We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worlds last remaining Fell steam locomotive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fell Locomotive Museum

Fell Locomotive Museum
Corner State Hwy 2 & Lyon Sts, Featherston, New Zealand
06 308 9379
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Taupo
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“The worlds last remaining Fell steam locomotive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have no interest in trains so didn't go but my husband did and loved it and insisted I put in this report so below are his thoughts about the place. This fine example of British locomotive manufacture was designed to be added to a goods train to get it safely up or down the Rimutaka incline using a 3rd centre rail for traction and braking. The engine has been meticulously restored and workings demonstrated by raising the locomotive slightly off the track and using an electric motor to operate the running gear. This allows the complex valve and timing gear to be observed in action. Documentation and photos at the exhibition are prolific and the audio visual presentation excellent.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“A train treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were in the Wairarapa region, travelling to Wellington - what a great stop!

It's interesting - whether you are a train enthusiast or not! Lots to learn, a great little video running over the history & great helpful staff who are obviously passionate about what they do!

Lots of little treats to purchase too as a wee momento of your trip!

Would go again - one of the most cost efficient museum trips I've been on!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Waitakere Ladies' Probus Club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This small, privately-run railway museum is a Must See. The video about the Rimutaka Incline, the making of the track and the hard lives of the small communities was compelling viewing. It is old footage spliced with new to make it flow, and the joinings are seamless. A fascinating study of The Olden Days and the difficulties faced by the workers and their families. The engine itself is impressive, but not big. The photos in the museum are interesting. The volunteer staff was friendly and most helpful in their elaboration of the engine and the museum. One advantage of this museum is its situation: we had been to Stonehenge Aotearoa, Martinborough, then Featherston on our way to Wellington, so it is an easy place to access, very cheap to enter and well worth the visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Train Buffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

A must place to visit if entertaining Train Buffs . Wonderfully presented museum containing a fell engine which use to transverse the Rimutuka Line

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wairarapa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Really enjoyed our visit to the Fell Museum. The old engines were stunning and I also really enjoyed the movies showing the original railway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fell Locomotive Museum also viewed

Carterton, Wairarapa
 

Been to Fell Locomotive Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fell Locomotive Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.