We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Might be better during the day” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mariscos El Payo

Mariscos El Payo
Mexico No. 117, Col. Centro,, Bucerias, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 100 restaurants in Bucerias
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: (329)298-2425 Phone- 2 years in business. Also started at a stand which still currently has at Calle Mexico, Frente a la plaza Principal, Bucerias, Nayarit also. The best seafood fresh, clean restaurant, purified water, great service, other food excellent too. Always packed full of people and prices fantastic
Restaurant details
Description: (329)298-2425 Phone- 2 years in business. Also started at a stand which still currently has at Calle Mexico, Frente a la plaza Principal, Bucerias, Nayarit also. The best seafood fresh, clean restaurant, purified water, great service, other food excellent too. Always packed full of people and prices fantastic
Las Cruces, NM
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Might be better during the day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Maybe we just went at the wrong time. Payo's was recommended by several people and we could not go until late in the day. We arrived at 7pm on a Friday to a sparsely populated, very hot place.

We ordered a shrimp combination place, a red snapper al mojo de ajo, a shrimp brochete, and a mexican combo plate. The food was below our expectations (based on the rave reviews posted here).

I would not recommend this as a place to go after dark.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    19
    11
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Has two locations in the town centre of Buserias - one is an outside and one is a full size restaurants on two levels ( take upper terrace to enjoy the views). Great choice of meat and seafood, we had seafood mixed salad and octopus stew. Price range is somewhere between 100 and 160 pesos - great value for the quality and quantity of food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mariscos Trailer in the Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Loved the ceviche. Loved loved loved it. Seafood so fresh yet english so bad. Either practice your Spanish or just learn to say Ceviche. Inexpensive but fantastic. If you ask for a beer with your lunch, they'll run and get one for you.
Met these guys years ago, they are serious about their food.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Mexican Seafood Ever and I know Mariscos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely the best! My husband and I visited Nuevo Vallarta in April 2012 and asked a taxi driver where to recommend a ceviche stand or restaurant. We told him we wanted authentic Nayarit-style ceviche. He recommended Mariscos El Payo and boy was he right! It was the best ceviche I have ever had and I eat ceviche a lot! That very spicy habanero black salsa was the best compliment to the ceviche!! The portions were huge and the service was excellent. My mouth is watering as I write about our experience at Mariscos El Payo!! Can't wait to go back!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stopped because Pedro convinced us we wanted to go into the restaurant! We have a drink and tacos - oh my - 3 large chicken tacos each. Took 2 back to the hotel. They were good and great price. Went back for dinner another night and was smarter - shared something! Pedro was off that day - too bad, he was a great guy.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariscos El Payo also viewed

Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Mariscos El Payo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariscos El Payo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.