We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reunion 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bala-Hy Motel

Bala-Hy Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bala-Hy Motel
Save
You added Bala-Hy Motel to your Saves list
3017 Muskoka Road 169, Bala, Ontario P0C 1A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bala
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Reunion 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Very nice quaint older motel, with a great location.They had our rooms already for our group, and gave me an update on their planned arrival. Very hot water, in the shower, which my wife likes. The staff were friendly and courteous. One room had a odd odour, so they just switched them to a bigger room. The lake, island and beach are really nice. We sat on the island and just relaxed. Very peaceful. Would go there again.

Room Tip: Don’t think any room was better than another, except #10 had a picture window, with a view of a mead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Bala-Hy Motel for two nights while hiking and exploring the area. It could not be cleaner or better maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and fresh smelling. The lake in the back is beautiful with a lovely little island and beach, where we could have spent half the day. None of that will make this a luxury accommodation. The room and bathroom are small and simple. There are certainly travelers who will not be satisfied because they are accustomed to more high-end places. We would happily stay here again (especially given the price).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here on two separate trips, 1 night each, in the past few weeks. Each time we just needed a place to sleep and park our bass boat/trailer overnight. We were in the area to enjoy some fishing on Lake Joseph and Rosseau nearby. Reservations by phone were a breeze. The reservation team is very accommodating and courteous. During our 2nd stay, the TV had no cable. which was not a big deal. After 10+ hours on the water, we were beat anyway. For the room price, the room is more than one should expect for $70/night in an area surrounded by $1MM+++ cottages. It's just basic and clean. It does have a mini-fridge, and a microwave is available upon request. For anyone staying here longer than a day, you are within walking distance to local Bala attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth County
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I with 2 kids booked here for my daughter's wedding and when we got here I thought it was going to be less then I hoped for. the Hy isn't a new place and I have never been fond of strip type motels but I changed my mind with the Hy!

The staff is absolutely great and helpful. be aware this isn't the Hilton, for instance there was no blow dryer in the room. but we asked and one was delivered promptly. The beds were comforatable and the location is great! as previously stated the Beer Store is next door and the Kee is 2 blocks away.

We would definately recommend the Hy and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Ontario
Level Contributor
323 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

You can walk to the Kee from here and the beer store is right next store. Older place but rooms are clean and it has a nice waterfront out back with a firepit and beach. Stayed here when seeing Hedley in Bala. Lots of concert goers stay here so sort of a tailgate party atmosphere. Cheaper prices considering theres only three hotels in Bala. Bala Chippers down the road great spot for greasy breakfast after night of partying. Hard to get someone on the phone at times to reserve a room. They want a 2 night stay now i was told.

Room Tip: cabins by the lake sleep larger groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

i love this motel, friendly staff, good rates, would definitely return! i stay here whenever i see a concert at the kee

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bala
7.1 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
12.4 mi away
Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
11.4 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
11.4 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
14.7 mi away
Muskoka Riverside Inn
Muskoka Riverside Inn
#7 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bala-Hy Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bala-Hy Motel

Address: 3017 Muskoka Road 169, Bala, Ontario P0C 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Bala
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bala
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Bala-Hy Motel Ontario - Muskoka District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bala-Hy Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.