We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time and NOT the last” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Complex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Complex to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Complex
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Lazaro Cardenas 150 | Riviera de Nayarit, Bucerias 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bucerias
Vancouver, BC
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“First Time and NOT the last”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2006

We stayed for one week October 28 - November 4, 2006. It was our first time in Mexico. R DeCameron came highly recommended to me by several people that are repeat clientele, and it was easy to see why. The service was very good, the staff was very friendly when approached for assistance. There is such an array of food at the buffet restaurants that if there is something not to your liking, there must also be something that is! Our absolute favourite of the al la carte restaurants was the Italian - it rocked! And the guacamole at the Mexican was to die for!
I had read reviews here beforehand and tips like 'take your own mug' and 'take your own washcloths' were not very clear so let me say this....taking your own mug will likely save you trips to the bar as your mug will probably be bigger than the plastic cups that drinks are served in, in addition will keep your bevy cold and save on some of the waste with all those disposable plastic drinking cups! In the week that we were there, housekeeping left washcloths in our room only twice...not sure of the reason behind that but the reason for the tip became clear!
Comments in other reviews about tables being cleared a little 'too efficiently' may be as a result of the amount of litter the guests leave lying around. The staff has to be that efficient to stay on top of it. I was pretty disgusted with the guests in that regard...the amount of drinking cups left on the beach, or beside the pool - often with an untouched or barely consumed drink in it was appalling! Really! how much effort does it take to drop your glass into the trash can?? And if you ask for it....drink it!!
The entertainment was really good, very enjoyable - just remember to take your camera! We forgot and missed out on getting some nice pics - their costumes were beautiful!
Kudos to the staff - they handle ill mannered, arrogant guests (and we witnessed a few) very diplomatically, and were very friendly otherwise - making it a very pleasant stay. Will I go again? absolutley - watching for deals already!
~Charlene Vancouver, BC

  • Liked — location and layout
  • Disliked — litter guests left lying about especially on the beach - makes it difficult for staff to stay on top of
  • Tips/Secrets — take a travel mug and wear your sunscreen!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,300
    1,471
    474
    208
    111
See reviews for
825
1,201
69
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2006

My 10 year old daughter and I stayed at the RD from 10/25 through 10/30 and had a pretty great time. I read the review of this resort for months before our trip so I had a pretty good idea of what to look out for.

The resort itself is very nice....not five star but very pretty and well maintained. The beach was quiet and clean and there were very few beach vendors to bother us. I was surprised at how much time my daughter and I actually spent in the bay dodging the waves but we had a ball!

The food is so so at the buffets but we learned early on what to order such as the made to order omelettes in the mornings with fresh fruit. Did not really enjoy the steak I had at the steakhouse but we did make reservations twice at the Italian restaurant because it was enclosed, air conditioned and had pretty darned good food. My daughter really enjoyed the 11:00 p.m. snack served immediately following the resort's evening shows because she could order a hotdog and fries.

The shows were cute but you have to go to them with an open mind....pretty much the same entertainers every night but they change the theme. Once we got used to them, we went back two more times. There's nothing else going on at 9:45 p.m. at night and the pools all close at 8:00 p.m. so it made sense to just grab a drink, go to the show and follow it with a visit to the steakhouse for a before bed snack.

Our room was very plain and we did have a small orange lizard living with us the entire time. He would talk pretty loud occasionally but we made the most out of it and named him and accepted him as a roomie. He stayed out of our way and we stayed out of his way. We were only in our room long enough to change clothes and sleep so we were able to get over the simplicity of our accomodations.

Make sure to take advantage of the ceramics lady by one of the pools. The finished works are absolutely beautiful. We missed picking our finished ceramics up from her on our second to last day and the lady and resort rep made sure to carefully bubble wrap and send our 4 ceramic pieces to our home in the US at their cost.

We may have had more issues with the resort as a whole had we intended to spend our days at the resort. We planned to take part in one big off site activity on each day of our stay which took us off the premises for up to 5-6 hours every day. If we had had to sit at the RD all day, every day, we would have been bored silly. We spent half a day doing the Dolphin Swim (fantastic). Another day was spent on a 4 hour ATV ride into the Sierra Madres to a tequila ranch (absolute blast) and another day was
spent on a canapy tour in the mountains (ziplining from platform to platform in the jungle; fantastic!).

