We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place stay......just avoid the buffet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   230 High Street, Masterton 5840, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Wellington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place stay......just avoid the buffet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

My husband stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary just a few days ago. As it was a special occasion we opted for a Superior King room. The receptionist was very friendly but upon entering our room I noticed there were 2 Queen Beds and it did not look like the photo so off we trotted back to reception and sure enough they had given us the wrong room. Once we got to the right room we were very happy. The refurbmishment has been done to a very good standard. The linen was lovely, beautiful bathroom and undefloor heating in the bathroom. We found the rooms very quiet. We enjoyed the facilities while we were there. As it was a Sunday they had a $25 buffet dinner. Normally I do not like buffets but the price was good and we had been to a very good buffet in New Plymouth and the restaurant looked nice so we thought we would give it a try. If i had to find a positive - the bread roll was nice. The rest of it was pretty terrible. The selection was poor and what we ate was just not nice - over cooked lamb, hard chips, roast pumpkin mushed up with some weird spice in it, instant pudding pretending to be a chocolate mousse. I would definitely stay at the Solway again and in fact we are already planning a return visit but we will not be eating a buffet meal there ever again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    95
    41
    16
    7
See reviews for
62
69
5
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

Recently refurbished & pleasant service at the front desk but that is where it stops. We returned swipe keys to front desk twice as one set didn't work. After a third time we gave up and just used one key. Rooms were not serviced properly each day as requested, dusty and not vacumed each day. Fridge was very dirty. Had a tour bus park right outside our front door while the driver washed it down - we had to close our door so that we could continue a conversation and watch tv. We were located next to laundry room and had washing machine and dryer banging against the wall behind our bed until after 11pm at night. Bar gave us soda water in our drinks rather than lemonade, and bar person argued when I said it was not lemonade. Was told at restaurant the buffet was 3 meats, selection of salads, veges followed by cheese platter. We got two meats, no cheese platter. Dishes on buffet not named so didn't even know what you were dishing up yourself until you ate it. I wrote a detailed feedback to the hotel when I checked out but now more than 2 months later I have never had a reply or follow up. I think this is extremely poor for a 4+ star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

We stayed here on our way to Wellington. Great hotel with a choice of eating and drinking places on site.

Our room was very clean and tidy, we had our own parking at the back of our room with a front door leading into the hotel.

Spa and pool facilites are great, we enjoyed a game of free tennis (it was our honeymoon!).

In thotel there is a bar, restuarant and cafe (bit pricey) On the same site is a pub (a local pub, great to meet some locals) and a restuarant, 'cob and co'- reasonable priced hearty food.

Staff here were lovely and helpful. Great place to stop over expecially if you dont want to walk far for some hearty grub! (a little far to walk into town)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

I've always avoided visiting this hotel as from the road it looks more like a motel than a hotel. But we were visiting Masterton and had seen they had a special rate we decided to risk it.

We made the booking by email without problem. On arrival our check-in was swift and professional. The reception area was rather nice I thought though the singlet wearing tattooed gentleman also checking in made me somewhat uneasy. We drove the car to our "unit" and approached the entrance with some trepidation. Looks like a motel, oh dear have we made a mistake? Rather swanky key cards, you just wave it at the door and like magic it unlocks. Not seen this before in a hotel.... I digress! In we went and well really it was not at all bad. All the rooms have been refurbished and done so rather successfully. This was not a motel room but more like a higher end Wellington hotel. A sigh of relief. The bathroom was one of the best I have seen in the Wellington region. OK you have to stand in the bath to turn on the shower and dodge an initial icy blast, but the tiling and decor was as good as it comes.

