We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dockworkers Duty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Faro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Al Faro to your Saves list
Hotel Al Faro
Via Dogana, 6, 92027 Licata, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Licata
Perth
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Dockworkers Duty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We visited Licata on a Motorcycle trip around Sicily. The Hotel was located Port side and quite un memorable.

Rooms were worn but comfortable, the beer in the bar was only just cool, and the streetnoise on the weekend was more than noticeable.

If Its just a bed on budget, this may suit as an overnighter. More then 2 nights may be problematic.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a lower floor away from the roof top bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
3
12
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

We stayed here in April 2007 as my Grandmother is originally from Licata. We were a group of about 10, after going to Rome and Florence we stayed here and it was great. Yes it was a basic hotel, but super clean and relaxing and a great price. In the morning breakfast was wonderful as were the chocolate croissants!

It was great meeting my extended family and getting to see where my Grandma grew up, her family store, and where she was baptized!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

Hotel is located in the harbour very close to the start of Vittorio Emanuale which is usually the main street for shops and restaurants in Italy which is the case in Licata also. Breakfast was basic no thrills just boring. Room was large but i found the bed very hard i usually like hard beds but this one was more like sleeping on the floor. Receptionist in the evening 20.00 could not a single word of English which is a little bit frustrating since i do not know Italian... There is a computer in the reception for guest to use for free which is great!

Value for money but not the place you take your girlfriend to this is a a basic hotel just for sleeping in no entertainment in staying in this hotel.

  • Liked — Internet access in reception for free, location and size of room
  • Disliked — boring, check-in staff did not know a single word of English, boring breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2007

Hotel Al Faro - Faro means lighthouse - is located in front of the port. Basic hotel, and don't expect many choices in Licata, delivering a nice, 'familiar' service.

Rooms are not small at all, and clean, equipped with satellite and pay per view tv; the biggest issue was given by the thin walls, simply not filtering anything: I had the chance to listen a 2 hours phone conversation coming from the room next to mine.

Other notes: basic continental breakfast (horrible orange juice, and Sicily is famous for the best ones in the world) and free parking available in front of the entrance.

The family owns the restaurant as well - same name - based on the ground floor: noisy, and the receptionist paid excuses in advance cause of the big party (I stay for the women's day) expected that nite.

I wouldn't recommende this place for a week holiday, but for a nite the price is really reasonable: 55 euros for a double.
Probably different prices in summer: cheap deal, though.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Al Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Faro

Address: Via Dogana, 6, 92027 Licata, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Licata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Licata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Al Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Al Faro Licata, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Faro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.