We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel BUT.......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Complex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Complex to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Complex
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Lazaro Cardenas 150 | Riviera de Nayarit, Bucerias 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bucerias
Tring Herts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great hotel BUT.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We travelled here with Thomson for two weeks from 21/6/14 to 5/7/14. The flight on the much hyped Dreamliner was a big disappointment. Yes- there is more leg room but what they don't tell you is that the seats are narrower and with the 3-3-3 seat configuration it meant that we basically spent the entire 11.5 hour flight with our elbows pinned to our ribs with little room to move and it would have been extremely uncomfortable for anyone of a reasonable size. Arrival at Puerto Vallarta was good however be warned that they are people who will stop you just before you get out into the arrivals hall and make like they are with your tour company, in fact they will try and sell you trips and can be quite pushy and are nothing to do with Thomson.
The access road to the hotel is not very attractive but once at the hotel we were processed in a friendly efficient manner and thankfully quickly as we were tired. We had room 4226 in Block 4 overlooking the pool near the beach. we found this to be an ideal location and easy to get to everything. It was a large room with a huge bed, although a bit hard for my taste,a good hairdryer. very well maintained throughout our stay and good air conditioning albeit a very noisy unit.It was overlooking the pool with a sea view as well. This is a big hotel and has six pools but we chose the adult only quiet pool which was a lovely big pool made up of several individual pools linked by shallow connecting shelves, There are plenty of sunbeds available but they have no mats on them so strongly recommend that you go across to the shops outside where you can get lilos as cheap as 60 Pesos (£3) for a basic one. added bonus is that if the bed in your room is just too uncomfortable then you can put the lilo on top and sleep on that...it works! all the staff without exception were great, friendly and spoke good English and even helped me with my Spanish. The food was generally ok, Breakfast was the best but like most all inclusives the food can become repetitive but i never went hungry. There are several speciality restaurants but we just couldn't be bothered getting up at 7am of a morning just to secure a booking.we did manage to try the Japanese restaurant and that was very good.The beach is lovely and the Pacific Ocean was surprisingly warm but could get quite rough but great for the body surfers on those days. There are many traders wandering up and down the beach trying to sell various things but a polite refusal is all that is needed. The gardens around this large complex were lovely and very well maintained by the dedicated team of gardeners. Of course then there are the Iguanas of which there are many , they love being fed with fruit and salad and can be seen making their way up and down the various trees in the resort and are really quite funny. Us Brits were definitely in the minority in this hotel which i personally enjoyed. Mostly Mexican families and Canadians with a few Americans. Everyone got along well, however this is where the big BUT comes in. On our second week we were amazed to see 450 Canadian students turn up on what they call a Grad trip. They appear to have completed Secondary School and aged 17 & 18 and have come down on a trip organised by a company called S-Trip. They were all drinking constantly,drunk most of the time, were rude,disrespectful and had no consideration for other guests particularly when they came back from their nightly excursions in the early hours and were a disgrace to their country. Numerous complaints were made to the Management of the hotel by many guests and whilst the management were very sympathetic and did their best to try to sort things out by various means it was a slow process resulting in nothing much being achieved until the final day or so of our, and their holiday. However this hotel is big enough that we just went to the quiet adult pool during the day and an alternative bar at night in which we were able to avoid them. So i can not fault this hotel on any level excluding these student guests.friendly staff, big bedrooms, spotlessly clean, good food, excellent facilities, lovely beach and plenty of iguanas! Saying Hi to the friends we made, Nicky and Clive, Ernie and Yvonne and of course our unforgettable American friends, Betsy and Angela for making pool time just one big social gathering

Room Tip: Block four was ideal location, close to the beach, restaurants and quiet adult pool, and second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,298
    1,469
    473
    208
    111
See reviews for
824
1,199
69
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San antonio
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

The service here is horrible, it is so unorginized. It was unbelievable at how slow they got our rooms to us because they werent clean on time. I asked for a room next to my daughters and i was placed 2 floors away from them. Worse hotel ever. Not even the view could make up for it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our family just returned from a week at the Royal Decameron. We stayed June 28 - July 5th. This was our third visit to the RDC in the last six years and we have never been disappointed. The resort is still very clean and well kept, with immaculate grounds. The staff is wonderful. The food isn't five star, but is plenty good enough, and the drinks are good and flow freely. There are several very clean pools, so you can always find a quiet spot, or a loud spot, or an active spot -- whatever your vacationing heart desires. This trip, family that we traveled with had a few issues with their room, as did we, but the staff were friendly and helpful while all problems were resolved. The weather wasn't fantastic, but we still had a wonderful time.

