We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beech House at The Olive Branch

Beech House at The Olive Branch
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clipsham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beech House at The Olive Branch
Save
You added Beech House at The Olive Branch to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Main St, Clipsham LE15 7SH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Clipsham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bucks, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Apologies in advance as some parts of this review are repeated in our reviews of The Olive Branch.


We have literally only just arrived home from our night away at Beech House at The Olive Branch (having enjoyed dinner last night and breakfast this morning at The Olive Branch across the road) and we feel the need to write our review immediately, as it was such a lovely occasion for us.

We are saddened to read the negative reviews for both venues as we totally disagree with them. Our experience was completely opposite and we would award them each 10/10!

Anyway, it is our anniversary today so my brother and sister-in-law treated us to this overnight visit. We stayed in the Berry room and were very comfortable – they stayed upstairs in the Apple room and both said the same, that it was very comfortable (though we didn’t see the Apple room ourselves).

All four of us were very impressed with the House and we appreciated all the thoughtful little touches that appeared everywhere. The lady who showed us to our rooms was incredibly friendly and helpful and we were given the feeling that we could ask for anything if we wanted to.

What a pity it was raining so hard this morning, as this meant we didn’t get to enjoy our private patio which was so pretty and inviting (or would be in the sunshine!).

We also enjoyed our dinner and our breakfast, so I will nip over to The Olive Branch page now and say more about our meals.

Our thanks to DB and SIL for a fabulous anniversary treat – and it was so good to see you again (it has been a while).

Our thanks, too, to Beech House for a super stay, and also to The Olive Branch for their gorgeousness.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    17
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
57
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grantham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Booked dinner b and b with great expectations. A complete, expensive let-down.
Our room - apple to forewarn others - was just big enough for a double bed and dressing table.
The starter of tomato and goat's cheese salad comprised 3 or 4 marble sized pieces of cheese, a few slices of tomato and a bit of lettuce. Main course of chicken and leek pie was minuscule, with vegetables comprising a green sludge in the middle of which was ONE small-finger sized piece of carrot placed vertically. We initially waited for the rest of the meal to arrive until we realised that was it. The sweets were similarly small and uninspiring.We had invited friends to join us for the meal which was embarrassing ; they subsequently confessed to going home hungry and fixing themselves supper.
After an airless bad night, even with the window open, we went to breakfast. Nice room. A mediocre display of cereals yoghurt and ashtray-sized dishes of raspberries, strawberries and apples (for two couples) was followed by a 'full english' which would have fitted fairly comfortably on a side plate. The toast had been brought with the tea and so was cold by the time we wanted it, and nobody came near to see if we wanted more of anything.
We paid and left, never to return. If you are happy with pretentious, overly-priced pap, help yourselves. Those wanting anything approaching comfort, service and value for money steer well clear.

Room Tip: Do not choose 'Apple'
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the Berry room for 1 night for a special occasion. Lovely room and view. A bit pricey but it was for a special occasion so was willing to pay that extra. Overall really nice house.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My very special 60th birthday was made even more memorable by the excellent hospitality and service that was provided by all staff. Homely accommodation, personal service and a feeling that nothing was too much trouble allowed me to really relax and enjoy myself with my family. I would not hesitate to recommend the Olive Branch to you.

Room Tip: All the suites were excellent and quite individual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Beech House is an attractive property in the lovely village of Clipsham. It is effectively free of amenities and you are paying for the room. We were in the Apple room which at £135 a night was the cheapest. It was quaint in a modern country style and clean. Apart from the expected flat screen TV there really isn't much you can say about it. The room was very small, the bed and pillows not particularly comfortable and the sound would not work on the TV when DVDs were played, it was also a little shoddy around the edges, e.g. paint pealing off the shelves etc.. Frankly this is a very attractive house, but you really don't get much for your money. We also ate at the Olive Tree, which is a quaint pub across the road. This was I am afraid the worse Michelin Star meal we have had, the food is gastro pub style rather than typical Michelin standard food, apart from my lemon tart which was not set and runny, it was perfectly edible but not memorable in the slightest, the service is poor with the expection of the refunded desserts which was quickly and efficiently dealt with. Breakfast isn't bad, albeit the full English was a bit greasy. In summary I would say that both Beech House and the Olive Tree are more style over substance. Not recommended for the value.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Let me start by saying the rooms at Beech House were comfortable and cosy and clean - nothing fancy but they are like most rooms which are beside a pub. We were greatly looking forward to our evening meal after all that we had read - however having arrived for our evening meal at half seven for a half eight booking, in order that we could have a drink in the bar first it went down hill from there! By a quarter to eight we had been asked twice for our order and by eight we gave in and ordered our food at the bar and agreed to be seated; but requested that we could finish our drink and have some olives prior to our starter. The olives arrived and two minutes later our less than spectacular starter arrived ! Then we had had to wait fifteen minutes to order a bottle of wine so we ended up finishing our starter and not having anything to drink, upon which our main meal arrived. This was quite cold, the rice and sauce on the fish was tasteless and a request for the meals to be warmed up was ignored.
We decided not to have desert and retired to our room hoping breakfast would be better. The barn where this is taken is very nice and there are homemade marmelades etc which is a nice touch. However the buttered kippers my wife ordered were more like those out of a packet and were bright orange and again quite cold. I would not recommend this restaurant or accomodation to anyone as it is not cheap and upon paying our bill the staff did not even ask how our stay was - we decided to leave without making a fuss but will NEVER return - it is over rated and the service is slow and the staff are very haughty.

Room Tip: Lower rooms have a small patio garden but these are looking over the car park in the main.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Once again we enjoyed this delightful accommodation which was peaceful and situated in delightful countryside. They still haven't managed to provide information on local walks which was a bit disappointing and we were very disappointed with the Olive Branch. (see separate review)

Room Tip: Chocolate, in which we stayed, has a sitting room which gave us more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beech House at The Olive Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech House at The Olive Branch

Address: Main St, Clipsham LE15 7SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Clipsham
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clipsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech House at The Olive Branch 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Good Hotel Guides 'Restaurant with Rooms' Cesar Award Winner 2012. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beech House At The Olive Branch Hotel Clipsham
Beech House At The Olive Branch Clipsham, Rutland, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beech House at The Olive Branch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.