We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, good accommodation and food ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barnsdale Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Barnsdale Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stamford Road | Nr Oakham, Barnsdale, Oakham LE15 8AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Barnsdale
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent location, good accommodation and food ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and arrived at night, so in the morning drawing back the curtains to see such a lovely view was a nice surprise. We had a balcony room and a kingsize bed which was very comfortable. The tea tray was a bit sparsely supplied and it was difficult to get the kettle under the tap in the otherwise great bathroom as it was very shallow. The shower was excellent, nice and powerful without knocking you over and the rubber slip mat a welcome extra. We ate one night in the restaurant where the service was a bit erratic and slow, but the food was quite acceptable and the wine excellent. Breakfasts were a little less than perfect although ok, but I don't like buffets at the best of times, dried scrambled egg and 'hard' fried eggs are not my choice. The mushrooms were good, but the tomatoes seemed like they'd been blow-torched. Don't eat pork or beans so no comment on that and no veggie sausages within sight either. Croissants were good if you got there early, but soon dried under the lamps.
The pool was nice and long, although very shallow for a long way and I kept hitting my feet - jaccuzi was alright but the water jets were cold - steam room was good. Showers and changing rooms were good too.
I'd definitely go back but would ask for a room away from the laundry as the driers were going all the time.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the laundry unless you can cope with a constant drone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    110
    72
    51
    28
See reviews for
76
172
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We booked at barnsdale hotel for a valentines weekend !! , Apart from one 'board' which had a small display that was it !
The staff throughout the hotel were not helpful and you felt quite bad in asking for directions or towels in the spa area.
There was one lady called 'Annie ' who was in the breakfast room who was extremely happy and attentive but apart from that lady , they all needed customer service training .
The room was very disappointing , quite tired and in need of 'sprucing' up !
Would we return .... No thank you .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came here on a wowcher deal and don't get me wrong the hotel is in a fabulous location and we had a wonderful room over looking the lake. it had lots of facilities inc crazy golf, table tennis and the spa pool. the room was lovely but felt the bathroom needed modernising, but for 1 night it was fine. But overall the room was comfy, warm and had free wifi, so ticked our boxes.

The only negatives I had and def think this is something the hotel needs to address is the pool facilties. When we checked in we were told which way to enter the leisure facilities, which was the same entrance as the restaurant. when we walked in we saw a turnstyle, but wasn't exactly sure where these led and to get through them we needed a token. There was no signs whatsoever as to what to do or where to get the tokens from. eventually, we wonderd along some corridors and up some stairs and found the leisure reception who signed us in, gave us towels and of course the tokens! So through the turnstyles we went and headed into the pool, which seemed nice. it had a few sun loungers to sit on and a lovely big pool and 2 Jacuzzis. we got in the pool and it was absolutely freezing, the temperature said 28, but it clearly wasn't this. If u wanted to warm up I guess you could swim but this was hard with other people in the pool. we headed for the jacuzzi to warm up and this felt better, but the general temperature in the pool area was cold and when we got out we had no intention of getting back into a cold pool nor sitting on a sun lounger where we also felt cold. I certainly wouldn't recommend having a spa day here until the poolside temperature is sorted. Normally we're a couple who would have spent a whole afternoon by the pool and again the next morning, but the temperature put us off.

Whilst waiting for my husband to come out of the changing rooms I saw plenty of other people looking confused on how to get into the pool, of which I had to explain, so glad it wasn't just us! Also alot people got confused on how to get out of the turnstyles, it was only from watching them that we got straight out!