OK I'm relaxing now. This place is going to be OK. We head for the dining room entering through the bar entrance around 6.00pm. A few average couples here, onwards to the dining room. A pleasant female maitre d' meets us and escorts us to a dark stained table, modern lighting....yes this is OK. A gruff deep-voiced man sits on a table behind us and a young couple with child sits in front of us. A party speaking Spanish dressed one in orange silk trousers also arrives. The crowd is certainly an eclectic mix! Our waitress arrives and takes our order. I select the specials, a broccoli and blue cheese soup followed by King Fish with pumpkin and kumera. My partner orders steak well done. We also order some wine. The wine arrives swiftly and the glass is surprisingly large and full. That's unusual these days and it tastes fine. My soup is also swift to arrive. My soup spoon and butter knife are however coated with yesterday's meal. The waitress apologises and replaces them politely and swiftly. No worries everything will be OK. I finish my soup and the waitress removes the dish. It wasn't large or particularly special but it was OK. We sip our wine, slurp our water, sip our wine, slurp our water, look at the ceiling, comment on the decor, the diversity of the other diners, more water, more wine....we look at our watch - it's 7.00pm. We had to be out by 7.15pm. Where was our meal? One diner had received his main course and already departed! Finally as my partner got up to talk to the waitress the food arrived. The fish and steak were perfectly fine as were the vegetables that were on the main plate. The pumpkin and kumera and the "hand cut fries" were however charred or dark brown and greasy. We ate quickly (leaving most of the "hand cut fries" and headed to our appointment. Returning that night we discovered that the beds that had felt firm and soft to the hand felt more like laying on a cake rack as the padding almost vanished to be replaced by the metal structure underlying it. It was just ok to sleep on. The room was warm and exceptionally quiet in terms of road noise. Only the occasional flush of an adjacent toilet or people walking past the inner door could be heard. On entering the bathroom in the night I noted noxious odours coming I assume through the softly running fan vent from the next room.

Bear in mind that is actually IS the best place in the Masterton area. You certainly won't get much better locally.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

My husband won a night plus breakfast, and we added another night ($99) special from the back of a Woolworths docket. We had stayed three times before, and were most impressed with the refurbished room (608). The bathroom was lovely, the only gripe was there was nowhere to put soap, shampoo etc when showering, except the opposite end of the bath. The two queen beds were comfortable, an appreciated touch were the two scatter cushions in additon to the pillows, for watching TV in bed. We had a meal in the cafe, and ordered the bread and dips to go before our main. When it came it was huge, a meal in itself, and the sole waitress (who prepared the meals) came over and offered to wrap our main meals so we could eat them in our room later. As we still couldn't face them, we popped them in the mini bar fridge (with difficulty) and had them the following night. We had a pleasant walk through the boardwalk through the patch of bush, and hit a couple of buckets of balls at the driving range. The receptionists were pleasant and helpful and the breakfast comprehensive..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

It is a recently remodeled hotel with drive up room (I.e. motel like) access. However, the hotel is a rather sprawling complex and can be a bit of a maze to walk through at first. It has a wide variety of recreation features so would be good for a family getaway. Our only problem was getting mediocre service in the restaurant for one evening meal.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

In a way it surprises me to see some of the comments, we try to stay at least twice a year and really enjoy our time at Solway. last trip was 24th to 31st december 2008 (7 nights). We have stayed before, during and since renovating, last time in room 607. We use the pool (indoor) the driving range, the cafe and restaurant, the bar and of course the car racing machines. We find the staff very helpfull, and have not had a single problem at this great resort. Tony Kerr Blenheim--

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

Address: 230 High Street, Masterton 5840, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park's completion of a NZ$7 million refurbishment has seen it become one of Wairarapa’s most luxurious hotels, now holding a 4 Star Plus Qualmark rating. Located in the heart of an internationally acclaimed wine region, the resort is set in 10 hectares of landscaped grounds & native bush on the outskirts of Masterton, Wairarapa's largest town. Nearby attractions include vineyards, Tui Brewery, Vintage Aviator Collection & PMB National Wildlife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Copthorne Hotel Masterton
Masterton Solway Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.