We ate at the Piccolo, which was very good as always, as well as the Rodizio and the Wok. The Rodizio is a meat extravaganza and can be of varying quality. The Wok was not good, but it wasn't bad either. I don't think I'd eat at the Wok again, and that was the consensus among the seven of us that ate there.

I won't comment much on the entertainment because it isn't really my cup of tea anyway. I went to two shows and both were consistent with the entertainment I've seen elsewhere in Vallarta and in Cuba.

My only complaint - and it isn't the resorts' fault - is that the resort was overrun with 300 high school grads. All in all, they were fairly well mannered and not too bothersome, though many were extremely drunk. The problem was that, as teenagers do, they traveled in herds. So, wherever they showed up, you had no choice but to put up with the drunken noise or relocate. We stayed in Building Five, far from the beach, and luckily the S-Trip crowd never made it that far. Otherwise, a great trip and a great resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My family had a great time we will be going back lots to do and the staff were great the food was a good mix and the shows that they put on we're the best. The rooms were clean. Staff was very helpful. There was a staff in the restraint named Francisco. He was the best there was

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

So This is our review. We do not mean to offend anyone, but this is our point of view (Travelled on 14th June for 1 week):

Room: Was adequate, nothing overly special. We had two double beds which we used both of. It was way too hot to sleep in the same bed together so we had one bed each. We found it funny that the bed covers included a thick winter blanket which we wouldn’t even use in winter back in Alberta. No fridge but a bottle of water was supplied daily (Which you couldn’t keep cool because the room was just too hot even with the aircon on on its lowest setting). No toiletries supplied so bring your own of everything. Ash trays not supplied, which I think they should be so we are not ruining their cups to drink from. Balcony on every room which was handy!! The TV had some English movie channels which came in handy as il explain later re entertainment. The beds were very hard so I didn’t sleep too brilliantly

Hotel: Nice hotel considering it has 6 blocks of apartments. Well kept and maintained

Pools: There were 6 in total, we stayed by the adult QUIET pool mainly as the other 5 were over run with locals and there herd of children who had no manners and showed absolutely no respect to anyone. The water was luke warm which was fantastic as to me there is nothing worse than having a freezing cold pool. There should be speakers at every pool though playing music, even if its Mexican music, just something to give the place some life! Also the sun loungers had no toppers on them, so laying on the beds can make your back hurt quite a bit.

Food: We found the food was adequate, but nothing special. We was hoping for themed nights most nights but we didn’t find that. Yes there were themed restaurants but we found the restaurants served mostly the same stuff. We always tried most of the food available that day but nothing was every super fantastic that we wanted seconds on that certain dish. My partner has a seafood allergy and we had rice most days and one day we was eating rice and found some shrimp in the rice which was not indicated, nor was we in the seafood restaurant. We were just lucky that he had no reaction. There was only icecream available for the lunch menu and not dinner which we would of enjoyed at dinner too. Breakfast was lovely though!
Entertainment: We didn’t particularly enjoy any pool side entertainment (At non adult pools) as it was all Spanish and aimed at the kids, but even the theatre event every evening wasn’t too brilliant. It seemed to be more of the same dancing and no variety, plus most of it was in Spanish and we couldn’t understand the story lines from their costumes. It would have been nice for some karaoke or bingo, or something fun which we could all do, even the kids. Maybe a pool/Snooker/Table tennis area etc.

Beach: Was kept clean and tidy but when you just want to relax and soak up some rays and listen to the crashing waves, it’s a little disturbing when you are asked every 5 minutes if you are interested in buying something from the vendors. The sea is warm but can be quite fierce. To me the waves felt like they were crashing into my legs along with a wall of bricks. The current is very strong that it whips up the bottom of the ocean straight into you.
Going outside: I would say it is safe. We didn’t find much at all outside of the hotel which is why we stayed in most of the time but we wouldn’t of had any problems if we did decide to walk outside.

