We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Be Better!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Lazaro Cardenas 150, Bucerias 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Bucerias
A TripAdvisor Member
“Could Be Better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2003

We were at Royal Decameron from July 7 - July 11. This was our 3rd trip to Mexico, the previous two to Cancun. We decided to go somewhere less touristy and with a slower pace and thinking that this would be in PV, we found Royal Decameron. Although I try to keep in mind that this was a vacation and to not get picky, I do have issues to address. 1. The food was terrible, most meals we typically ate a lot of salad.
Breakfast was the best. 2. The beds were the worst I have ever seen, it was like laying on a board. Make sure to bring your own pillows. 3.
Arrange your arrival time late in the day, we arrived around 10:00 a.m.
and had to wait until 2:00 to get a room. 4. If you like millions of kids running around the place, this is it! We spent the majority of our time at the adult pool. Our kids are 11 and 14, they did not want to be with the young kids and could not stay at the adult pool.

Things to enjoy: 1. The ocean - we rode a lot of great waves and enjoyed the time. Somewhere in the Pacific Ocean are my sunglasses! 2.
Take a trip into town or the country side.

In the end, we won't be returning to the Royal Decameron. Maybe it's back to Cancun next year?

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,259
    1,407
    441
    202
    107
See reviews for
782
1123
66
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2003

I spent a week at the Royal Decameron in Nuevo Vallarta, and I loved it.
*The staff were friendly and polite *The entertainment was excellent *The facilities were great(Disco, pools, etc...) *The food was fabulous *The beaches were clean and beautiful bottom line- it's not like a 5 star hotel in Canada ( cable is limited, no movies, we didn't get face clothes every day)but I would go back in a heart beat!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2003

From the amazing food (quality & quantity) to the friendly service (always a smile) and the cleaness of the roooms, the pools, the restaurants and the beach, you will love the time you spend in this complex. I went there in May 2001 and I'm returning next July 19, 2003.
I've visited many AI places in Mexico and other central and south america places. When recomending a vacation to anyone, Royal Decameron in Puerto Vallarta is my first pick. Believe me you will enjoy every bit of it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2003

My husband and I just returned from PV on our first visit there. This place is great if what you want to do is relax. If you have children (or don't mind them), it would be better, since there are so many running around. But if you just want to look at adults, don't come to this place. It is 1/2 an hour from PV, so significantly less traffic.
The food was excellent, except for that "seafood" buffet. THe "must eat" is the mexican fiesta night buffet. On other nights, definitely make reservations even if you have to wake up with the sun. The place is clean and very well kept. The service and security is amazing. If you want five star service at a 3-4 star place, this is for you. If you are looking for fancy, this is not it. It is a simple place, but very very nice. For those of you who enjoy boos, the most popular bars are the ones on the beach, but I recommend you go to the one in the Flamingos lobby after 4. Juan makes the best drinks because less people go to this bar. One more thing, it is best to go anytime but July thru September, it is scorching hot and the pools are not very cooling. I will definitely return, especially once we have children.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, CANADA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2003

The Decameron is truely a wonderful hotel. We had a great time. The rooms are kept clean, a little small if you're 3 people in a room though. We had the pleasure of being in building 1, Oceanview balcony-- that made the whole trip worthwhile. The food was good, there is lots of selection and a restaurant is always open. The Italian place is the best of all of them. We met plenty of people from England and Vancouver, not too many from the US. The hotel did have quite a few couples, so next time we will be going back with our boyfriends for sure. Overall, the weather was great, sunny and hot everyday. We had a lot of fun by the bar (Gabriel makes the best Tequila Poppers) The clubs in downtown Puerto Vallarta were a lot of fun as well. We did the pub crawl, which was sooo much fun. Visited 3 clubs in one night and met a lot of people staying at other hotels. Would definitely go back again. It was a great place to be.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2003

The Royal Decameron was absolutely amazing. It was our first time travelling south and we had an absolutely wonderful time. Everything was perfect, our only problem was that there was too much food! The staff was incredible and the entertainment crew were great as well.
Everything packed together made for a perfect vacation that will never be forgotten!!!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam B.C.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2003

Loved it. Very hot and humid and very pretty. My tips are bring a blowdryer, shampoo, conditioner for your length of stay plus a paper and pen if needed. Restaurants excellent but get up early to reserve at the 4 that need reservations. Should be there to reserve by 9am although they say you can from 7:30AM until 12:30pm sometimes the Italian restaurant full by 9AM. There are 2 seatings 6:30PM and 8:30PM.
Usually the Canadians and Americans are at the early with the Mexicans going later. If you choose not to reserve the 3 buffets are excellent.
On Thursday nights it is fiesta night with an Italian buffet and 2 being Mexican buffets which are excellent. Doing laundry requires going offsite. You can either take a cab or walk to the nearest laundries.
The one we went to was full service which we took a cab to and picked up later. Very cheap and excellent. The pool in the Royal complex is adult only so we asked to go into the Tropical building which we found excellent, large pool for our teens and close to the beach. We liked this building the best although the Flamingos building looked excellent also. The bathrooms by the beach bars need to be cleaner though. At night they got really dirty. When checking out you can pay $20 if they aren't too full and check out by 3PM or on your day of check out you reserve a half hour in the hospitality suite to shower and change. We didn't like our first room because the door faced the disco and the drunks coming out at 3AM were very loud and they need more security to stop the drunks running around the complex late at night. That was our only really bad night and when we requested to move 2 rooms at once due to our teens with us they honoured our request. It is a very secure complex, the staff is very friendly and helpful. They tell you tips are included but if you tip slightly every night at the bar and every night at dinner you get preferential service. The staff works very hard for their money. My overall rating is excellent and I would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta

Address: Lazaro Cardenas 150, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Bucerias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Vallarta
Royal Decameron Hotel
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Bucerias
Royal Decameron Mexico
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Royal Decameron Complex Puerto Vallarta
Royal De Cameron
Royal Decameron Nuevo Vallarta
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Puerto Vallarta Royal Decameron

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.