We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok if your desperate to sleep” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Baia d'oro hotel

Save Saved
You added Baia d'oro hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baia d'oro hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Contrada Mollarella | Licata s.s. 115 - Km.226, 92027 Licata, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Licata
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ok if your desperate to sleep”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stoped here for one night. Don't get too excited, theres nothing exceptional about the hotel. Trust me I've seen better and way better! Service is ok and i'll rate this as a 6 on 10. The room: the basics with a nice smell of sewer! Air conditioning is worthless and the walls are super thin! I'll rate the room a 4 on 10. The view is nice and the beach is really nice. I'll rate this a 8 on 10. Over all, if you can drive farther to gela, do it, you will get more out of you euro. I would not suggest this hotel to anyone!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    29
    15
    10
    20
See reviews for
46
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fgura
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 5 days, the beach is fantastic the area is beautiful. The hotel has a nice swimming pool ,big parking area and clean towels and bed sheets but it has smelly bathrooms ,ants on the bed, AC not good enough, frigo-bar empty and I did not fiend soft drinks at the bar, the breakfast was ridicules sometime bread and butter and a fruit only ,I went to eat in a restaurant on the same beach ,left of the hotel (facing the beach) 6 min walk and I had the best of the Sicilian food for a very good price.

Room Tip: Not recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

It was our first visit to Sicily but the impressions turned out very pleasant due to the hotel staff activity. They have been very professional and friendly during whole time of the accomodation.
+: Nice pool (which was cleaned every day), clean beach and sea, free sunbeds, wonderful restaurant, perfect staff.
-: Sleeping problems because of the noise from the nearest cafes and hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony (seaview), every day cleaning, big and medium-soft beds, air condition, fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

The trip around Siciliy for my 40th birthday was going well, and we had arranged a couple of nights here to see the beach. We were verylucky with the weather too.
The hotel was the only thing open for 5 miles in any direction which suited us fine as we wanted some peace, there was only one other couple staying and they left the next morning after we arrived.
The hotel owners were very nice and spoke english and were able to give us a guide as to where we might find restaurants open in the evenings (the hotel only did breakfast off season)
We drove into Licata and found supermarkets and couple of fast food places, not any restaurants though but we werent that bothered. We stocked up food in the room and went down onto the huge sand beach. I imagine summer would be crazy packed but off season, not a soul. we walked along as far as you can and seen no-one, theres alot of beach changing huts ready for the summer and a few holiday homes but thats it.
in the evening we chatted with the night watchman and then he locked the hotel and we we left to ourselves, very weird to have whole place to ourselves. they said they dont close at all as it gets busier again from chrostmas we must have been in the slack week. The rooms are large and very clean. I would reccomend this to anyone just check to see how busy it gets at peak times first unless you like crowds.

  • Liked — Good location on beach and freindly staff
  • Disliked — No other buisness in the area off season
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

Staff really helpful and friendly - everything we asked for was provided within a few minutes. The room was very comfortable with a lovely view to the sea. However, the air-conditioning was totally useless. Swimming pool was lovely but the dreadful music was solely for the entertainment of the lifesavers.
We found this a very convenient hotel to stay whilst we visited surrounding places of interest.

  • Liked — close to the beach
  • Disliked — dud air conditioning
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmpusa1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

Our room had a pretty decent view facing the beach with the dining room as an obstacle of the beach. No big deal. We spoke with the general manager about the room and he made all the arrangements via email. At this time in Sicily it is very hot! Our room air conditioning had a setting of 27.0C
and very seldom moved from that.
Thats around 80-83 F.degrees.
We asked the desk and the General Manager on numerous occasions to lower the setting since they had full control of the air temp. They reluctantly moved it down to 26.5C which is still warm.
We explained that we payed for the room and cannot be comfortable in those conditions. It was like fighting city hall.
I can remember only one morning being cool the whole seven days we were there. It was miserable!! When we complained at the desk, so did others. They were also Italians as well. So its not the spoiled American life style. Not to mention we had been all over Italy the two weeks before with this seldom being an issue. Its not where the hotel was inexpensive either.
At night the hotel fenced off the beach so you could not walk the beach. The pool was off limits after 5pm.
The noise from the pool area was unbearable!! At 8am the over modulated mic from the so called DJ, was blasting all day well into the early morning hours every night!! It was like a disco in the next room. Who was this hotel catering too? We realized it was a beach but no one could get on the beach at night and why did the music have to be so loud? Not everyone was partying to they dropped. Most of their customers were seniors anyway, get a clue!!! We had a couple friends come up to our room to visit us and the hotel told us twice, it was not allowed!!
They watched us all the time and knew when we were coming and going. It was freaky to say the least. My sons were trying to find a place to eat and the general manager followed them to the parking lot and directed them to their over priced restaurant.
25 euros per person. It was a unpleasant stay and will never go back. We told our friends and relatives in the area about our experience and they shook their heads in disbelief.
If these problems don't bother you then go ahead a book.
Not for us though.

  • Liked — The beach and pool when it was open
  • Disliked — the air conditioning or lack of
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2008

Our group of 8 travelers just returned from staying at the Hotel Baia d'Oro in Licata, Italy. It was a wonderful experience and I would return tomorrow if I could. The hotel is beautifully appointed, the rooms are gracious, and the staff was very accommodating. We had full board, but did not return in time to eat anything but breakfast which was very tasty. All of us had a very good experience both in the hotel and in traveling around Sicily. What an undiscovered paradise!

  • Liked — The beautiful view for the room
  • Disliked — The directions off SS115
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baia d'oro hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia d'oro hotel

Address: Contrada Mollarella | Licata s.s. 115 - Km.226, 92027 Licata, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Licata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Licata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baia d'oro hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Baia d'oro hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia D'oro Hotel Licata, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baia d'oro hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.