Overall we've had a lovely night away, with beautiful scenery, but not sure I would pay full price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed two nights after buying a discount voucher online. Check in was fine, although they had made an error in our booking and did not have our reservation - this was quickly resolved. Parking was a little limited outside the hotel - but it was not a problem for us. The decor in the bedroom needed updating, the bathroom was huge and had been refitted. The size would have allowed for a seperate shower and bath; I do not have a problem getting into the bath to have a shower but I know older relatives who would prefer a seperate shower.
Breakfast was served in another building, up a set of outdoor steps or a slope (again not a problem for us but may be for others). We stayed two nights and the two breakfasts were so different! Sunday morning was clearly very busy; breakfast items ran out and coffee and toast was delayed. Monday's breakfast was a delight! We were offered vegetarian sausage (I think this should be an option on the menu if it is available). We ate snacks in the bar on Sunday night. The Caesar Salad initially came with chicken (although we asked for it without), it was not worth the money. Although I can highly reccomend the halloumi pitta - simply gorgeous!
The best thing about the hotel is the location, right on the water - perfect for cycling or walking. I think the hotel should invest in better cycle storage; it is what people want to do at Rutland Water and I would not leave our bikes attached to wall with no covering.
The staff were all very polite and I would return - the lodges look gorgeous. It was very close to getting 4 stars - just the one or two issues mentioned meant I could not give it a 'very good' rating - but please do not be discouraged from going, it is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We came her yesterday 4/2/13 and stayed on a Wowcher deal which gave us a double room with access to the leisure facilities, the staff were all lovely and helpful, the spa was amazing, however only 1 spa pool worked and so had to wait to get in but overall was great, as it was my birthday a friend paid for me to have a massage this morning and it was fabulous, i was comfortable and the staff were nice.
The waiter at breakfast was fantastic and couldn't do more for us, the food was lovely.
The hotel was clean, bathroom - huge!! :)
Views from outside the hotel were breath taking and the main hall was a stunning building.
We drive 3.5 hours to stay here and we can honestly say it was worth every second!!

Room Tip: Ask for the Uppingham building as it's on level with all the facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was given birthday treat of a champagne lunch at Barnsdale Hall Hotel restaurant. What a treat it turned out to be. On a cold Saturday lunchtime we sat in the window table overlooking the beautiful views of Rutland water.
With the warm winter sun streaming in through the window, we had excellent service, excellent food and and excellent experience.
The staff were attentive and well organised showing us to our table promptly and efficiently, menus immediately to hand. The set menu choice was concise yet varied with 2 or 3 course options available. Champagne was served nicely chilled and supported the air of elegance in dining room.
My haddock and chips were delicately cooked and supported with freshly made tartar sauce and crushed peas. My wife had the roast salmon that was served on a bed of roasted vegetables.
Deserts are refined and served in good portion sizes. The Eton mess one of the best I have eaten.
All together a fantastic lunch on a cold winters day that will definitely be repeated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Had a brilliant stay here on a friday night courtesy of a wowcher deal (although we did pay the extra £10 for a upgraded room). I have to say the room was excellent, very clean and comfortable and with a baclony/view of Rutland Water no less!. The stay included full use of the pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna etc. The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout the hotel. All in all it was a very enjoyable stay and without hesitation i would recommend it to anyone thinking of staying here. There are also some nice villages in the surrounding area and can recommend the Fox and Hounds pub at Exton for good beer, food and friendly owners/staff.

Room Tip: If you can get a room overlooking Rutland Water it is a real bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barnsdale Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsdale Hall Hotel

Address: Stamford Road | Nr Oakham, Barnsdale, Oakham LE15 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham > Barnsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Barnsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnsdale Hall Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With this unique setting, personal charm, character, and friendly but attentive personnel, Barnsdale Hall Hotel is the perfect venue whatever your occasion may be. Extensive spa and leisure facilities makes it a haven in which to retreat, relax and unwind. With its breathtaking views of the natural splendours of Rutland Water where better to hold your wedding reception, corporate event, or a romantic getaway for two?Set in conservation parkland on the slopes overlooking Rutland Water, Barnsdale Hall Hotel is one of the most unusual and comprehensive hotel complexes in the United Kingdom. This makes it an ideal location for corporate business, conference and leisure pastimes. With a rich and varied range of things to do on and off site there is, we believe, no better position in which to be located in this country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Barnsdale Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsdale Hall Oakham
Hotel Barnsdale Hall
Barnsdale Hall Hotel Rutland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnsdale Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.