We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food. Great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tacatzo

Tacatzo
Carretera Tepic Puerto Vallarta 949 Local 4, Fraccionamiento Flamingos Residencial,, Bucerias, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 111 Restaurants in Bucerias
Price range: $2 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food. Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for clean authentic food this is the place to eat. Family run. Very casual Would definitely go back again and again

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacatzo V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tacatzo, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you Mona J for visiting us, we are happy to learn that you enjoy the food and the service that we provide at Tacatzo. We look forward to have you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    14
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Tacatzo has the best Mexican food. I tried most of everything on the menu as I live here in Bucerias. It's hard to say what I like the most because everything is excellent. I must say that I crave for Papatzo's with bacon. (Mainly a baked potatoe with cheese and bacon). And the shrimp pasta with veggies are great. I am so lucky to live in walking distance to this restaurant. They even deliver.
They will be opening soon at the Drunken Duck. My favorite hang out with great music.
Go have a bite at Tacatzo. You will not regret it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacatzo V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tacatzo, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you Carole L, we were very happy to have you once again at Tacatzo. We appreciate the time you have invested to write your review and we are glad that you liked the Papatzo and the pasta. We put special effort in all the food that we serve with the objective of exceeding our customers expectations. Thank you once again for visiting us and we look forward to have you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, ID
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazingly clean, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just finished lunch at this great little place. Excellent service and food. Great little place for lunch. Ice cold beers hot tacos waiter spoke perfect English. Loved the variety of sauces for the tacos.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacatzo V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tacatzo, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you RandRTime99, we appreciate the time that you have invested to write your review. It was our pleasure to serve you and we will be happy to have you back in Tacatzo in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Excellent Casual Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Tacatzo is located on Mexico 200 Carretera (Highway), also known as Tepic-Puerto Vallarta Carretera. It is several hundred yards north of the Mega and on the same side of the highway. There is a Pemex gasoline station and an OXXO convenience store. Tacatzo is in the same small building as the OXXO but back from the highway.

The restaurant is small, clean, fairly spartan, but the food and the service are first rate. I recently had the adobado con queso (grilled pork with cheese). It was very flavorful, more than I could eat, and only cost $58.00 pesos (less than $5.00 USD). My spouse had the Tacatzo Combinado (beef and pork burrito), which was also very large and very flavorful. It cost 56 pesos. A Pacifico beer cost only 20 pesos. In addition to a very good selection of Mexican food, Tacatzo has several pasta dishes.

The service was quick and friendly. We spoke with a young man, whom I believe is the owners' son. He expained that "Tacatzo" does not actually mean anything in Spanish, but is a play on the word "taco."

As far as the quality of food is concerned, this is one of the top five restaurants is Bucerias. As far as price is concerned, only taco stands can compete with Tacatzo.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacatzo V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tacatzo, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you Seala_12, we appreciate the time that you have invested to write your review and the effort you have put into describing our exact location, we really appreciate it. We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed your experience at Tacatzo and that you consider us on your top choice of restaurants in the area. Thank you once again for visiting us and we look forward to have you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Really good tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Short rib tacos, el pastor, chicken, beef-- yum yum. An array of homemade sauces to satisfy taste buds of all. Queso fundido with chorizo amazing. Pumpkin flower quesadilla so good I got one to go! Roberto and Danielle, young personable couple started this hidden gem about 8 months ago-- they also deliver!! Perfecto! $270 pesos for 6 tacos, 3 enchiladas, queso fundido, 4 diet cokes and their special tacatzo (burrito). Absolutely Will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacatzo V, Gerente at Tacatzo, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you joeyp1508, we appreciate the time that you have invested to write your review. As you have mentioned, we have a large variety of exquisite Mexican dishes and all kinds of homemade salsas (spicy and not-spicy). Thank you once again for visiting us and we look forward to have you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacatzo also viewed

Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Tacatzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tacatzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.