Weather: most days it was 34 degrees in the shade. It was extremely hot that you just pool hopped all day. It rained a total of 3 times during our week, twice for 30 mins which is heavenly and really needed, and the other for about 2-3 hours one evening which cooled the air down nicely. Evenings went down to about 30 degrees, so the theatre packed with 200 or so people was hell, and escaping to your air conned room was heaven!

Transfers: We landed at the airport and was the last couple off the plane, then we were stopped by immigration and searched as we purchased a 200 pack of cigarettes (And declared), and then walking outside and trying to get through the 5 or so people who are not your operator, asking which company you were waiting for for transfers (Trying to trick you I suppose), we were walking up to our bus and it was just reversing out of the space!!! So I’d say hurry on to the bus incase it leaves without you! returning transfer was fine though.

Plane: Flew with airtransat but no airtransat plane. I was hoping for a TV

Overall had a great relaxing week. May not return to that part of the island as we really enjoy a clear calm ocean and a little bit of entertainment during the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have just returned from the Royal Decameron in Bucerias after a two week holiday mid june 2014. We staed in Block 4 room 4229 looking over the garden accross from the main restaurant. We had a lovely time here but found the humidity too high for our liking. The hotel is run exceptionally well with cleaning and maintenance being carried out to very good standards all the time. The food in the main restaurants was acceptable but could get a little boring after two weeks.
We had great difficulty booking the evening a la carte, the system is you have to be at the booking desk for the 8a.m. booking. I arrived before 7.30a.m. and the lady who was carrying out the bookings had already given out 50 tickets to people already queing. These 50 tickets where attended to first when it came to 8a.m. and in numerical order where guests could book for two day for evening meals. The available seating was soon taken up with many within the 50 not getting seating. I left before all 50 tickets where attended to as it was apparent that I would not be getting any of the restaurants in the next two days. Not a happy bunny!!
The other compaint with this hotel is the sunbeds which although they are washed down on a daily basis they do not have any soft covers on, just the basic hard plastic beds to lay on - not good. Many guests where buying floatation beds to put on top of the sunbeds to give them some comfort.
Overall this is a nice resort with a well run hotel at a good value, the staff always pleasant and attentative to your needs.
Maybe we went at the wrong time of year with it being the rainy season which contributed to the high humidity. Hopefully if we do consider to return, the management will have done something about sunbed comfort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Four Canadians went to this hotel last year., we got a great price and it was well worth it.
Check in was quite smooth considering a bus load at a time is dropped off.
We were given a third floor room which wasn't going to work for my boyfriend(hip problem)
They moved us as soon a s we asked, hard bed, gave us a pillow top.
We were in building 6, nice and quiet, no kids in the pool.
I really wish they would get proper lounge chairs, they are rock hard but we followed everyone else and got a blow up to sit on top which we gave away when we left.
Its a large complex but easy to get around, take time to see where everything is. Food, not bad, there was always something to eat and none of us got sick, that was a bonus for me! Try the Picolo, delish!
Bring your own insulated drinking cup,
Bring your own shampoo, face clothes etc, they don't have the freebies that most hotels have.
No scramble for chairs at pool or beach, that was a nice change too.
All in all great vacation I would say the best thing about this hotel are the employee's, great people skills.Fun was had by all, will be back!

Room Tip: block 6 quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Complex

Address: Lazaro Cardenas 150 | Riviera de Nayarit, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bucerias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Decameron Complex composed of three hotel units: Flamingos, Tropical and Royal, is located 20 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport on the most exciting and extensive beach of the beautiful Bay of Banderas in the typical Mexican town of Bucerias in Riviera Nayarit. The colorful architecture of the Royal Decameron Complex offers 5 swimming pools, 4 of which are suitable for children, and long stretch of beach where you can enjoy different activities, non-motorized water sports and bar services. You can also enjoy a large number of buffet and a la carte options with specialized restaurants including: JAP JAP, Wok, MexicanoFusion, Piccolo and Steak House, among others. We also offer 6 bars along the beach and beside the swimming pools. The Royal Decameron Complex also has other installations like the Vallarta disco, 3 tennis courts, one soccer pitch and a fun Kids Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Decameron Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Vallarta
Royal Decameron Hotel
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Bucerias
Royal Decameron Mexico
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Royal Decameron Complex Puerto Vallarta
Royal De Cameron
Royal Decameron Nuevo Vallarta
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Puerto Vallarta Royal Decameron

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.