We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort for any ages..........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Complex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Complex to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Complex
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Lazaro Cardenas 150 | Riviera de Nayarit, Bucerias 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bucerias
canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent resort for any ages..........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Resort have 6 buildings, Nr. 1 is the closest to the beach, but also very noisy because the
activities going on the whole day.
Nr.5 or 6 are the most quiet but also farther to the beach front, still very good accessible.All is surrounded with nicely landscaped gardens. Makes you feel like in paradise.
Food in the buffet style open concept restaurant is plentiful, tasty, fresh with different varieties.
A la carte restaurant (5 of them) are also very, very good.
We liked the most the Italian Picollo restaurant with very nice staff, esp. Ignatio, our server, who makes you feel really at home.
Rooms are good size, daily cleaned, daily clean towels with nice towel artwork, which put a smile every day on my face, just to look at it. The maid was super lady. The cost of the room safe (recommended) is 28 pesos.
Evening entertainment was really excellent ! Good work. Very talented dancers.
During the day you could participate in many activities. such as yoga, salsa class, painting
the pottery and much more.
Beach is nice, but the water is a bit murky.
Beach chairs are plentiful but NOT PADDED ! Very uncomfortable to sit on them.
On the main street is a bus stop and for 12 pesos you can visit P. Vallarta.
15 min. walk to the local market of Becerias.
All staff is friendly and helpful.
Beach is infested by local vendors bothering you every minute to buy something.
Be careful esp. with the so called jewellery vendors, selling fake silver.
Better to purchase at a reputable store in P. Vallarta.
Bars are on every corner of the property, lots of varieties also non alcoholic mixed drinks, just ask for virgin pina colada. Taste great.
Tequila is good to purchase at Vallarta's MEGA or Walmart.
Take lots of sunscreen lotion with you, bottle of shampoo and enjoy your stay !
Bon voayage ! Viva Decameron.
Love to return, it was a good holiday.

Room Tip: Watch for building nr.1 (noisy one) the rest is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,305
    1,472
    476
    208
    111
See reviews for
828
1,205
69
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We had a great time. We stayed here Nov. 5 - 12, 2011 in Block 5 with the adult only pool. It was wonderful even though we had to go to Block 6 to get towels for the pool.The room was basic but very clean. The beds were a really hard. The buffets were pretty good. Unless you are really picky you can always find something you like. Each day dinner at the buffets seemed to have a theme; Latin, Asian and Thursday is Mexican night. We were able to get reservations to the Italian A la Carte restaurant that night and the Thai restaurant on Friday.They were both fantastic. The nightly entertainment at the outdoor theater was a bit corny but fun. The beach was nice and clean but like others have said the chairs are not the most comfortable. The only drawback were the vendors that would walk by. The staff was very nice and helpful. Just outside the main entrance there are some shops and a sports bar. It is not so isolated like some of the other resorts we passed on our way from the airport.
We did sign up for a couple of tours with Vallarta Adventures We went to Las Caletas for the Rhythms of the Night dinner and show. It is a beautiful place but if you have trouble walking or with stairs this may not be the tour for you. We also went back to Las Caletas for a day of snorkeling with lunch included. We picked this tour because you could walk in to the water instead of jumping in from a boat. From the dock you can walk to find a beach chair to sit. Then they make you walk all the way up to get the snorkel equipment then back down to the beach to use it. The surf was pretty rough that day so if you didn't want to walk into the water you could go back to the dock and go down a flight of stairs into the water. Once you were through you had to walk all the way back up to return the equipment. We also took a city tour with another company which was really nice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

