We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, apart from proximity and pool” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Koufonisia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Koufonisia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Koufonisia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 27 Koufonissi B&B and Inns
Kifisia, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced, apart from proximity and pool”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

The beds were really old and the room had very old furniture and and a totally old bathroom. The hotel was promising wifi but this was only reachable in the reception. Very poor cleaning services and without face towels on day 1. The beds were squeaking every time we were sittting. The SPA is a "myth" as even the personnel in the reception could not provide any information while there was a poster saying that "For SPA ask the reception".... Breakfast was average with awful coffee and an espresso freddo was charged EUR 3,50...!!!!

Only three good things: proximity to the town, nice environment (exterior) and the swimming pool.
Personnel service was close to very low, although 1-2 employees were friendly.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    18
    12
    20
See reviews for
21
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

we stayed for 5 nights, 4 beds room. the room was spacious and clean. the water is very salty and there were not enough dry towels, so they have put a wet towel on our bed. when we asked to replace it they gave us a dry one. also no wet towels were by the pool, there were very few and they ended very fast. breakfast ok for a 4 star hotel. it seemed that the hotel needed a renovation..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalamata
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Good first:
Good location very close to the center of the village with the restaurants. Nice buildings, good breakfast
Now the bad :
Into the room you don't have facilities for 4 star hotel : cleaning services were very bad , no shower gel and shampoo, one night they forgot to leave bed sheets !!!! and one day they left balcony door open after the cleaning (I had ground floor )The double bed was comfort but the mattress awful !!!!
I stay at the reception for half hour for my reservation and 2 other customers came yelling for problem with they rooms and trying to find where the manager was (The manager was sitting all day near the pool doing nothing )
Conclusion : with little more work maybe the hotel become a good hotel BUT NOW is a bad experience . Do a reservation Only if you want to bet with your holidays

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koufonissi hotels

athens
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Booked a 15 night stay for my family of 5 by phone talking to a Mrs Maragoudaki. A couple of days later got an email by the Koufonisia Hotel booking department confirming my reservation, on the condition of course that I wire them a 25% deposit within a few days. Wired the money on the same day.

Booked my flying cat arrangements for the entire family and paid for all the tickets.

And then...

Just before midnight (!) I got an email by a Mr Vasileiou saying there is no availability the days I had requested and I should either change my dates or cancel!

No "sorry, we are overbooked and made a mistake", no "please accept a room upgrade, or a discount, or a half board on the house" or just a simple, sincere apology. Had to change my entire travel plans, changed by boat tickets having to go to Piraias and pay a fee, ended up being able to go just for 4 nights.

The staff finally acknowledged they have an overbooking problem, but still there was no apology or compensation, they just said the whole incident was "unpleasant for all".

The island is amazing, the hotel infrastructure very good, the pool and rooms clean, the cleaning ladies very nice, the driver Yannis top class, Dimitris at the restaurant top class also. Only other problem the wifi (slow or nonexistent depending where you sat).

To conclude, wonderful hotel. Only big problem (gigantic one though) with the bookings, shows if nothing else very bad management by the Simos family ownership.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

An amazing hotel to an amazing greek island. I couldn't wait for this trip to the greek islands. the stuff of the hotel was really kind and helping and everything were very clean. Food was amazing, I can't wait to visit it again. Promise to come back next year

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Agree totally with Harald from Norway. The hotel is very nice-apart from the same things he pointed out. The wifi should be also available at the pool area so one didn't have to sit in the lobby and surf. Very helpful staff, VERY clean rooms. Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect. You are near everything. The pool and the gardens are nice. The rooms are not all the same. Some are more comfortable , with view and balcony. Done other rooms are not comfortable at all. Breakfast is ok, not something special. Every day they try to clean, but the rooms are not as clean as they should be.... Prices is an issue. Other price in Internet, other through mail and other through phone....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Koufonisia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koufonisia Hotel

Address: Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Koufonissi
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Koufonissi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Koufonisia Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Koufonisia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koufonisia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.