The only major beef I had with the resort and hotels.com was that we were not provided a warning in advance that the RD would be bussing in busloads of Mexican families from Mexico City and Guadalajara. I have nothing against sharing a resort with anybody, but what happens is that nobody spoke english. All the kids spoke spanish and all the resort activities & shows catered to the spanish speaking guests; rather than the guests from the US, Canada and the UK. Some guests referred to feeling like second class citizens. At one point, an employee showed me a sheet that indicated that there were 500 Mexicans staying at the resort. The pool in front of our room was packed with the Mexican children and we moved to a quieter pool so my daughter would not have to sit and watch all the other kids having fun and knowing she could not play because of the language barrier. We could hardly complain because we had such a good price deal due to our visit falling during off season.

All in all, the RD served as a great location to set our stuff down and jump headfirst into PV. The next time we go, we will select a hotel closer to downtown. I did note that I do not want to stay in downtown because of all the commercialization and traffic....but there has to be a happy medium between the RD's location and downtown.

Worst experience was our room location which was should have been wonderful as it was on the ground floor overlooking one pool and the ocean....it was also about 5 doors down from one of the main buffet restaurants. The restaurant staff would be banking pots and pans, laughing, talking and (one night) popping balloons from 2:00 - 5:00 in the mornings. Calls to the desk did not help quiet them down...it's just the way the operate and they really don't care if they wake you....we learned to go with the flow.

  • Liked — The grounds and Italian restaurant
  • Disliked — Noisy staff in the mornings
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring an open mind and enjoy PV
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2006

The price was so low we just had to go, but when we got there I found out why.

The food made me and almost everyone we went with sick for a couple days with the heavy fat and grease content. After speaking with a local who could speak English, he told us that he would not even eat the food.

Second was the rooms. They were a traditional room for Mexico, only they had a distinct musk scent to them. It wasn't overbearing but it took some getting used to. We also got moved from 2 doubles to finally getting a king which we were expecting to get in the first place. Not a huge concern, but little problems like this continued throughout the trip.

The service was very good for the most part, however every time we would leave our table for even one second, they would clear off everything including valuables unless we stopped them.

The security were not a very friendly bunch and at times seemed confrontational if you asked them a question. It was the first time I've ever encountered this at a resort.

Overall, I wouldn't go back or recommend anyone to go there. The only motivation I can see anyone having to return would be the unbelievable prices offered.

  • Liked — Clean beach
  • Disliked — Service, Food
  • Tips/Secrets — don't go, if you're already booked, don't trust the staff
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny okanagan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

I have no complaints about this hotel, i dont think i could get better deal here in CANADA. The staff are beyond expectation especialy restaurant staff....beach is great, grounds are very tidy.
On the way to bucerrias you will find vincent for any tour you wish, he goes out of his way to please you, he will even give rides to your. he is just on the other side of the foot bridge

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
1 review
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2006

We had an excellent holiday and we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The hotel grounds are beautiful, very lush and very well kept. The pools were great too, they were never too full of people. The only criticism is that none of the pools had a swim up bar (but there were bars near to the pools so it was ok for those of us who like a drink or 3!) The rooms were nice and the air conditioning units were the quietist we have had yet. The food was lovely, with a good choice in the buffet resturants. The à la carte resturants were good too, the Steak House and the Itallian resturants are definatly worth a visit. We can not fault the service of the staff. They are friendly and they quickly sorted out a couple of minor issues we had. Look out for the iguanas, we only saw them a couple of times. They are often seen at the back end of the Royal part of the hotel near the adult pool. Puerto Vallarta is easy enough to get to by bus, although you will have to change at Wallmart. For two adults it only costs 29 pesos to town! Be warned however, there are people trying to sell timeshares everywhere in Puerto Vallarta. Forget sellers on the streets, we had people trying to con us in shops and one guy who tried to sell us one when we asked him for the bill in a resturant!!! Overall Puerto Vallarta is a great place to visit. Although this hotel is a little way out from Puerto Vallarta we would definatly choose to stay here again. It was well worth the 14 hour flight!

  • Liked — Swimming Pools
  • Disliked — Size of complex
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
1 review
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2006

We went back to this resort in October this year and it was just as great as the first time round. Our room was a bit noisy as was right next to reception but we spoke to the staff and they moved us that day. The resort itself is beautiful and very well maintained. The staff are polite, quick to help and always have a smile. The food is varied and the salad fresh. Water is provided, all either bottled or filtered so no dodgy tummies. Do go and visit Raoul and Charlie who work with the horses on the beach. It's a great way to spend an hour and they will look after you very well. We're considering going back a third time. Please ignore any bad reviews. Nowhere is perfect but they will do what they can to make your stay as great as possible. I know some people moan, but i suspect that these are the people that are impossible to please.Go and stay here, look forward to it and have a great time. It will be better than you could ever have hoped.
Nikki

  • Liked — Location, ground, staff
  • Disliked — Some rooms too noisy
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room in block 4 or 6, they are the quietest.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
1 review
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2006

