We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La lomita

La lomita
Augustin Melgar 22, Bucerias, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 100 restaurants in Bucerias
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Flin Flon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Garden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

walk through a gate not sure What to expect. It was wonderful. Great food, atmosphere and service. Set menu, but, start with pate, we had pork liver and avacado . Then choice of 2 soups, then salad. Entrees have 4 choices and usually a special. Then choice of 2 deserts, flan with kahlua and coconut ice cream. 3 of us had the tortilla soup and Coquille St. Jacques, was very, very good. 1 had the Aro Ranchero special, it was good as well.
160 pesos per person. Drinks were not included in this price. Shangria was wonderful and you
you only need 1 or maybe 2 margarita's, or so our friends said.
Wonderful, relaxing, atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    4
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rivers
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Charming, courtyard dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We ate at this small wonderful restaurant two years ago with friends but couldn't remember the name of it. So this year in Bucerias we walked up and down the streets one day looking for it and were so excited when we found it! We returned for a meal and were not disappointed - it was just as good as we remembered. At 160 pesos for the complete menu, it is one of the best meals we had on our trip. The meal included pate and bread, delicious tortilla soup, salad, an entree (we had the fish and it was wonderful) and dessert!!!!! Rosa, the server is charming and speaks excellent English. We highly recommend this restaurant in Bucerias.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Fabulous food for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

La Lomita is tucked away on a side street in Bucerias. It can be hard to find but definitely well worth the effort. We arrived just before 5 very hungry and the owner opened up early for us. We ordered a margarita and it was delicious - lots of alcohol with just the right amount of tartness. I don't eat meat so I didn't partake of the pates or soup as they both contained meat products. However, they brought me my salad right away to enjoy. I had ordered Coquille St. Jacques and my husband ordered the pork chop. The Coquille St. Jacques was to live for. 2 shells full of delicious bechamel sauce, cheese, spinach, shrimp and scallops. One of the best I have eaten. My husband's pork chops with apple sauce were the best he's ever had. He expected dry and tasteless. Instead, he raved about them. There was a nice helping of vegetables and mashed potatoes. This is good cooking, in a lovely setting at a very reasonable price. We topped off the night with their ice cream and Kahlua and a shot of tequila. The bill was 520 pesos total (before tip) which considering the quality of food and alcohol - it was a good deal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Menu was preset, started with pate, soup and a salad, four choices for the entree, and 2 choices for desert, we shared the chicken breast and coquilles st jacques, excellent choice. All for a set price of $160 pesos, great deal.
Garden style atmosphere, soft background music, glad we brought along some bug repellent.
Have 3 sets of friends coming down in the next couple of months, and will definately take them here for a nice evening outing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Go here every visit, old reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

It is one block from where I stay, so always eat here the first night in town. Set in a very quiet courtyard garden setting. Very quiet and intimate feel. Food is good, very inexpensive (160 pesos for dinner, 13usd). Have choice of four or five entrees. All meals are served with a lovely light pate (last time was avocado and cheese), then good tortilla soup, and light green salad. Then your entree. They have some Chilean wine, which in the past hasn't been much (but then almost all the wine in Mexico is mediocre), so this time tried a 2005 Rioja reserva for 200 pesos (in past the wine from chile was 130 pesos) which is about 16usd. It wasn't a great Rioja, but by far the best wine I have had in Bucerias, so we had a second bottle! It isn't terrific modern hip food, but it is a good solid, quiet place, in a nice outdoor setting, occasionally with music, that is reliable -- always our first dinner. I've probably had 7 or 8 dinners here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La lomita also viewed

Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to La lomita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La lomita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.