We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but a little boring” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Complex

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Complex to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Complex
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Lazaro Cardenas 150 | Riviera de Nayarit, Bucerias 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bucerias
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean but a little boring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

So This is our review. We do not mean to offend anyone, but this is our point of view (Travelled on 14th June for 1 week):

Room: Was adequate, nothing overly special. We had two double beds which we used both of. It was way too hot to sleep in the same bed together so we had one bed each. We found it funny that the bed covers included a thick winter blanket which we wouldn’t even use in winter back in Alberta. No fridge but a bottle of water was supplied daily (Which you couldn’t keep cool because the room was just too hot even with the aircon on on its lowest setting). No toiletries supplied so bring your own of everything. Ash trays not supplied, which I think they should be so we are not ruining their cups to drink from. Balcony on every room which was handy!! The TV had some English movie channels which came in handy as il explain later re entertainment. The beds were very hard so I didn’t sleep too brilliantly

Hotel: Nice hotel considering it has 6 blocks of apartments. Well kept and maintained

Pools: There were 6 in total, we stayed by the adult QUIET pool mainly as the other 5 were over run with locals and there herd of children who had no manners and showed absolutely no respect to anyone. The water was luke warm which was fantastic as to me there is nothing worse than having a freezing cold pool. There should be speakers at every pool though playing music, even if its Mexican music, just something to give the place some life! Also the sun loungers had no toppers on them, so laying on the beds can make your back hurt quite a bit.

Food: We found the food was adequate, but nothing special. We was hoping for themed nights most nights but we didn’t find that. Yes there were themed restaurants but we found the restaurants served mostly the same stuff. We always tried most of the food available that day but nothing was every super fantastic that we wanted seconds on that certain dish. My partner has a seafood allergy and we had rice most days and one day we was eating rice and found some shrimp in the rice which was not indicated, nor was we in the seafood restaurant. We were just lucky that he had no reaction. There was only icecream available for the lunch menu and not dinner which we would of enjoyed at dinner too. Breakfast was lovely though!
Entertainment: We didn’t particularly enjoy any pool side entertainment (At non adult pools) as it was all Spanish and aimed at the kids, but even the theatre event every evening wasn’t too brilliant. It seemed to be more of the same dancing and no variety, plus most of it was in Spanish and we couldn’t understand the story lines from their costumes. It would have been nice for some karaoke or bingo, or something fun which we could all do, even the kids. Maybe a pool/Snooker/Table tennis area etc.

Beach: Was kept clean and tidy but when you just want to relax and soak up some rays and listen to the crashing waves, it’s a little disturbing when you are asked every 5 minutes if you are interested in buying something from the vendors. The sea is warm but can be quite fierce. To me the waves felt like they were crashing into my legs along with a wall of bricks. The current is very strong that it whips up the bottom of the ocean straight into you.
Going outside: I would say it is safe. We didn’t find much at all outside of the hotel which is why we stayed in most of the time but we wouldn’t of had any problems if we did decide to walk outside.

Weather: most days it was 34 degrees in the shade. It was extremely hot that you just pool hopped all day. It rained a total of 3 times during our week, twice for 30 mins which is heavenly and really needed, and the other for about 2-3 hours one evening which cooled the air down nicely. Evenings went down to about 30 degrees, so the theatre packed with 200 or so people was hell, and escaping to your air conned room was heaven!

Transfers: We landed at the airport and was the last couple off the plane, then we were stopped by immigration and searched as we purchased a 200 pack of cigarettes (And declared), and then walking outside and trying to get through the 5 or so people who are not your operator, asking which company you were waiting for for transfers (Trying to trick you I suppose), we were walking up to our bus and it was just reversing out of the space!!! So I’d say hurry on to the bus incase it leaves without you! returning transfer was fine though.

Plane: Flew with airtransat but no airtransat plane. I was hoping for a TV

Overall had a great relaxing week. May not return to that part of the island as we really enjoy a clear calm ocean and a little bit of entertainment during the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,333
    1,534
    489
    215
    113
See reviews for
862
1,252
70
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have just returned from the Royal Decameron in Bucerias after a two week holiday mid june 2014. We staed in Block 4 room 4229 looking over the garden accross from the main restaurant. We had a lovely time here but found the humidity too high for our liking. The hotel is run exceptionally well with cleaning and maintenance being carried out to very good standards all the time. The food in the main restaurants was acceptable but could get a little boring after two weeks.
We had great difficulty booking the evening a la carte, the system is you have to be at the booking desk for the 8a.m. booking. I arrived before 7.30a.m. and the lady who was carrying out the bookings had already given out 50 tickets to people already queing. These 50 tickets where attended to first when it came to 8a.m. and in numerical order where guests could book for two day for evening meals. The available seating was soon taken up with many within the 50 not getting seating. I left before all 50 tickets where attended to as it was apparent that I would not be getting any of the restaurants in the next two days. Not a happy bunny!!
The other compaint with this hotel is the sunbeds which although they are washed down on a daily basis they do not have any soft covers on, just the basic hard plastic beds to lay on - not good. Many guests where buying floatation beds to put on top of the sunbeds to give them some comfort.
Overall this is a nice resort with a well run hotel at a good value, the staff always pleasant and attentative to your needs.
Maybe we went at the wrong time of year with it being the rainy season which contributed to the high humidity. Hopefully if we do consider to return, the management will have done something about sunbed comfort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Four Canadians went to this hotel last year., we got a great price and it was well worth it.
Check in was quite smooth considering a bus load at a time is dropped off.
We were given a third floor room which wasn't going to work for my boyfriend(hip problem)
They moved us as soon a s we asked, hard bed, gave us a pillow top.
We were in building 6, nice and quiet, no kids in the pool.
I really wish they would get proper lounge chairs, they are rock hard but we followed everyone else and got a blow up to sit on top which we gave away when we left.
Its a large complex but easy to get around, take time to see where everything is. Food, not bad, there was always something to eat and none of us got sick, that was a bonus for me! Try the Picolo, delish!
Bring your own insulated drinking cup,
Bring your own shampoo, face clothes etc, they don't have the freebies that most hotels have.
No scramble for chairs at pool or beach, that was a nice change too.
All in all great vacation I would say the best thing about this hotel are the employee's, great people skills.Fun was had by all, will be back!

