We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suites Costa Dorada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Suites Costa Dorada to your Saves list
Suites Costa Dorada
Lazaro Cardenas No 156 Sur, Bucerias 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in junior suite. It was fine for the 2 of us. The furniture is a bit dated but for amount of time we spent in room it was fine. Everything worked and it was clean. The beach was fabulous and you can walk for miles. We will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City Kid
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I only gave it a 3 star rating because that is exactly what it is. I don't mean it disparagingly. The reality is that it is an old hotel, built in the 1970s and needs major renovations. They are in the process of bit by bit converting to condos, which makes economic sense. I had many maintenance issues due to the hotel's age. However, the staff was quick to respond. However, to get something fixed, do not rely on reception to report the problem. All of a sudden I had no water in the apartment. I called reception and she said she would report it right away. I got downstairs on my way to dinner. She had not reported it even though the maintenance guy was right there.

I also had problems with one of the showers, which fell apart in my hand and flooded the room. The staff was quick to respond and we resolved it. However, it happened twice, not due to the fault of the maintenance man but just old parts breaking down. Fortunately, I have two bathrooms in the suite and simply used another shower.

The maintenance man told me that last year some of the pipes broke leaving a suite flooded. The problem is that if there is such an emergency after 8:00PM when the maintenance crew goes home, things can get tough. There is a night watchman who is very nice. Theoretically, he covers maintenance at night. However, in practicality, I am not so sure.

The location is super. It is quiet, clean and basically the best in town. You do not have to worry about people drinking to all hours, as things shut down at about 10:00PM. I checked out other places, thinking I could find something better in Bucerias that was not a condo rental. I could not. Go for this and just accept the maintenance problems for what they are. If such matters bother you, the look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This was our 7th trip to Bucerias and we decided to switch from an all inclusive to a condo. We chose Suites Costa Dorada because it is a "resort condo" complete with pool, poolside bar, restaurant on site and right on the beach, giving us the best of both worlds. You can't beat the location. During a short walk to El Centro you will find high end restaurants and boutiques, you will find excellent reasonably priced cafés, you will find the famous flea market, you will find it all in Bucerias. It really has everything you could want in one small, quaint, Mexican town. From street vendors to restaurants to local bars (where the music is excellent.)

We stayed in suite 702, second floor, alongside the pool with a terrific view of the ocean from the huge balcony. One bedroom, two bathrooms. Extremely clean (thanks to our housekeeper), spacious, bright and sunny but with room darkening shades if you want them to help keep the room cool. Air conditioning in both the livingroom and bedroom. Tons of storage space, dressers, drawers, closets. And a small in room safe. One large room contains the living, kitchen and dining area. The kitchen has plenty of cupboard space and a small two burner cooktop range. No oven. Full fridge, microwave, coffee maker, pots, pans, and dishes etc.

The staff are fabulous, from the front desk to housekeepers and groundskeepers. So helpful and friendly and very hard working. Communication was never a problem, many spoke English.

We had a few issues with our wifi which were quickly corrected. Large bottled water and ice were provided at a minimal fee and brought to our suite. The pool was great, but a little crowded at times due to it being the Easter week which created some problems finding chaise lounges in the shade. I didn't expect the "saving the chair" early in the morning thing then not showing up until afternoon, but that was just over the Easter week. After that chaise lounges were plentiful.

We loved the Costa Dorada and hope to return soon. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

The Costa Dorada has a great location on a great beach in the nicest part of town.
Be aware that the rooms are very dated and basic. The 2 bedroom suite we had was very large. The beds were comfortable but the living room furniture was not! Pillows were bad.The bathrooms are tiny.
Great view from the balcony but only 2 plastic chairs and a tiny table. No umbrella.
Wireless internet available at no charge but could only receive at the one end of the balcony.
Sleep disturbed on 2 nights by loud music form nearby - ear plugs required!

Karens Restaurant on site is very good - no signing privileges and no credit cards except for dinner.
This location is great, the beach great and if the rooms were updated this would definitely be a place I would return to.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Stayed one week in a 2 bedroom 2 bath unit at this condo resorrt through RCI. Friendly and efficient desk staff. Units are older, but very clean, quiet and comfortable. There were a few USA tourists, but mostly middle class Mexican families who were very pleasant folks.

Furnishings good condition, no odor, no bugs. Great A/C. Beds firm but comfortable,great big pillows! Kitchen has microwave, four burner gas stove, coffemaker, dishes, etc but no staples or seasonings. Grounds and pool lovely and clean. Beach clean with plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas. On site restaurant excellent and low priced. Very st rong happy hour drinks (2 for 1) and lowest priced beer in town. Front desk sells bags of ice and 10 gallon purified water for 2 bucks each. Very convenient. Laundry and internet cafe across street. JB Tours, next door, run by great american guy, with excellent knowledge of area. Very safe and pleasant neighborhood with nearby restaurants and convenience stores. We walked eveywhere, the souveneir market, town square, and other beachfront eateries about a mile walk north. Highway and local busses about 3 blocks east. Catch any bus south for 6 pesos to go to Mega Grocery. Only about 2 miles, get off right before Flamingo resort.

My only complaint is that the bathrooms were very small with a design flaw. The showers had a sharp,corner that jutted out into close proximity to doorway which I kept tripping over and stubbing toes on. I finally got used to it after a few days!!

All in all a pleasant and comfortable stay!

Room Tip: All rooms ocean view, higher floors better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

Staff and management on duty at all times. Prompt and efficient service. Suites were large.
Housekeeping very good. We had Ignacia who did a wonderful job with the room each day. Maintenance man Pedro friendly and helpful. Reception very attentive to one's needs. Flor who was in charge of reservations did an excellent job of finding you a spot.
Astrid Sargent

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCall, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

My wife an I stayed for 1 week and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The rooms were large with great views and we had everything we needed. The personnel that worked for the Costa
Dorada were freindly and helpful. English was not a problem. We had a relaxing and great experience. You can cook in the room but, we like to go out and scout for out of the way resturants that deal in good Mexican cuisine. I would return again in the future. Fun, Fun, Fun.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Suites Costa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Costa Dorada

Address: Lazaro Cardenas No 156 Sur, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Bucerias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Suites Costa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Costa Dorada Bucerias, Mexico - Riviera Nayarit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites Costa Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.