We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whirligigs

Whirligigs
13909 Highway 6, Wallace, Nova Scotia, Canada
+1 902-257-2342
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Wallace
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Truro, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Neat little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My granddaughter is working over near Wallace and has wanted to go to Whirligigs because she heard good things about it from her co-workers. We had breakfast there this morning. We both had blueberry pancakes; I had mine with bacon and she substituted bacon for an extra pancake. They were very good; lots of blueberries in them. The bacon was done just right - crisp and not greasy at all. The orange juice tasted like fresh-squeezed. The place has an eclectic decorating scheme with some nice original paintings and some great photographs. I'd like to go again and try some of their other dishes. They are one of the only restaurants open before 11:00 a.m. in the whole area, so that is a plus.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Artsy Hippy Cool Maritime Coffee House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This wholesome artsy lunch bar is THE reason to get off the beaten path of TransCanada highway on route to Cape Breton for awesome maritime food paired with the likes of quinoa, or avocado. Fear not, fries & tasty homemade desserts are also on the menu. Located east of Pugwash in Wallace, the views are fantastic.

Highly recommended & 5 stars from me, an urban refugee:)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast / Brunch for miles around !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Wonderful place ! Good quality food ... homemade fishcakes and beans were really really good !! :)

Bright and colourful decor.

Very friendly and accomodating staff.

Home made fruit pies are irresistable !!!

All in all ... a wonderful place. Worth the drive to get there !!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wish we lived in Wallace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

As we were leaving, my husband told the proprietor that he wished he lived in Wallace! This is a wonderful, colourful restaurant in a tiny village overlooking the harbour. Fabulous food. Great service. An absolute delight.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Charming cafe good wholesome food that will leave you dreaming of your next visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a delightful surprise this unique cafe was to discover. On the main drag of a beautiful seaside village Whirligigs offers a menu of good old Nova Scotia favorites. Try the eggs Benny over fishcakes or if not so inclined they have the old standard bacon and eggs with hash browns. Both are excellent! The atmosphere is eclectic, mixing old world charm with seaside influence. Great experience, excellent service, delicious food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whirligigs also viewed

 

Been to Whirligigs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whirligigs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.