We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Outing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnston's Cranberry Marsh

Johnston's Cranberry Marsh
1074 Cranberry Road, Bala, Ontario P0C 1A0, Canada
+1 705-762-3203
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Bala
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the cranberries that make this area unique! The daily Bog to Bottle Discovery at 1 pm is a Canadian Signature Experience. Taste and learn as you follow cranberries on a guided journey from peat bog to award-winning wine. Other 'must dos' include wine & cheese on the scenic patio and browsing for local goodies in the one-of-a-kind wine & gift shop. Hiking and snowshoe trails, GPS and kids' adventures and fall harvest activities are also available. Open daily, year round (Mon-Sun 10-5). Daily tour at 1 pm. Located four minutes north of Bala, in scenic Muskoka.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Family Outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Bog to Bottle tour was very informative. Wine tasting was generous. Best part o our trip was getting a picnic basket in the store and taking it out on the trails. We stopped at a picnic table overlooking a lake and had a truly enjoyable time. On our walk back to the store my daughter said that family picnics are underrated. I couldn't agree more. Great family time that we all enjoyed. make this a part of your visit to the Muskoka area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    12
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galena
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Lovely gift shop with wine tasting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We visited Johnston's in August 2012. What a nice place it is. Beautiful, relaxing and a place to shop! I took home many Christmas gifts and stocking stuffers. We'll be in the area again later this month. Johnston's is on my list of "must go back to that place" places. :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Stop in if you are in the Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is an amazing place to visit. It is a actual farm where the cranberries are grown. You can ride through the farm on their pulled wagon or just walk around and see for yourself. The process of how cranberries are grown and picked is very interesting . The have a store where or can buy cranberry stuff and wine while you are there. It is located between Bala and Port Carling. There is no charge to visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, ON
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun geocaching & generous wine tasting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time visiting with friends. Enjoyed geocaching in the morning as we wandered along many well prepared trails that were recently completed and well marked. We got lucky as the bugs weren't yet out - great time out and about! Stayed for the wine tour in the afternoon and enjoyed learning a little about the farming, processing, and packaging. I was glad we had ordered the cheese tray as there wasn't an option to order a light lunch. Pack a bag lunch if enjoying the same day away to save on gift store markup.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you are looking for something different to do for a weekend you have to visit the Johnston's Cranberry Marsh. They have everything from wagon tours to wine tasting. Friendly staff who always make you feel like family.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnston's Cranberry Marsh also viewed

Muskoka Lakes, Muskoka District
Gravenhurst, Muskoka District
 
Gravenhurst, Muskoka District
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 

Been to Johnston's Cranberry Marsh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnston's Cranberry Marsh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.