We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening meal..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Everest Cafe

Everest Cafe
19 Fitzherbert Street, Featherston, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely evening meal..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Our first evening meal at Everest and it was lovely. Beautifully cooked calamari, pork belly and lamb - happy to substitute potato mash for the advertised polenta, and a tasty complimentary starter of Chinese dim-sum which was much appreciated. Lovely friendly prompt service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stopped off for breakfast on our way home to Wellington. Both the food and coffee was excellent and the service was friendly and with a smile. Was very impressed that the lovely lady who serviced us offered to add more bacon when my husband asked for no tomato with his full breakfast. I had the pancakes which were scrumptious and the addition of crumbed hokey pokey on the side is inspired. Having enjoyed our meal so much when we went to pay with our entertainment book "buy one get one free" voucher we told the young lady we had extra bacon, but the owner overhearing wouldn't hear of us paying for the extra and was very gracious at our praise of the meal. All in all they are doing a fab job and we would highly recommend this café to everyone.

oh and the pastries and bread on offer also looked delicious and there was a steady stream of patrons coming in for them even at 9am on a Sunday morning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Ironic that the best breakfast we had in thirty two days driving round New Zealand was in tiny Featherston in a small cafe run by a family from mainland China. Nonetheless they produced good strong hot tea, well cooked good quality bacon and sausage, black pudding and eggs done as ordered along with the usual fried potatoes, toast and the rest. Best of all none of it seemed to have come straight from the freezer - very unusual in these parts - and the trip to the 'facilities' was straight through a spotless kitchen. Wish there were more like these!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Short blonde hair waitress was very nice and welcoming. My partner had a French Toast and I had a Big Brekkie. French toast was delicious, I assume it's because they make their own bread. Big brekkie was big, served with local sausage. Sausage was better than what most cafes in NZ serve.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best coffee in featherston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I love stoping off here on the way past. Great service everyte and I always feel welcomed back. Definitely recommended if your in the neighbourhood. :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everest Cafe also viewed

Featherston, Wairarapa
Featherston, Wairarapa
 

Been to Everest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everest Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.