We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, Yes and Yes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Oste E Il Sacrestano

L'Oste E Il Sacrestano
Via Sant'Andrea, 19, 92027 Licata, Sicily, Italy
+39 0922 774736
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 46 restaurants in Licata
Price range: $51 - $65
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: L'Oste e il Sacrestano e D.O.S. Di Origine Siciliana Peppe e Chiara vi guideranno in un viaggio fatto da profumi e sfumature della loro terra.
Isleworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yes, Yes and Yes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I returned to Oste and Sacrestano after a few months: food and service outstanding, main ingredient: passion. Very good, any day, any time. For London prices, even cheap!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    111
    28
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch, wonderful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Having seen the Valley of the Temples at Agrigento, we rewarded ourselves with a visit to Licata, as we have had such great experience of Slow Food in Sicily. It did not disappoint! We all went for the 5 course tasting menu and were delighted that we had done so.

Peppe's food is wonderful, Sicilian with his own twist, and Chiara's knowledge of and recommendations on wine enhanced our pleasure. And their delight and entirely justified pride in what they are doing is a joy. DON'T miss it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siracuse, sicily
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“imaginative food with attention to detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

to gain access into this establishment you have to ring the doorbell and the door is unlocked . Once inside it is locked again behind you.from the outside all you can see is curtains. there is room for about 18 - 20 diners max in this inviting single room down a laneway. it is listed as being a slow food place and the food is well presented and tasty. There is a tasting menu for 48 euro which comprises 5 small courses. we didn't feel up to having 5 courses but wished we had after someone else ordered. prices are reasonable and the chef comes out to tell you about the available dishes. the four of us thoroughly enjoyed our meal which had quite a different, and maybe more elegant feel than other places we dined on this trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Freehold, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, delicous, and inviting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

What an unforgettable experience. Beautiful old world Sicilian atmosphere, warm and inviting staff, and lets not forget the DELICIOUS food. I come from a very Italian family and my mother is an amazing cook and it takes a lot for me to say that other Italian food that I eat is delicious, However Peppe, the chef, adds his own twist to traditional dishes and makes the taste of his food out of this world DELICIOUS! We were a party of 9 and many of us ordered different things. Everyone had nothing but good things to say about each dish. The shrimp appetizers melt in your mouth, the pasta with cipolla was sweet with a little bit of a crunchy twist, and the meat dish was seasoned perfectly and so flavorful. My husband tried the eggplant parmesan and said it was also amazing. The the rest of my party tried different fish dishes and they said that they were also very good. We ended our experience with the most delicious canoli I have ever tasted. I would definitely recommend anyone who is in or near the town to make reservations and visit the restaurant. I promise you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing! Just go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This restaurant is a true gem. We had dinner there on our first night in Licata.. could not have hoped for a better start to our holiday. The restaurant is cute and charming, hidden in a little side street in the center of Licata.
Chiara, the hostess, is extremely nice and knowledgeable, she wouldn’t stop smiling and she was extremely helpful when we asked her to help with the wine. The food was spectacular, from the first to the last course! Ingredients were extremely fresh, portions perfectly sized and everything was authentic (I am Italian, not saying this randomly). Wish I could remember the name of the courses we ordered. The Cannolo is a must-order.. I am still dreaming of it! This was, with no doubt, the best meal we had during our week in Sicily. And to top it all, prices are absolutely reasonable for this quality of food: 2 primi, 2 secondi, 1 desert, half a bottle of wine, desert wine and coffee for approx. Eur100. Absolutely recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Oste E Il Sacrestano also viewed

Licata, Province of Agrigento
Licata, Province of Agrigento
 
Licata, Province of Agrigento
Licata, Province of Agrigento
 
Licata, Province of Agrigento
Licata, Province of Agrigento
 
Licata, Province of Agrigento
Licata, Province of Agrigento
 
Licata, Province of Agrigento

Been to L'Oste E Il Sacrestano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Oste E Il Sacrestano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.