We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pass on this one, we did!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tapas del Mundo

Tapas del Mundo
APDO #172, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
011-52-322-118-1795
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 117 Restaurants in Bucerias
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Pass on this one, we did!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

First off, my review is not of the food, as we never got that far. We went into this establishment looking for the Tapas del Mundo and the Martini Bar which was supposed to be above it. A man met us half way up the small dark staircase and told us that the Martini bar was closed as the owner had died a year ago. He was the owner of Tapas Del Mundo and had a very frightening and unwelcoming tone. He tried to force us to commit to a reservation time, even though there was absolutely no one in the restaurant. He answered our questions with cold, one-word responses, and as a result, we decided to eat somewhere else. Fortunately for us, we found heaven on earth at Mezzogiorno. Please understand that this review is based upon us passing on TDM, and while the food may be good, the owner gave new meaning to the word "creepy".

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    5
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best ceasar salad in Bucerias”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

They make the dressing from scratch in a big wooden bowl. The margaritas are the best in Bucerias. They are not made from a mix. Have been there many, many times and have had delicious tapas each visit. The whole experience is quite entertaining, due to bar seating, meeting people from many parts of the world and a colorful host. Bring your sense of humor. Usually one of the first and last places we visit while we are in Bucerias.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corcoran, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

My wife and I were heading to another restaurant in Bucerias to eat that Sunday evening and wanted to merely see where Tapas del Mundo was located - we had seen his cooking class advertised in a tourist brochure. We checked the menu and decided to go up the steps to maybe have a tapas or two and a drink before we headed off to the other restaurant. Three hours later, after a rousing, jousting and most enjoyable evening with Jorge and only one other couple at the tapas bar we headed back to our condo. The evening started out a bit rough when my wife asked if the man behind the tapas bar was "George." After he berated her for the terrible mispronunciation, we quickly realized that he was a great teaser and, not only could he dish it out, but he took our sometimes potent rejoinders very good naturedly.

Since we had not eaten here previously we asked Jorge to recommend tapas plates that we might enjoy. Although he assured us that "everything" on the menu was great, we insisted that he at least guide us in our choices. We were not disappointed with any of his suggestions - Olives Eduardo, chorizo stuffed mushrooms and goat cheese stuffed chilis to name a few (and the margaritas were outstanding).

Needless to say, we had no reservations at all about signing up for Jorge's cooking class the following Tuesday. That class will, however, require another, equally complimentary, review.

We'll definitely be back...and with our friends.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Food is fine the owner not so much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

We winter in Bucerias and have tried this restaurant on several occasions. The tapas are good (cesar salad is wonderful) but the owner seems to believe the dining is all about him which makes it less than an enjoyable dining experience. He becomes totally overbearing and makes you want to eat as quickly as possible and leave. If he could rachet it back and let people enjoy the food and the company of your dinner companion(s) and those at the bar he would probably enjoy a stronger returning clientele.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Bizarre”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

My wife and I had the misfortune to visit this restaurant in March, 2010 with another couple and like all things gone bad, it started innocently enough.

We happened to spot this restaurant while we were walking about Bucerias one day. It is located on the second floor of a building. It recommended that you have a reservation. We did so.

We arrived at the designated tme and place, cold sober. Perhaps this was our first mistake. We were ushered into a rather small room with a semi-circular bar set-up and with another bank of seats beside it. There was already another couple there and we made small talk in this rather intimate setting. The owner, a tall, lanky, elderly gentleman (Canadian/American (?), whose name I seem to have permanently purged from my memory) was in attendance behind this bar set-up. Eventually. more guests arrived and the evening commenced. There were one or 2 cooks who did most of the cooking in front of the guests.

The operating premise is that you are handed a menu and from this, you can select various tapas which are offered. You call this out to the owner - or perhaps to the cook, very unclear - and the tapas arrive in whatever order they are being prepared. The food itself, on balance, was not bad, some mushroom caps with ground-up chorizo sausage, some chicken on a skewer with a lemon sauce, some shrimp dishes, etc. You are also offered a couple of 1/2 beers or a glass of wine.

The problem with this place is everything else. At first, it seemed like it was going to be a very entertaining experience. Different food, friendly couples, and the owner rambled on between serving and food preparation about his origins, his broadway connections, and then chatting with the guests. It is hard to pinpoint where it started going off the rails, but it seemed to have started with the owner berating one of the guests for putting his empty plate down on the countertop below. It continued with him chastising me for having the temerity to place my beer on a plasticized menu and quizzed me about my manners and my upbringing. When my sister inquired as to whether they had a wine list, he leaned over to her, pointed at his head, and said it was all up there, can she mind-read? Another guest, seated in the bank of chairs behind the main area finally asked how long the food might take which resulted in another tirade. Another guest inquired about another drink and was told she had had enough. To another guest, he simply turned his back and pointed to the motto written on his T-shirt which read "No crybabies needed". For us, it concluded where my wife was doing her best to sort out the order which finally resulted in the owner telling her to "Be quiet!", then turned his back.

The effect of all of this was predictable. Within 1 hour's time, we had gone from merriment to stony silence. One by one, the couples or guests startied leaving. We quickly followed.

We have been to many restaurants in many countries and have had various experiences but this one was just bewildering. And I say so with a sense of restraint and regret with the knowledge that some in Bucerias regard this place as a local gem. Maybe the owner had a bad night. Maybe I just never read the motto carefully enough: "No crybabies needed". Maybe this is all his schtick and all of us just didn't get it. Or maybe not.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas del Mundo also viewed

Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Tapas del Mundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapas del Mundo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.