We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It feels like you're in Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toscana Mia

Toscana Mia
Hidalgo 25 | Colonia Centro, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
+52 329 298 1525
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 117 Restaurants in Bucerias
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: ABIERTO TODO EL VERANO..........LOS ESPERAMOS....OPEN ALL SUMMER............
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
“It feels like you're in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have been coming to this restaurant since my first visit to Bucerias in 2008. It is really a great family story. When the son of a lovely Italian couple fell in love with a Mexican girl, Mom and Dad moved from their home in Italy to Bucerias to support their son's new marriage. They opened Toscana Mia. Having met "mama and papa" many times, they are the epitome of Italian hospitality and love of good food. Today, mama and papa are back in Italy taking care of affairs and now the son and his beautiful Mexican wife run the restaurant.

It is truly an experience unlike anything else in Bucerias. First of all, the food is amazing. The homemade pasta is to live for. The bread that is served with the meals is now made by the daughter-in-law and is excellent. My husband has had the chicken parmesan twice now and says the vegetables that come with it are some of the best he has ever eaten. The pizza is also fabulous and is probably my favorite pizza in the entire PV area.

Last night we went to celebrate Valentine's Day at Toscana Mia. This is the first time we have made reservations and we are very glad we did. Right away, we were given small flutes with champagne, and then a special heart-shaped bread with salmon cream on top. Dinner was amazing and then it was topped off with a sweet Mandarin cocktail on the house and tiny heart shaped chocolate brownies. Service is great but there is an ambience here that is definitely reminscient of Italy. It's noisy and busy and you feel like family by the end of your first visit.

If you are looking for quiet and romantic or a great view, this isn't the place. But if you feel like you'd love to be part of an Italian family for the night, Toscana Mia is the closest thing to that outside of Italy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    30
    9
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dawson Creek, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Dined there Feb 1st 2013, very pleasant experience, had their daily special, lasagna with meat sauce, with the house wine, all in all very good, was presented with an after dinner house cocktail, would recomend dining there, great service good food at a resonable price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Bucerias”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had a terrible experience last week at MezzoGiorno that left us wanting some decent Italian food. So, we did a quick search on Tripadvisor and that turned us onto Toscana Mia. We had to hit up google maps to figure out where this little restaurant was located as it is up one of the smaller side streets near the main highway. We had never wandered down that street before so we were set for a bit of an adventure exploring a new street in Bucerias.

When we walked in, the restaurant was sparsely decorated as all of the walls were white, but each wall had names of Italian cities and pictures related to each city adorning them. The waiter was super friendly and explained that we could pick from any of their home made pastas or store bought pasta (cheaper) and pair them up with any of their sauces. He then started us off with a beautiful basket containing FOUR different kinds of breads which were all delicious. They have olive oil and balsamic vinegar on each table so that you can do the oil and vinegar dip thing for the bread. Their balsamic was a perfect balance of sweet and sourness.

On our first visit, we saw some people eating some awesome looking bruschetta after we had finished eating. On our subsequent visits, we ordered it and were totally blown away by how good it looks and how incredible it tastes. Each slice of bread was topped with seasoned tomato chunks and thin slivers of cheese followed by some drizzled olive oil and a red wine reduction. Outstanding!

The food was so good that we have been there three times in the past week and this restaurant is quickly climbing to the top of our list of favorites in Bucerias! I really like their gorgonzola cheese based sauce with chunks of italian sausage in it. I tried it with the home made fettuccine as well as the gnocchi and while both were delicious, I preferred the gnocchi as it had a nice doughiness and meatiness to it. My partner also liked the gnocchi with a tomato based sauce that featured capers and black olives. She also tried a pizza that had four toppings, but we didn't realize that it was served with one topping on each of four quadrants. It was pretty cool to try four different toppings individually on one pizza. Surprisingly, her ranking of the toppings was artichoke hearts, then capers, then black olives and ham being last. We had never even considered using artichokes or capers as pizza toppings...who knew?

On one visit, the waiter brought us all a round of free liqueurs which were supposed to help with digestion. We slugged them back and enjoyed the warmth we all felt in our throats and bellies. It was a neat way to end the meal. We will definitely be back to eat here when we return next winter.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We decided to give Toscana Mia a try based on the positive reviews we read. It is a small restaurant a few blocks from Centro on a nice street. We were greeted and offered a choice of tables. The server was friendly and knowledgeable and helped us to select our meals. The food was very good. I had the pasta with shrimp and asparagus which was the daily special. The shrimp were cooked nicely and the sauce was flavorful and tasty. My partner had homemade fettuccine pasta with gorgonzola, mushrooms, and pecans. I had a taste and may order it myself when we go back - with friends - next week. :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent home made Pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

we had an incredible meal with a group of six at this restaurant in Bucerias. excellent menu and the Home made Pasta was amazing. The wine list and service was excellent -- this is one of the best meals we have had in Mexico in years!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toscana Mia also viewed

Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Toscana Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toscana Mia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.