We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owner is a swindler” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dafnis Studio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koufonissi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dafnis Studio
Save
You added Dafnis Studio to your Saves list
Koufonisia | Koufonisi, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 27 Koufonissi B&B and Inns
Paris, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The owner is a swindler”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have been working in the Airline Industry for 13 years now and travel all around the world and this is the first time I saw such a swindler..
I usualy pay several days in advance before living and this is what happened...
The day before living I wanted to pay and the bill I had was on a 5 cm x 5 cm sheet :
300
-120 (deposit)
-------
= 280 euros

It took me nearly 5 minutes to explain the owner that it was 180 euros.. after taking its calculator !!!!!
Of course he refused to give me a bill , and I had a 5 cm x 5 cm receipt !!!
I was terribly furious !!
Never seen this before..
He only gave me the bill the last day which was totaly incorrect .. no price per night / no account mentionned / no VAT / no Tourist tax..

Even if the room I had was cleaned (room number 5 ), the terrasse had no view at all .. one wall on the right, one on the left, one in the front...

Beside of this, no one in the reception all day long...(the owner is on the main beach...), and the second day my key room was lost !

So this is the worse place where to stay In Koufinissi..


Please be also careful if you need to modfiy your boat ticket..I had to explain the women in the travel agency, as per mentionned on the boat ticket, that it was refundable with 50 % fee ...Was suprised to see that I knew the rule conditions and she checked the conditions of the ticket. That is crazy when we know that he agency only sells all day long those tickets !!!


Hervé PINON
PARIS
France

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spyrodis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dafnis Studio, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We would like to inform you that according to the greek laws, the hotel is obliged to give the customer the formal receipt on the day of their departure. Moreover, on the receipt is mentioned the total amount of your stay. The analysis is sent to your e-mail. So, as you can realize, there is nothing illegal in this whole procedure.
As far as the view is concerned, you already knew that and if you visit our website, you will see clearly written that this particular room has no view.
You can always find someone at the reception. We apologize for the lost of your key. The maid lost it, but we gave you another key instead, until next day that the first key was found.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Attiki, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

When we arrived at the koufonisi we absolutely loved it at first sight! Beautiful island and fascinating sea. The owner, sir Yannis came and delivered us from the port although the studios where only a few minutes far from the port. From the beginning, we understood how nice he was as he made us feel like we know him for years. Furthermore he told us everything we should know about koufonisi. He was really helpful and polite. When we arrived at the studios we also met his wife miss Dafni who is also a wonderful person. Then sir Yannis called us to the reception in order to give us the key and he offered us a drink. He also helped us with the luggage. When we got to the room we were more than pleased. It was the cleanest room we have ever seen and really beautifully decorated. It was much over our expectations. Miss Dafni was taking care of our room every day and made us thinking that it was cleaner than the other day. During our stay they made us feel more than welcome as they never stop smiling and showing that they cared for having fantastic holidays. We didn't feel that we were staying at a hotel but that we were staying at a friends' home. To sum up he also delivered us to the port although it was too early (06:00 a.m.) concluding our amazing holidays. We strongly recommend it to everyone want to have a wonderful time!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in july. We had a family studio with sea view on the first floor, and it wars big, clean and fully equipped. We think the owner was very nice and helpful and we enjoyed our stay vert much. Its not very far away from the beach or city center where the restaurants are. So the walking distance is no problem. We think dafnis is a good choice in koufonissi and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!

Room Tip: Studios on the first floor have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Dafnis studios uneccatable, expensive for July (80 euros per night) . The owner was rude, bad service and small rooms without sea vew.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spyrodis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dafnis Studio, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please, let us explain you that the room you reserved was a double one, but upon your arrival, you asked us to bring you also an extra bed, so as a result the room was looking smaller.
Our price list is published in our website, so you knew the price of the room before making your reservation. In addition, in our site we mention that 3 of the hotel rooms have no view. You chose one of these rooms and agreed on the cost.
As far as the owner's behavior is concerned, we are a costomer-focused hotel, always striving to make our guests feel like home. We are sorry we did not manage to make you see that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venezia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This studios is situated very close to the only one chora and a few minutes away from the beaches. The rooms are very nice, clean and fully equipped (kitchen tools). Mr. Ioannis is very kind and helpful, he picked us and our luggage from the port to the hotel and vice versa.
Koufonissi is amazing.
A very relaxing stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The Dafnis is a very comfortable place to stay however there are a few qualifications I would wish to make.
Firstly, the booking is hell if you do not have a bank account which facilitates transfers for the deposit. The money order I had to use was costly and unnecesary if the owner and his son had a little more faith in society.
Secondly, the price agreed was not the end price. We were really messed around on the internet and rooms on the first, second and ultimately ground floor were agreed. Of course the price varied with these changes but this was not the reason for the discrepancy I write of.
Thirdly, the quality of the view from the studios vary greatly deoending on the room you have.
Finally, the studios are not easily reached as the direct route to the beach is over waste land and the alternative is quite a walk around other buildings.
On the positive side I have to mention Natasha, the person who looked after the rooms, she was wonderful.
The rooms themselves are very clean and comfortable and Koufonissia is a beautiful island to which we will return, alas we will stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: You really need to be on the upper floor, avoid the ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john m, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dafnis Studio, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have taken all your comments into consideration and we use more modern and easy methods of payments now. All our rooms are analytically described and shown in our website. Our customers can choose a particular room when visiting our site, as each room has a different name-number. We hope to see you again in order you can enjoy our improved services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Yannis took us into his hotel at short notice after we were let down by Anna's Villas. Dafnis' villas is in a fantastic location on the island and the room provided everything we needed for a very comfortable stay. The Kitchenette was the best equipped we saw on our travels and the room was clean throughout. With excellent free WIFI service and transfers too and from the port, you can't go wrong with Dafnis. It was excellent value and we'd love to go back again. Brilliant place!

Room Tip: Visit Neo Remezzo restraunt for the best fish ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dafnis Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dafnis Studio

Address: Koufonisia | Koufonisi, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Koufonissi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Koufonissi
Number of rooms: 17

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dafnis Studio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.