We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New flavours” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mar y Sol

Mar y Sol
Av. Pacifico No. 4 | Col. Centro, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
+52 329 298 1914
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 110 Restaurants in Bucerias
Price range: $10 - $39
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“New flavours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We loved the Cazuela de Mariscos! The fish ceviche was good. Orange juice was fresh. Some beggers and sellers went into the restaurant. They aren't annoying but just FYI.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    46
    17
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Demorestville, ON
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good food, drinks & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Have been going to Bucerias 4+ years and visit Mar y Sol at least once,sometimes more during our visit. We have always received good service, great food/drinks, reasonably priced. They have a great location, right on the beach, you have the option to sit on the beach or in the restaurant, the choice is yours. If you do not wish to be approached by beach vendors, then I recommend sitting inside. This year we stopped in after the "Blessing of the Fleet" enjoyed Happy Hour and lunch which was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant and will certainly be returning to the Mar y Sol next year when we return to Bucerias.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

just returned from Bucerias where 8 of us went for dinner at Mar Y Sol. Everyone of us really enjoyed our meals and great margaritas. Service was also top notch, plan on returning next year for sure. Would highly recommend

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Mar y Sol, Bucerias”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stopped in for a drink with friends.
Friendly staff, good beachfront location, clean.
If you don't want to be approached by beach vendors, don't sit in the outdoor seating.
My friend who is an excellent cook recommended this restaurant I will go back for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“If you can stand the beach vendors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I had lunch at Mar y Sol a few weeks ago. The lunch was excellent. The service was spotty. However, it was non-stop vendors approaching the table. I don't think we had 60 seconds of peace and quiet during our entire lunch. It is really annoying and an invasion of your privacy, time and money. I understand that everybody needs to make a living but I would think twice about going back to the restaurant because of the vendors.

My shrimp quesadilla was excellent, my husband's beef burrito fabulous. The hot sauce is "hot" and you may regret it the next day. The service could definitely be improved upon. With so many restaurants in the area serving the exact same food, offering the same fabulous view, I would choose one that had a deck high up like El Brujo where you don't get hassled by the vendors.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mar y Sol also viewed

Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Mar y Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mar y Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.