We visited the Royal Decameron in late September, and overall we had a fabulous time (my husband still mentions how he misses it and it's been a month). However, there were a few things that I wish that I had known: First, ALWAYS ask what the price of a cab ride is before you get in or even give them your luggage. We neglected to do this on the way to the hotel from the airport and the cab driver charged us $25US for a ride that was $15 when we asked. Second, the map can be a little confusing, but the snack bars open between lunch & dinner (a necessity for those arriving on flights in the afternoon) are located in the Steak house (by the northern corner of the beach) and the Mexican restaurant (next to pool six). At night, however, only the Steak house is open for snacks. Third, whatever you do, if you take a public bus to Puerto Vallarta ask the bus driver if the bus is going to "Centro" to get into PV and to "Bucerias" or "Punta Mita" to get back to the hotel. On the way back we got on a bus going to Nuevo Vallarta which started to take a left turn off of the main freeway. So we got off the bus and started to walk, thinking we must be close, only to spend an hour walking in 95+ heat along the freeway for an hour and then finally getting into a cab to go the last 3 miles. Fourth, if you are checking out of the hotel on a Sunday (maybe Saturdays too) give yourself WAY more than the 20 minutes before you want to leave that they tell you to get your bracelet cut off. We went to the desk to get our bracelets cut off 30 minutes before we wanted to LEAVE the hotel, only to find that a large bus group was also trying to check out at the same time and the bus boys didn't know where our luggage was and furthermore couldn't be bothered to find it for another 20 minutes or until the tour group left. Well, 20 minutes turned into 45 minutes and there was still no help in sight, so I sent my husband to the other lobby to try to find out luggage while I stayed in the main lobby on the off chance that someone would come back to help us. No one ever did, and my husband managed to find our luggage himself and haul it over to the taxi station. Having said all that, please don't be dissuaded from visiting this fantastic hotel. We found the service overall to be superb whether or not we tipped (with the exception of checkout) and we really just had a fabulous and really very relaxing vacation. If you follow these rules and don't expect luxury you will have a great time at this hotel. I think that probably the people who wrote bad reviews were expecting to get something for nothing. I will admit that at the buffets they had some dishes that were a little hard to identify, but if you are willing to try new things I think that you will find most of it to be actually pretty good. The salad was always VERY good, I became addicted to the white cheese they have, and the breakfasts were always the best meal of the day. Make sure you find the individual grill stations at the buffets, they usually had the best food because it was exactly what you ordered. Bottom line is, don't expect to get American food, because it's certainly not, but we ate at the hotel every meal and were completely satisfied. Other random things: we went into the ocean most of the days that we were there and both of us got stung by something (possibly jellyfish) twice, but the pain went away within a couple of hours, and you basically just have to accept the risk of running into some kind of creature when you go into the ocean. We spent most of our pool time at the adult pool in area 5, but toward the latter part of the week discovered that pool six was actually less crowded and had more open space. Oh, and don't come expecting clear blue water where you can snorkel because, at least while we were there the water was pretty rough (but great for body surfing) and never clear enough to see anything with snorkel gear. What you should expect from this resort is a nice, friendly, clean place with beautifully maintained grounds, a staff who can understand at least the basics in English, and a generally relaxing environment. We will definitely go back again, though we will probably go in the winter next time even at the end of September the humidity was so high that you were pretty much just wet all the time. Have fun!!!

  • Liked — The POOLS!
  • Disliked — The distance from PV
  • Tips/Secrets — ALWAYS ask taxi price before riding
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Complex

Address: Lazaro Cardenas 150 | Riviera de Nayarit, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bucerias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Decameron Complex composed of three hotel units: Flamingos, Tropical and Royal, is located 20 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport on the most exciting and extensive beach of the beautiful Bay of Banderas in the typical Mexican town of Bucerias in Riviera Nayarit. The colorful architecture of the Royal Decameron Complex offers 5 swimming pools, 4 of which are suitable for children, and long stretch of beach where you can enjoy different activities, non-motorized water sports and bar services. You can also enjoy a large number of buffet and a la carte options with specialized restaurants including: JAP JAP, Wok, MexicanoFusion, Piccolo and Steak House, among others. We also offer 6 bars along the beach and beside the swimming pools. The Royal Decameron Complex also has other installations like the Vallarta disco, 3 tennis courts, one soccer pitch and a fun Kids Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Decameron Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Vallarta
Royal Decameron Hotel
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Bucerias
Royal Decameron Mexico
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Royal Decameron Complex Puerto Vallarta
Royal De Cameron
Royal Decameron Nuevo Vallarta
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Puerto Vallarta Royal Decameron

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.