We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wairarapa Trading Co. Masterton

Wairarapa Trading Co. Masterton
Queen Street, Masterton 5810, New Zealand
06 370 1930
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 35 Restaurants in Masterton
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Clyde, New Zealand
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

My first time in Maserton and was was treated to this dinner by my cousin who raves about the place. Service could not be faulted. We both ordered different steaks. I will have what my cousin had next time (which was with mushroom sauce) and he will have what I had (which was meat-lovers steak) My meat-lovers looked like a huge stack consisting of steak, some ribs and a few battered onion rings on top. The accompanying fries and salad on that long rectangular plate complimented the meat perfectly. It was all soooo cooked to perfection (even the fries were beautifully seasoned) For desserts we had he Baileys cheesecake which topped off a flawless plate beautifully.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    13
    1
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Picton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WTC has the WOW factor...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

What a delightful surprise! A warm welcome, lovely ambience and an interesting, varied menu. Instead of one of the yummy mains we opted for the special of the evening - a Kiwi Burger - complete with a whitebait patty as well as a delicious meat patty and scrumptious fries. And it was HOT...not always easy to achieve with a burger. It also came with a beer or wine. (They even included my non-alcoholic drink). All for $15! There was also a great range of desserts but the burger was so yummily sizeable we couldn't fit any in. Maybe next time because there will definitely be another visit to the Wairarapa Trading Company!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor service, poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I visited this restaraunt in late febraury with two friends. We had booked and arrived on time at 6.45pm. The initial service was excellent - drinks brought quickly and orders for our meals taken equally efficiently. Form this point however it was all downhill. After over an hour of waiting for our Mains (we had not ordered entrees) we asked where our meals were (Tables that had arrived after us had already been served - including a large table of 8 or 9 people). The waiter was very abrupt and said our meals were not far away. They did arrive quite soon after this - but oh dear, they were not up to expectation. The Chicken Breast dish was over-cooked and the size was miniscule, the Pork Belly was not Pork Belly but was a mini rolled pork roast, and the Lamb Shank was very ordinary andd not as tender as it should have been. No vegeatbles served other than the 'mash' that each dish was served on. For $28 a Main very poor value even if the food quality had been up to scratch. We were eventually offered a Deserts menu - at $12 each they were also over-priced, and we declined. we were not offered coffee/tea, or post dinner drinks. All in all a very disappointing evening - very poor service and very poor food. My guess is that the wait staff were also significantly under trained as there was a distinct lack of professionalism. An over-priced bar/cafe pretending to be a restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld, aust
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Not sure when "Nevennett" went there. But when our group of 14 went, around feb 2013 the service was awesome. The guys were genuinely smiling & happy, even behind the bar, when they weren't serving. Even managed to be nice to an aussie, (me). Food was fantastic. Good size meal. Thought the main menu was shorter than i'm used to here, but every dish our table received was definitely not complained about. Place has a "real" feel. Rustic. Not flashy or interested in over-presenting the place.
Loved it. Will post a follow-up review as soon as i go back to NZ. Coz i'm going back for more.
If you want ordinary fast-food...go to KFC.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"This is how the restaurant business works"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Our group of 7 came to have a quick dinner before a movie. We arrived at 6. I actually made an order, but the rest of the group were told there were bookings at 6:30 and they couldn't order until after 7:00 because they "didn't want to put the kitchen under pressure". I asked for a refund for my order and left. Rudiculous!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wairarapa Trading Co. Masterton also viewed

Masterton, Wairarapa
 
Masterton, Wairarapa
Masterton, Wairarapa
 

Been to Wairarapa Trading Co. Masterton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wairarapa Trading Co. Masterton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.