but the shower was great.

We had dinner in the clubhouse. Good food, nice service and a large lodge like feel. BTW, we pretty much had the run of the place. Either it is so big you don't notice others or there weren't many guests. Of course, it isn't an inexpensive place to stay....

Anyway, a lot of money has been spent in the relatively recent past to create a very upscale golf retreat in a remote spot. It's all very new feeling - kind of like parts of Hawaii or maybe a Vail sort of experience. The vistas are beautiful and Nova Scotia is a real gem. Fox Harb'r is not for me (don't golf and I like older places) but I can see how my fellow travellers (particularly golfers) could be so enthusiastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Remote and very quiet resort with a beautiful golf course. Felt like we were one of the only guests. Didn't need to make tee times and spa appointments in advance. Staff was very attentive. Also had a great par 3 golf course overlooking the strait. Beach area very small and disappears during high tide. Food good. Will definitely return

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just returned home from 2 1/2 weeks touring the Canadian Maritimes. This is one of the nicest resorts I every been to. Beautiful townhouse style suites 18 hole and 9 hole golf course excellent condition and beautiful. Indoor pool, Spa, 2 restaurants. I a little dressy, 1 more casual. Great food. The grounds are great. overlooking the water. Runway for private planes, Marina, shooting range. Great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I am just packing my bags after spending four nights at fox harbor. Staying at this resort was a fabulous experience. We had a king suite which was beautiful, well appointed and overlooked the golf course and the bay. The grounds are breathtaking and the golf course is stunning. The golf course is immaculate and the monuments on each tee box are pieces of art. The fairways are lush, the traps are well groomed and the greens are perfect. The front 9 plays through the woods and the back nine plays along the water providing beautiful vistas. There is such attention to detail and no amenity has been spared. The staff from the reception desk, to the dining room to the golf and pro shop to housekeeping are all smiling and there to help you. If you have the opportunity, a stay at this resort is a must. We had an amazing time here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Harb'r Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Harb'r Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 1337 Fox Harbour Road, Wallace, Nova Scotia B0K 1Y0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Wallace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wallace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fox Harb'r Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening in 2000, Fox Harb’r Golf Resort & Spa has been consistently ranked among the top Resorts in Canada by leading travel consumer reports and industry peers. Fox Harb’r is one of only four 5-star resorts in Canada. The resort offers classic elegance on a grand scale with a variety of activities including award-winning championship golf, par 3 golf course, tennis complex, a sporting lodge featuring skeet shooting and sporting clay, a luxury spa and wellness centre, a private 4885 ft. airstrip, deep sea marina, Five-Star Great Room restaurant and The Willard for casual dining. In addition to the Resort amenities, Fox Harb’r also includes a private gated community, Harb’r Stone Village, showcasing stylish private residences and town homes overlooking the course and ocean for those who desire luxurious resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fox Harb'r Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Harb`r Golf Hotel Wallace
Fox Harb`r Golf Resort And Spa
Fox Harb r Hotel
Fox Harb'r Golf Resort & Spa Nova Scotia/Wallace, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Harb'r Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.