We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Portes Houses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Portes Houses to your Saves list
Portes Houses
84300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Koufonissi B&B and Inns
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice structure almost new, nice room decoration full of taste and attention to detail, friendly and attentive owners. Location is close to the beaches but a bit far from the chora especially at night when You have to walk home in the dark (street lights do not cover the entire route).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larvik, Norway
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at Portes Houses for 3 nights. I must say we had a fantastic time, the service, the breakfast, the atmosphere, all of it. Before arriving, i received an email to confirm the time of arrival so as to be picked up. As arranged they were there, smiling and happy to greet us. Arriving at the hotel, we went to the reception to check in while our bags were taken to our room. From day one everything went great and we felt hospitality. Descriptions, reommendations of beaches and eating places. The room was beautiful, clean, modern and it was cleaned daily, bed made and new towels laid on the bed. Breakfast was our highlight. All we needed was to sit on the balcony and someone would come and take our order. Choice between toast, omelett, joghurt, fruit, bread and jam, coffee...! On our final day, since our boat left late and check out was at 12, we had the possibility to leave our bags at the reception and were driven to us at the port where we were waiting.
I recommend this place! You will not regret it! :)

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed in Koufunisi only for 1 night and I must say that this hotel made our stay really good. We just loved the hotel and its design, clean rooms and everything so new and fresh, the staff very friendly who were able to do anything for you to feel comfortable. Nice breafast served on your terrace with beautiful view. We will go back to this hotel for sure. This time for longer time :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The rooms are clean large and nicely decorated, the staff polite and friendly and you can order whatever breakfast you like in your room! It doesn't get any better than this.
Only drawback is the location, although it's in a large plot with great view and evertyhing, it is a good 10 min walk from the center. But the owners are more than happy to pick you up - drop you to the port and give you a bicycle during your stay!
All in all one of the best hotels in the island and with fair rates.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The most modern property we have seen in Koufonissia (we have visited other hotels where our friends were staying - including the more expensive Koufonisia resort - and they were no match!), wonderfully comfortable bed and very nice touches in the furniture and overall design and style of the room and property. It definitely showed good taste on the side of the interior designer, who managed to smoothly combine modern comforts with the "traditional" Cycladic style. Quite a complete kitchen available for those who plan to use it (not our case).
Good breakfast to be had on the room terrace (not a great view but a good experience nevertheless)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portes Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portes Houses

Address: 84300, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Koufonissi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Koufonissi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Portes Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portes Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.