We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villaggio Cala La Luna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villaggio Cala La Luna to your Saves list
Villaggio Cala La Luna
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   via Badia,1, 91010 Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Favignana B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lively resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed one night, arrivedat night and found it a little difficult to navigate our way to the hotel. Rooms were nice and quiet (despite the amount of people around). Lively atmosphere around the resort, we enjoyed a few drinks at the bar which played music. Fairly close to the town centre (with some great Gelato shops if you so desire after dinner).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    77
    28
    13
    2
See reviews for
52
64
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Staff really helpful. Clean rooms. We avoid this kind of hotels that organize stuff for children, but it did not bother us at all. The windows maintain the noise outside so you do not hear anything at all. The breakfast was excellent. We love it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

This is a resort hotel in Favignana. It caters to families with small children and organizes activities for them throughout the day. There is water aerobics and music by the pool, aperitivos by the hotel bar for instance. Normally we would avoid these kinds of places like the plague, but we absolutely loved Cala La Luna and the staff and had a fantastic time there. The activities are not over the top and staff are good at allowing you to avoid them if you want to, so that you can just enjoy the place and the wonderful island. For us it was actually fun to experience and see an Italian resort which was not in any way over the top. It is a comfortable and fun place to stay.
The hotel itself is beautiful. It is organized around 2 central pools and a hotel bar. Rooms are equipped with small kitchenettes - perfect for those who may want to have snacks on hand or make their own lunch. The rooms are modern and tastefully furnished. We stayed in a smaller room with a balcony overlooking the town. i Rooms are cleaned daily and everything was immaculately clean. The hotel is perfectly located. The center of town is a 10 minute walk away and very close to shops, restaurants, bars and the port. Staff are on hand to help you with advice for exploring the island: they have their own person to arrange for scooter hires and trips. Breakfast is served by the pool restaurant and consists in a wide choice of cereals, cakes and bread. In the evening there are aperitivos in the bar. We would recommend this as a perfect place to stay in Favignana - perfect location, wonderful hotel and great helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This was a pleasant, clean, fairly luxurious place to stay on beautiful Favignana. Handy transfers to & from the ferry terminal. Generally helpful staff, and arranged scooter and cycle hire. Quite family-orientated with lots of fairly loud entertainment which we didn't much care for. Nice pool also slightly marred by irritating rules, especially closure for 2 hours every afternoon (1-3pm), and a rule that you have to wear a swimming cap (which seems a ridiculous thing I have never come across elsewhere). Easy walk into town, and handy for cycling around the island. Staff were generally good, but most unhelpful and bordering on discourteous when we complained about the pool closure (obviously we realised they weren't going to change the rules, but I don't expect to be interrupted and do expect to be heard out sympathetically and courteously; they don't seem to realise the pool is one of the main attractions of this relatively expensive resort, and we expect to be able to use it during the hottest part of the day).

Room Tip: We had a nice room overloking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We were arriving from one week at the Calamancina Village in San Vito Lo Capo (same owners of this hotel), which we had not like at all and we were therefore very worried.

We were delighted to see that Cala la Luna was actually one if not two notches up the scale for us than the Calamancina.

The structure is very well kept, the duplex apartment was extremely nice, fresh and spotless with a very nice terrace overlooking the pool area, this one very clean too and very pleasant.

The staff was excellent: very welcoming and helpful from reception, through the rental services to the entertainment around the pool and at night time. Our two children enjoyed the kids activities very much, when they decided to join them and everyone was really friendly without being too pushy; which we liked very much.

The apartment was cleaned every day at a surcharge, but it was made impeccably by the cleaner. It was well worth the money. Beds were very comfortable too. Kitchenette very well equipped, even if we did not use it.

The beaches are quite far away from the hotel, Lido Burrone being the closest at 10 minutes by bicycle. We enjoyed them very much, even if we were told that in August they are all so crowded. We were glad we could make the best of them, apart from a full day with jelly fish which however turned into a great adventure day for our kids...

The hotel is very close to the center, which one can reach by foot or by bike. We decided to rent the bicycles for us and our two children (9 and 7 yo), as we were highly recommended by friends who had already been in Favignana. We really enjoyed touring Favignana by bike, as we really see the island well; it is a beautiful, wild island, with not many beaches but the sea is beautiful (I recommend to take the boat trip around the island to really see it).

The hotel has a restaurant which is managed by people external to it. The menu is not very varied (especially for children), but the quality of the food is very good. We started to eat outside the hotel, since after 3 days we had tried everything from the menu already.

The breakfast is charged 10 euros per person (children do not have any reduction) and it is dealt with by the same people of the restaurant. This was very disappointing; the choice was not great, bread was not fresh (which is a real sin in a small island like Favignana), cakes were offered for days even if it was clear that people did not enjoy them, milk was warm and the quality of coffee and juices not at the level of a country of Italy or a 4 star hotel at all.

I must however say that when I said that to the reception, they admitted there had been other complaints too and asked me in detail what I thought needed to be improved. This is always a good sign, in my experience. Considering the very good quality of food for lunch and dinner, I'd expect it would be easy to improve breakfast dramatically if they only want to.

I'd go back to the Cala La Luna, although we did not like very much the fact that the place was offering time sharing too which always make the clientele too mixed and unmatched.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Very well located (5mins walk to the town center), clean and quiet. The room was huge more like an apartment than a room, and the quality of sleep very good. The decoration was simple but cosy. Convenient bar with free 'antipasti' served. Personel was nice.
The only down sides was the room being a bit cold and the restaurant expensive.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I have been with my spouse for two nights in this hotel in a low-season period as part of a longer trip in Sicily: this was definetely the best hotel we have been.
The complex is brand new and very clean, rooms are very spacious, the personell very supportive and helping.
We enjoyed staying in the swimming pool area as long as in the bar area... alot of spaces and a very relaxing atmosphere.
We paid a good price because we went in May, but it may become more expensive in high season.
Location is 1 km from the city centre and I would definetely reccomend to rent a motorbike, bike or car, because the island is full of fantastic "calette" and you can only enjoy them if you can move on your own.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villaggio Cala La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Cala La Luna

Address: via Badia,1, 91010 Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aegadian Islands > Favignana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Favignana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villaggio Cala La Luna 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villaggio Cala La Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Cala La Luna Hotel Favignana
Villaggio Cala La Luna Favignana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villaggio Cala La Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.