Room Tip: block 6 quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

the staff was friendly, rooms were nice and comfy, food wasn't the best but for the price you pay it was amazing, so many activities and the beach was nice although you need to watch out for stingrays. The shows they perform every night are great and entertaining. This resort has a disco or a club but it isn't very busy only 20 or so people show up, each week they have mexican night and they have a beach party also!!1 so much fun and its only 20 min drive to down town p. vallarta and a 10-15 min walk to the village of bucerias for some shopping. Each building in the resort has a pool and there is the main activity pool with music, and each pool has a bar, will definitely come back here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had got a really good deal on this resort and booked it last minute. I can say that we got significantly more than we paid for. I have read some negative reviews on trip advisor and some things are misleading or blatantly not true. I will address some of these.

Beach:
The water is very warms and sometimes a little rough. That can be fun too. There are beach vendors. You just tell them no and they go away. They are not aggressive. Its a public beach and they have a job to do. The beach chairs are a hard plastic and you will need a cushion, like an air mattress or something.

The Pools:
Also very warm. They close at 8pm. Its no big deal. Also, there were many Mexican locals there and they were great. They did not send their kids to play in the adult pools. Some of the Canadians were drunk and obnoxious. There were elderly French Canadian Women there who were completely drunk and an embarrassment to Canada. Old people cussing at each other loudly is not a pretty site.

The Food
-It was very good. I would give it about a 7.5/10
-They changed the buffet for every dinner. There were themes
-The A la cartes were OK. You could go as often as you want, you just had to reserve early in the morning.
-In my opinion, the best a la carte is Rodizzio (Brazilian type). Piccolo is the fanciest and most coveted, but over-rated. I still suggest you go though.

The Bar
-the bartenders are fast and efficient.
-the drinks are great.
-bring your own container or you get a small plastic up. Buy a "Bubba" container. They work the best

Nightlife
-they have a show every night at their outdoor theatre
-the indoor disco (very nice) opens afterwards

The Rooms:
-very basic, all you need
-my only complaint is the mattress, it was in need of replacement.
-bring your own shampoo, face cream and whatever else you need. You get a bar of soap, towels and 1 litre of water a day

In short, if you get an awesome deal, go. We are glad we took it.

Room Tip: If you want to be near the action and noise you want building 1-4. Building 5 and 6 are quieter. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times and will go back for sure. Rooms are clean and comfortable, food is good, a-la-cartes are very good, always enjoyed the Italian one. Lots of pools, staff have always been accommodating and friendly. The town of Bucerias is a nice walk, love going into town, safe and friendly. Locals do come in on weekends but many hotels in Mexico allow that and it can be hectic but once the weekend is over, it is more quiet. Good burger and fries at the lunch bar. I will look forward to returning. They have the loud pool and many quiet pools, it all depends what you like.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We have stayed at the Royal Decameron 3 times in the past 6 yrs. Each time we enjoy it more, We have met lifetime friends there. The rooms are very comfortable. Food is always good and a good choice with 4 ala cartes ,plus the buffets. Staff is extremely curtious and always wanting to help when they can. The town of Bucerius is only a 10 min walk from the resort. Lots of resteraunts to choose from, great market in the town. We will defiinley will be returning, but every other yr we try to stay in either a condo or an apt just to have a change.

Room Tip: Building 5 and 6 are quite quiet as hey are adults, but block 3 is really close to all amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Complex

Address: Lazaro Cardenas 150 | Riviera de Nayarit, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bucerias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Decameron Complex composed of three hotel units: Flamingos, Tropical and Royal, is located 20 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport on the most exciting and extensive beach of the beautiful Bay of Banderas in the typical Mexican town of Bucerias in Riviera Nayarit. The colorful architecture of the Royal Decameron Complex offers 5 swimming pools, 4 of which are suitable for children, and long stretch of beach where you can enjoy different activities, non-motorized water sports and bar services. You can also enjoy a large number of buffet and a la carte options with specialized restaurants including: JAP JAP, Wok, MexicanoFusion, Piccolo and Steak House, among others. We also offer 6 bars along the beach and beside the swimming pools. The Royal Decameron Complex also has other installations like the Vallarta disco, 3 tennis courts, one soccer pitch and a fun Kids Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Decameron Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Vallarta
Royal Decameron Hotel
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Bucerias
Royal Decameron Mexico
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Royal Decameron Complex Puerto Vallarta
Royal De Cameron
Royal Decameron Nuevo Vallarta
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Puerto Vallarta Royal Decameron

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.