We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Lazaro Cardenas 150, Bucerias 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bucerias
San antonio
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

The service here is horrible, it is so unorginized. It was unbelievable at how slow they got our rooms to us because they werent clean on time. I asked for a room next to my daughters and i was placed 2 floors away from them. Worse hotel ever. Not even the view could make up for it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,269
    1,428
    453
    202
    106
See reviews for
808
1147
68
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our family just returned from a week at the Royal Decameron. We stayed June 28 - July 5th. This was our third visit to the RDC in the last six years and we have never been disappointed. The resort is still very clean and well kept, with immaculate grounds. The staff is wonderful. The food isn't five star, but is plenty good enough, and the drinks are good and flow freely. There are several very clean pools, so you can always find a quiet spot, or a loud spot, or an active spot -- whatever your vacationing heart desires. This trip, family that we traveled with had a few issues with their room, as did we, but the staff were friendly and helpful while all problems were resolved. The weather wasn't fantastic, but we still had a wonderful time.

We ate at the Piccolo, which was very good as always, as well as the Rodizio and the Wok. The Rodizio is a meat extravaganza and can be of varying quality. The Wok was not good, but it wasn't bad either. I don't think I'd eat at the Wok again, and that was the consensus among the seven of us that ate there.

I won't comment much on the entertainment because it isn't really my cup of tea anyway. I went to two shows and both were consistent with the entertainment I've seen elsewhere in Vallarta and in Cuba.

My only complaint - and it isn't the resorts' fault - is that the resort was overrun with 300 high school grads. All in all, they were fairly well mannered and not too bothersome, though many were extremely drunk. The problem was that, as teenagers do, they traveled in herds. So, wherever they showed up, you had no choice but to put up with the drunken noise or relocate. We stayed in Building Five, far from the beach, and luckily the S-Trip crowd never made it that far. Otherwise, a great trip and a great resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My family had a great time we will be going back lots to do and the staff were great the food was a good mix and the shows that they put on we're the best. The rooms were clean. Staff was very helpful. There was a staff in the restraint named Francisco. He was the best there was

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

So This is our review. We do not mean to offend anyone, but this is our point of view (Travelled on 14th June for 1 week):

Room: Was adequate, nothing overly special. We had two double beds which we used both of. It was way too hot to sleep in the same bed together so we had one bed each. We found it funny that the bed covers included a thick winter blanket which we wouldn’t even use in winter back in Alberta. No fridge but a bottle of water was supplied daily (Which you couldn’t keep cool because the room was just too hot even with the aircon on on its lowest setting). No toiletries supplied so bring your own of everything. Ash trays not supplied, which I think they should be so we are not ruining their cups to drink from. Balcony on every room which was handy!! The TV had some English movie channels which came in handy as il explain later re entertainment. The beds were very hard so I didn’t sleep too brilliantly

Hotel: Nice hotel considering it has 6 blocks of apartments. Well kept and maintained

Pools: There were 6 in total, we stayed by the adult QUIET pool mainly as the other 5 were over run with locals and there herd of children who had no manners and showed absolutely no respect to anyone. The water was luke warm which was fantastic as to me there is nothing worse than having a freezing cold pool. There should be speakers at every pool though playing music, even if its Mexican music, just something to give the place some life! Also the sun loungers had no toppers on them, so laying on the beds can make your back hurt quite a bit.

Food: We found the food was adequate, but nothing special. We was hoping for themed nights most nights but we didn’t find that. Yes there were themed restaurants but we found the restaurants served mostly the same stuff. We always tried most of the food available that day but nothing was every super fantastic that we wanted seconds on that certain dish. My partner has a seafood allergy and we had rice most days and one day we was eating rice and found some shrimp in the rice which was not indicated, nor was we in the seafood restaurant. We were just lucky that he had no reaction. There was only icecream available for the lunch menu and not dinner which we would of enjoyed at dinner too. Breakfast was lovely though!
Entertainment: We didn’t particularly enjoy any pool side entertainment (At non adult pools) as it was all Spanish and aimed at the kids, but even the theatre event every evening wasn’t too brilliant. It seemed to be more of the same dancing and no variety, plus most of it was in Spanish and we couldn’t understand the story lines from their costumes. It would have been nice for some karaoke or bingo, or something fun which we could all do, even the kids. Maybe a pool/Snooker/Table tennis area etc.

