We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely island with amazing night life” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Favignana

Favignana
Sicily, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 20 Attractions in Favignana
Type: Islands
Attraction Details
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Lovely island with amazing night life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 NEW

Lovely laid back island with some nice beaches, but the best is in the evening as the centre gets really bustling with people and restaurants and cafes! It was great! We were there on a Saturday so maybe that helped.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    32
    5
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minsk, Belarus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Just a small town on an island”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Favigniana is the largest of the 3 islands. I had bought a ticket to Favigniana but have seen Levanzo, too. It seems, Levanzo has just about 3-4 streets with the same amount of cars. Favigniana is much bigger but the whole town can be viewed in some hours. I have spent about 90 minutes there. It was enough for me.
In general, I would recommend to visit the island and the town just to tell yourself: I have been there. I have found nothing special. But the town is different from Trapani or Erice.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Go here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Very busy in the main centre but the most amazing coast line so don't be put off. I wouldn't come and expect to relax on a beach but I would definitely recommend hiring a bike and cycling the whole of the west half if the island (starting in the centre and going over to the other side of the island then there is a pathway around the entire coast.). There are options to stop at beaches but they aren't really beaches and overly crowded. Take water also as there aren't many places to get any.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Favignana came as a surprise, more so because we joined a tour guide for a one hour tour of the small village who provide us with a lot of information. We never expected Favignana to have so much actually! Please note that the tour is ONLY in Italian even if you are told there will be a guide doing an English version. We took the full day excursion with Blu Lines, and the tour included Levanzo which is small but reminiscent of Mykonos in Greece. One other important thing - if you suffer from any sort of allergies, make sure you take your own provisions. On booking I was promised a gluten free meal which never materialised. And forget about the 'mutilingual guide' on board - Sandro did 10 minutes of an explanation in English when we left Trapani for Favignana and the rest (i.e. Favignana to Levanzo and rest of the trip) was exclusively in Italian. If you are taking the tour simply to be able to swim in the lovely sea there, do note that you will have very very little time for swimming - 10 mins before lunch is served, and another 15 minutes before starting your way back to Trapani.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Do not hesitate for a second if you have the opportunity of visiting this lovely Sicilian Island. My experience was 100% lovely. There are magical beaches, mouth watering food, very friendly people and comfortable accommodation options available.

It is a relatively small place so walking around should not be an issue but if walking isn't your thing be sure to take advantage of the many scooter and bicycle rentals available. The center is quite lively at night so do not miss having dinner and a granita afterwards. Your dinner is likely to be accompanied by live Italian folk music.

If you are not familiar with Sicilian working hours, I advise that you familiarize yourself with it so that you don't get unpleasantly surprised when the grocery store closes at lunchtime for about two hours!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Favignana also viewed

Favignana, Aegadian Islands
Favignana, Aegadian Islands
 
Favignana, Aegadian Islands
Favignana, Aegadian Islands
 

Been to Favignana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Favignana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.