We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Beautiful Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Complex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Complex to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Complex
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Lazaro Cardenas 150 | Riviera de Nayarit, Bucerias 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bucerias
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food, Beautiful Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Decameron from August 31st - Sept 7th. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful! The Iguanas are huge and behind Building 5 you can see them feeding them during the day. It was very very humid when we went we had beautiful weather and wicked thunderstorms at night. Like all the other reviews said nothing fancy about the rooms however the are large and have a large balcony in which all have nice views of the pool, Beach or gardens. Hotel was very clean and the shows were great. Bucerias is an awesome little town we walked to the market and my Fiancé got a tattoo at Ricks tattoo up the street it is amazing! Once thing is that the main activity pool is pretty small and lot's of kids! I mean tons of them! we stayed at the adult pool pretty much most of the time. The only complaint I have is that we were not allowed to listen to music here as it was the quiet pool and we wanted to be away from kids and with other adults however they would not let us even play an I pod here. We were harassed by the security even though everyone at the adult pool wanted to listen to music. The drinks are not great at the hotel probably because the price is so low. Good beer just no premium liquor at all to be expected I guess. All in all if you get this for a good deal I recommend it. Also If you get a chance go to the Ocean grill on the south side of PV most amazing scenic trip ever! Take the bus and then take the water Taxi so awesome! Oh and go to Miguel Angel in Bucerias Awesome food! Best Bacon Wrapped cheese filled jumbo shrimp ever!

Room Tip: We stayed in Block 4 was loud during the entertainment however was pretty good most times nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    1,471
    475
    208
    111
See reviews for
827
1,202
69
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

It was our first time at an all inclusive resort and all I can say is awesome!!! Food entertainment activities were all amazing!!!!! I am heading there again In March 2014 and bringing my whole family!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Been to de Cameron numerous times,prices have increased a bit,but for the dollars we paid it was well worth it.Staff are very friendly ,food is average ,drinks suck a bit but we drink beer ,no corona but sol is ok.Travel to Puerto Vallarta is very easy and cheap,Bucerias a small town is about a 20-30 minute walk up the road or beach.For the money we paid it is a very good deal,been there 10-12 times rooms are clean beds do the job , but then I can sleep on a bed of nails.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our second trip to the Royal and I have to say it was so much better than the first time. We were placed on a ground level room near the adult only pool which was great because they have a railing to get in and out along with stairs. The railing was a little wobbly at first but Randy and a bunch of others asked staff to fix it and just like that it was done.

The shows were spectacular as usual and my favorite staff person was Alberto who did a ton of activities during the day with the guests and then performed as the Michael Jackson impersonator at the evening show. What impressed my husband and I was that Alberto remembered us by name from the year prior and gave me a big hug. The activity crew are all amazing.

The buffets were spectacular except for the bacon which was harder than shoe leather. lol Gave your gums a good work out though!

The staff were awesome all around and the weather was great for the time of year we visited. The bonus about this hotel is it's location to a ton of places and things to do. We have visited the Manos De Amor orphanage both years and it's only a few blocks from the hotel which is awesome.

This resort is both suitable for couples and for families. The only downfall was that this was our 30th wedding anniversary and nothing special was done for us which was a little disappointing as we had heard that they put sparkling wine and other neat things in the room.

I would recommend this resort and I can see why so many people have come back over ten times. Kudo's to managment as well.

Room Tip: If you want quiet rooms, stay in the buildings near the adult pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Have stayed at this resort 4 times. The grounds are absolutely fantastic. It is a very friendly place and the staff is very obliging. The pools are wonderful and they also have an adult pool only . Depending on the time of year sometimes one of the restaurants is closed. The buffets are good and nice choices of a la carts. The evening entertainment is great. It certainly seems to be a Canadian favorite.

Room Tip: We like bldg.5 and 6. Just make sure you are not to close to the night entertainment cause that'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winneconne, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The property is well maintained. The rooms are fairly basic. Bed, Older TV, dresser, table and two chairs you only sleep there.. Bring your own soap and shampoo. There is an adult only pool that is wonderful quiet and clean. The views are awesome. The speciality restaurant are good withered Italian restaurant being outstanding. On the beach you can get an hour message for $25.00. Don't forget your sunscreen is it about double the price in Mexico. We plan to return for two weeks in December.

Room Tip: Ask for building 5 or 6 they are the two newer building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I love the rdc- the servers are fantastic and really go out of their way to make your experience special- the buffets are adequate, the a la carte restaurants are better, but I really can't complain. It is convenient for anything you want to do in puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Complex

Address: Lazaro Cardenas 150 | Riviera de Nayarit, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bucerias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Decameron Complex composed of three hotel units: Flamingos, Tropical and Royal, is located 20 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport on the most exciting and extensive beach of the beautiful Bay of Banderas in the typical Mexican town of Bucerias in Riviera Nayarit. The colorful architecture of the Royal Decameron Complex offers 5 swimming pools, 4 of which are suitable for children, and long stretch of beach where you can enjoy different activities, non-motorized water sports and bar services. You can also enjoy a large number of buffet and a la carte options with specialized restaurants including: JAP JAP, Wok, MexicanoFusion, Piccolo and Steak House, among others. We also offer 6 bars along the beach and beside the swimming pools. The Royal Decameron Complex also has other installations like the Vallarta disco, 3 tennis courts, one soccer pitch and a fun Kids Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Decameron Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Vallarta
Royal Decameron Hotel
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Bucerias
Royal Decameron Mexico
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Royal Decameron Complex Puerto Vallarta
Royal De Cameron
Royal Decameron Nuevo Vallarta
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Puerto Vallarta Royal Decameron

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.