Beach: Was kept clean and tidy but when you just want to relax and soak up some rays and listen to the crashing waves, it’s a little disturbing when you are asked every 5 minutes if you are interested in buying something from the vendors. The sea is warm but can be quite fierce. To me the waves felt like they were crashing into my legs along with a wall of bricks. The current is very strong that it whips up the bottom of the ocean straight into you.
Going outside: I would say it is safe. We didn’t find much at all outside of the hotel which is why we stayed in most of the time but we wouldn’t of had any problems if we did decide to walk outside.

Weather: most days it was 34 degrees in the shade. It was extremely hot that you just pool hopped all day. It rained a total of 3 times during our week, twice for 30 mins which is heavenly and really needed, and the other for about 2-3 hours one evening which cooled the air down nicely. Evenings went down to about 30 degrees, so the theatre packed with 200 or so people was hell, and escaping to your air conned room was heaven!

Transfers: We landed at the airport and was the last couple off the plane, then we were stopped by immigration and searched as we purchased a 200 pack of cigarettes (And declared), and then walking outside and trying to get through the 5 or so people who are not your operator, asking which company you were waiting for for transfers (Trying to trick you I suppose), we were walking up to our bus and it was just reversing out of the space!!! So I’d say hurry on to the bus incase it leaves without you! returning transfer was fine though.

Plane: Flew with airtransat but no airtransat plane. I was hoping for a TV

Overall had a great relaxing week. May not return to that part of the island as we really enjoy a clear calm ocean and a little bit of entertainment during the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have just returned from the Royal Decameron in Bucerias after a two week holiday mid june 2014. We staed in Block 4 room 4229 looking over the garden accross from the main restaurant. We had a lovely time here but found the humidity too high for our liking. The hotel is run exceptionally well with cleaning and maintenance being carried out to very good standards all the time. The food in the main restaurants was acceptable but could get a little boring after two weeks.
We had great difficulty booking the evening a la carte, the system is you have to be at the booking desk for the 8a.m. booking. I arrived before 7.30a.m. and the lady who was carrying out the bookings had already given out 50 tickets to people already queing. These 50 tickets where attended to first when it came to 8a.m. and in numerical order where guests could book for two day for evening meals. The available seating was soon taken up with many within the 50 not getting seating. I left before all 50 tickets where attended to as it was apparent that I would not be getting any of the restaurants in the next two days. Not a happy bunny!!
The other compaint with this hotel is the sunbeds which although they are washed down on a daily basis they do not have any soft covers on, just the basic hard plastic beds to lay on - not good. Many guests where buying floatation beds to put on top of the sunbeds to give them some comfort.
Overall this is a nice resort with a well run hotel at a good value, the staff always pleasant and attentative to your needs.
Maybe we went at the wrong time of year with it being the rainy season which contributed to the high humidity. Hopefully if we do consider to return, the management will have done something about sunbed comfort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was our first trip to Mexico and we were very happy about everything, the resort was very nice and all inclusive on a beautiful beach. Our room was very small but OK. The food on the premises was good and the drinks were excellent. I would recommend this hotel, the location was the best.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Four Canadians went to this hotel last year., we got a great price and it was well worth it.
Check in was quite smooth considering a bus load at a time is dropped off.
We were given a third floor room which wasn't going to work for my boyfriend(hip problem)
They moved us as soon a s we asked, hard bed, gave us a pillow top.
We were in building 6, nice and quiet, no kids in the pool.
I really wish they would get proper lounge chairs, they are rock hard but we followed everyone else and got a blow up to sit on top which we gave away when we left.
Its a large complex but easy to get around, take time to see where everything is. Food, not bad, there was always something to eat and none of us got sick, that was a bonus for me! Try the Picolo, delish!
Bring your own insulated drinking cup,
Bring your own shampoo, face clothes etc, they don't have the freebies that most hotels have.
No scramble for chairs at pool or beach, that was a nice change too.
All in all great vacation I would say the best thing about this hotel are the employee's, great people skills.Fun was had by all, will be back!

Room Tip: block 6 quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta

Address: Lazaro Cardenas 150, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bucerias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Vallarta
Royal Decameron Hotel
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Bucerias
Royal Decameron Mexico
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Royal Decameron Complex Puerto Vallarta
Royal De Cameron
Royal Decameron Nuevo Vallarta
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Puerto Vallarta Royal Decameron

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.