We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and service by Julio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fat Boy Seafood

The Fat Boy Seafood
Bucerias, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 117 Restaurants in Bucerias
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food and service by Julio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great food presentation and even better tasting. Salad fresh and crisp. Coconut shrimp was absolutley wonderful.. Relaxed atmosphere and superb service from Julio

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    94
    32
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Relaxed wat to eat seafood on the beach and have a killer margarita.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Eaten here twice and each time I feel the same way... relaxed, super casual restaurant with very decent seafood. You feel like you are in Mexico on the beach when you eat here. Hard to explain how nice and peaceful this place feels sitting on a plastic corona chair under a your own lite thatch roof steps from the beach . Not cheap but for the quality and tourist location it was worth a little splurge. I like the Shrimp in garlic with tons of chopped dried guajillo peppers (140 pesos about $11 USD). A classic Nayarit spicy way to prepare shimp. I suggest ordering the smaller shrimp instead of the jumbo. One hundred pesos less and big plate of good size shrimp. Also had the cheaper fish ceviche tostada and is was great. Quesadillas are okay but even for 4, I think 100 to 140 peso ($7 to $11 USD) is too much money. The margaritas are huge and super strong. Be warned. Do not drive after one of these. The music was Mexican and nice in the backgroud during daylight. Live music starts after dark and then over played American music is belted out by a not so great singer. The waiters were very attentive but had a bit of an attitude. They spoke English well and could be joked with but you still felt they were only after the tourist tip. In Bucerias this is one of the few restaurants where you actually sit close to the surf on the beach. Great place to go if you want to meltaway in Margaritaville and while eating beach side seafood.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reconsider....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Had lunch. Restaurant was not too busy. Service was mediocre. Vendors are like flies. Got pestered by timeshare sales rep. Food and drink were average at best - had small pieces chips in our salsa and guacamole! Plus, the cost was much higher than most other beach restaurants. In my opinion, there are many better choices in Bucerias to choose from. Don't eat at a restraint that recycles their food!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Rip off, bad food and recycled salsa-which they charge for!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

First off we were served recycled salsa....there was a piece of soggy broken chip mixed in with our salsa. Obvious they reused someone else's....gross! We got a mango margarita and regular margarita which tasted as if there was no alcohol in them. We then got shrimp ceviche in which more than half the shrimp still had poop in it. Disgusting! I had coconut shrimp which was OK. When we got our bill (which was $50 for two people for lunch with two drinks and one beer) we were floored to see they charged us $5 for that recycled salsa! When we asked about it they said everybody charges for salsa. We stay here about a month every year for the last seven years and never have been charged for salsa.....even if we only order drinks and no food. We have a $50 lunch and you charge us for salsa? And it was was recycled from someone else! Lastly we were hit up by a timeshare salesman at our table! This place is a nasty gringo hellhole and we will never eat here again. Do yourself a favor and go somewhere good such as Dugarels or El Brujo where they understand how to appreciate their customers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Catch of the Day Served by Eduardo......AMAZING!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were recommended to go to this restaurant by a couple we met who stayed at the Royal DeCameron (we met them on a day trip) and so we thought we would try it out.....it was magical, sitting on the beach having a margarita (the best margaritas we had in Mexico) and a seafood platter with the catch of the day! Our server Eduardo was so sweet, we enjoyed taking in the scenery and enjoying our seafood platter. It exceded our expectations.....so delicious and for $45.00 you cant beat the value. Next time we are in Bucerias we will for sure go back to Fat Boy Seafood!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Boy Seafood also viewed

Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to The Fat Boy Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fat Boy Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.