We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dugarel Plays Restaurant & Bar

Dugarel Plays Restaurant & Bar
north end of Avenida Pacifico, Bucerias, Mexico
(329) 298 0444
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 117 Restaurants in Bucerias
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican, International
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a wonderful view, the sunset was gorgeous and the food was soooo good. Everything was fresh, we all ordered seafood and no one was disappointed. The service was excellent and the view cannot be beat! This was our last dinner in Mexico before we headed home, and it was the perfect ending to a perfect trip. I would not hesitate to go back, it is a very good value with an even better view. We brought our own wine and they uncorked it for us without a fee. Just one more reason to go. :-) Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    42
    7
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not worth the money.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Location of this place is excellent, the food, however, was terrible. We ordered the whole snapper with garlic. Fish was okay, no garlic taste, but came with a container of melted butter with garlic pieces in it. No taste! My husband ordered the extra large shrimp, which were the special of the day. When the waiter showed them to us on his display platter, they were giant; when we got them as our dinner, they were quite a bit less than giant, but that wasn't the worst of it. They were pasty and no good. They also were not deveined. When we mentioned the bad shrimp, there was no response and no apology. Therefore, we'll never go back here. If their response would have been better, we would try them another time, but this way we can't get the bad taste out of our mouths.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We arrived just before sundown and were seated at a table for 2, perfect spot for watching the sunset. Our waiter ( I forgot his name) was wonderful. He spoke fluent english and was able to help us with information for our next days plans.
Now the food. First we were served salsa fresca and chips. The salsa is very hot,- even too hot for this salsa veteran. Our waiter quickly replaced it with mild salsa.
Then we orderded the Jumbo shrimp with garlic. The shrimp were very large and tender. Served filleted open, lying in the shells. Moist and flavorful. Remember if you dont want the head on, you have to ask to have them removed. Second entree was mahi mahi, garlic also. It was delicious. Browned, and moist inside, subtle garlic flavor- not overwhelming. They give you a dish of roasted garlic in oil and another of melted butter for dipping. Very good. Rice, mixed vegetables and garlic bread were included.
Drinks were inexpensive, a beer around 250 peso. Not sure about mixed drinks prices.. But all around us people were drinking "bowls" of mixed drinks!
We really enjoyed this restaurant and would go back on another trip. We had non alcoholic beverages, and our bill was 550 pesos , with the tip.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We go back every year. Love their shrimp and red snapper. Guac to die for. Don't miss this gem in Bucerias, and get there for sunset!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My wife, I, and 2 friends of ours ate here on a Friday night and the food and margaritas are outstanding...just superb. Thank you Ruben for taking such great care of us, we will be back to enjoy your establishment....by the way...go into town to the Drunken Duck on Friday nights to see a local band (Pacific Rock Co.)....they are outstanding...one of the best cover bands I have ever seen...really worth the visit...they do an outstanding cover of Pink Floyd.....just perfect!!!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dugarel Plays Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Dugarel Plays Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dugarel Plays Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.