My husband and I just got back on Nov12/2011.
We stayed at the Royal De Cameron for a week.
We have never been to Mexico or to an All inclusive,We had really no idea what to expect.
We stayed in block 5 where the Adult pool is.The room was clean. We had a king size bed which we requested. The bed was firm which we like,
I was told by other guests that you could request a memory foam topper for the bed when you book.I loved the tiled floor and we were glad that there was a huge shower. We both like showers over a bath( no bathtub).
There is one elevator in another building if you need one or request to be on the first floor. We were on the 3rd floor right above the red arches.
I liked theAdult pool,If you want excitement you can go to the pool by the beach where there is water aerobics and loud music.
The staff that work there are all very friendly, Every morning at the Jap Jap restaurant I would get my omelet made for me with green peppers, onions, mushrooms ham and cheese. You can pick what every you want on it.
The salads were great at the buffets.I liked the lettuce salads,also very fresh.There is a lot of selection to choose from.
The rest of the food was good but not excellent.
Alberto and Pedro were great Bartenders at the Kieko bar by the adult pool.They can make any drink, There is a list on the bar of what is in the drinks they make.
Bring your own thermos cup. You can pick them up at any dollar store. They will keep your drink cold. XS Cargo store has them for only 3 dollars.
Most of the staff make less then 20 dollars a day so they would be very happy if you tip them.
Make sure you go to the meeting in the morning the next day after you arrive which is in the Disco Bar beside block 5. It is very informative if you have never been there before.They will tell you every thing you need to know.
Bring bandages for your feet. I got blisters between my toes from my thongs, also bring more then one pair of sandals to switch because of the blisters,such as sandals that are not thongs.
If you want fancy this is not the place for you. We wanted a Mexican looking place for our first trip to Mexico.
We went on the Pirate ship show which was Fantastic. Best food we had.
The beach was nice but the water looked filthy,(Not Hawaii by far) My husband went in the water and was stung by something,
I would not recommend going in the water. 2 people were stung by Sting rays while we were there.
I did most of my gift shopping at this place just outside the main entrance, Not the first little one but the big one with the metal fence around the front.The husband and wife are real nice,I didn't want to go all the way into Bucerias.
I loved the Mexican look of this place, Bright colors great decor and really nice people.
All in all this a great place for a first trip to Mexico,
Next time we will go to somewhere fancier just to see the difference.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We had a great stay at the Royal Decameron. If you want fancy, this is not the place for you. If you want a great resort with very clean rooms, ample bars and no shortage of pools and pool chairs, then this is the place for you (also, the adult pool IS an adult pool only). The staff are outstanding and the beds and rooms are far more comfortable than the five star resorts I have stayed in. The food is good, but not amazing..who would expect amazing food for the price this place is offered at though. With the price we paid (just under a $1000) we were happy to walk up the beach into Bucerias for a dinner, where the restaurants are plentiful. Also, I enjoyed three amazing hour long beachfront massages. Go to the second tent five minutes up the beach and ask for Martha, she is the best!! The massage is $20US and well worth it. Be sure to tip her seperately as she doesn't see much of the $20, if any. Overall great time was had at this resort, I highly reccommend it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

This place was nothing but awesome,
been twice in one year, and the staff was nothing but very pleasant, the place was clean
the pools were great, they even have an adult only pool in the back,
the food wasn't terrible like most buffets, but the a la cartes were awesome!!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!
I will be back for sure!

Room Tip: If your travelling without kids, i would suggest building 5 or 6 in the back where the adult pool is
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Stayed at this resort from oct. 29-Nov5, 2011. This resort has a lot to offer, pools, restaurants, and especially liked the fact, we had an "adult only" pool. It is a very large resort with lots of charm, and the staff are wonderful!!! We stayed in Block 5, and this building needs serious upgrading!!! Beds like rocks... and was very surprised to find we didn't even have face cloths left in our bathroom at all! Aside from rooms needing upgrading, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you are not travelling with kids,,, and want quiet,, ask to be in Block 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

My girlfriend managed a travel office in the UK for years and she said this was the best value for money she has ever seen. There were two buffets and 5 theme restaurants which offered excellent food. We never had to wait in line for drinks or food. I have been to several AI and the food selection was the best I have had yet. The rooms were clean and quiet. The beds were extremely comfortable especially when compared to a hotel in Cuba. The check-in process was quick and we were poolside drinking margaritas within minutes. The beach was clean and we enjoyed ourselves immensely.

Our only complaint was the excessive amount of hotel sponsored vendors along the beach. Despite that, we will be back again.

Please ignore people who fault the resort for the PV airport or the plethora of Mexican time-share solictors. It comes with the territory.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Complex

Address: Lazaro Cardenas 150 | Riviera de Nayarit, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bucerias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Decameron Complex composed of three hotel units: Flamingos, Tropical and Royal, is located 20 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport on the most exciting and extensive beach of the beautiful Bay of Banderas in the typical Mexican town of Bucerias in Riviera Nayarit. The colorful architecture of the Royal Decameron Complex offers 5 swimming pools, 4 of which are suitable for children, and long stretch of beach where you can enjoy different activities, non-motorized water sports and bar services. You can also enjoy a large number of buffet and a la carte options with specialized restaurants including: JAP JAP, Wok, MexicanoFusion, Piccolo and Steak House, among others. We also offer 6 bars along the beach and beside the swimming pools. The Royal Decameron Complex also has other installations like the Vallarta disco, 3 tennis courts, one soccer pitch and a fun Kids Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Decameron Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Vallarta
Royal Decameron Hotel
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Bucerias
Royal Decameron Mexico
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Royal Decameron Complex Puerto Vallarta
Royal De Cameron
Royal Decameron Nuevo Vallarta
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Puerto Vallarta Royal Decameron

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.