We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Facility and friendly cooperative staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paper Road Vineyard

Paper Road Vineyard
Wingate Rd | Opaki, Masterton 5810, New Zealand
06 377 1746
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 34 Restaurants in Masterton
Price range: $14 - $22
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Masterton, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Facility and friendly cooperative staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We booked for my husbands 60th party. We used the outside and inside facilities, both exactly what we expected. We enjoyed the beautiful serene surroundings, wonderful canapés and service. We choose the buffet meal at $30.00 per head and had 30 guests. The meal provided was beautifully presented, plentiful in amount, and quality. A very enjoyable evening and would recommend it for casual family events.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oban
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely birthday dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Lamb salad was delicious and the meat was tender. Tried my wife's steak and it was very tender and tasty. The crusting on the scallops didn't seem to compliment their flavour all that well but they were still quite nice. Wine was very nice too.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I attended a Christmas staff dinner here in December 2014. We had exclusive use of the restaurant due to the numbers. The cost was reasonable for the buffet meal - however, the meal was very basic in every respect. Quantity good, quality average to poor. The service was abysmal. But what most hurt was the obvious lack of effort that the restaurant had gone to, to create a festive atmosphere for a Christmas function. Indeed, no effort. The cheapest simple white paper napkins that last for one wipe of the mouth, plain metal table tops, they had run out of chairs so white plastic stacker chairs at one end of the table, no table decorations - I could go on. I had eaten here on an A La Carte basis earlier in the year - again a relatively unsatisfactory service. The staff are thin on the ground and untrained. I will not return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Will not go back - ever!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

"Bistro overlooks the vineyards" ??? We were seated in what looked like a garage 'out-the-back' on undressed narrow tables and plastic outdoor chairs! Our $25 carvery consisted of pork (no choice) poorly cut and no crackling. I don't know what the traditional trimmings would be but we had a choice of apple sauce or gravy! Roast potatoes were also missing the 'rosemary and garlic' and the seasonal veges must've been the corn slices and undercooked, aged (almost yellow) broccoli! We even had to share the salt and pepper amongst what could've been 28 people!!! Our brownie was exactly that - a brownie/choc cake with a very small dob of whipped cream. Not even enough cream to make up for the dryness of the brownie. Will not visit again and do not recommend!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not what Id expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We came for wine tasting. The young girl was friendly enough but shortly into the tasting, admitted she didnt even drink (alcohol). The conversation turned into friendly small-talk, totally devoid of any information to do with wine! Im new to the wine-tasting gig but bought a nice rose, based on taste and the information written in front of me. Imagine if we were wine critics?
Lovely surroundings, never-the-less, but strongly recommend in future wine tasting staff have SOME knowlege to pass on to customers!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paper Road Vineyard also viewed

Masterton, Wairarapa
Masterton, Wairarapa
 
Masterton, Wairarapa
 

Been to Paper Road Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paper Road Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.