We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel good, restaurant not so good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   230 High Street, Masterton 5840, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Hotel good, restaurant not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I have stayed at the Hotel many times over the years and would have stayed there again recently but it was full. Not surprising as it has a lot to offer and good accommodation. However we joined a group of friends there for dinner in November. Staff were polite and helpful but unfortunately the food was very disappointing. A coconut crusted prawn dish was absolutely awful. The whole prawn, i.e. tail, scales and all, was coated in this dry crust. To eat them you had to cut off or break off the tail, then pick away the scales as you tried to eat it. By the time you pulled all the scales out of your mouth, there wasn't much prawn meat left. A friend next to me had a number of the prawn heads (minus the body) served on her plate, again coated in this awful crust. They were inedible. Goodness knows where the rest of the prawn was. A number of us ordered this dish which was deep friend. We couldn't understand why any chef would think it was clever to dunk the entire prawn in this crust and expect someone to eat it. The steak eaters at the table did not have any complaints but others who had a fish dish were not satisfied either. We didn't raise our complaints at the time which clearly we should have but it was late, we were lucky to be squeezed in before the kitchen closed so paid the price.
Just be careful what you order and stay away from anything that is deep friend in a crust without checking what is under the crust.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you find the hotel accommodation good and staff helpful when you stay. In reference to your comments regarding the food in The Grill at Solway Park, we have spoken to the Executive Chef and the panko crumbed prawns are shelled prior to being coated however it would appear a mistake has occurred on this occasion. It is unfortunate that you did not make comment to the Restaurant Manager at the time as we would have been able to provide you with a new dish prepared correctly. We apologise for the displeasure that occurred and hope you will come again in the future.
With regards Jerry Crump, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    86
    36
    14
    5
See reviews for
46
67
5
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandra, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed here for a night a couple of weeks ago. Every team member I dealt with was helpful, friendly & professional. I felt very well taken care of.

A special thank you to Paddy who helped with sound & set up in the conference room. Paddy - you did a fabulous job!

I was impressed with the massively comfy bed & the great shower pressure. Those things do matter.

Highly recommend Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park in Masterton.

Thank you Jerry & your team - I certainly enjoyed my stay with you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi Amy,
Thank you for your positive comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful and friendly and importantly, the bed comfy. We hope you will come and stay again in the future for business or leisure.
With regards Jerry Crump, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a night here in Feb and thought we should have booked for longer. The room was spacious and clean. It had a big bathroom and 2 queen sized beds!
The pool was only meters away and had a spa next to it. The pool area is spot on and so is the rest of the resort.
The only criticism we have is that it took 1.5 hrs for our meal to arrive in the restaurant. This was the kitchens problem not the wait staff. They were courteous and relatively efficient. Training for wait staff here in NZ is sorely lacking we have noticed. Having said all that, the food was very good and there was plenty of it.
We would certainly return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and had the opportunity to utilise some of the resort facilities. We apologise for the speed of delivery for your meal in The Grill at Solway Park. It is our aim to provide a high standard of service in our restaurant and we will pass your valuable comments onto the Executive Chef. We hope you had a pleasant return trip home and will stay again in the future. With regards Jerry Crump.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Two days away with my 11 yr old daughter. A lovely room, clearly had been recently renovated, the room and bathroom were fresh, pleasant and very comfortable. The public space (bar & Restaurant) also fresh and comfortable. Two delicious meals in the restaurant.

Really good bits: most of the staff, especially the bar & restaurant staff (Maree & Sam) - cheery, friendly, very efficient, made us feel so welcome.

Not so good bits: front counter staff, a bit cursory, lacked the "first impression" sparkle that a hotel needs; also some spaces in the building need a wee bit of maintenance - scuffed corners in corridors etc, such small details but it does give the impression of someone not quite caring enough.

But very small "not so good bits", mostly all good! A great place to go with children - a choice of indoor or outdoor pools, plus loads of outdoor space to roar around in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hi Mary, Thank you for taking time to post a review. We are pleased your stay was "mostly all good" and you received great service in The Grill. We welcome your feedback on the areas we can improve on and the appropriate managers have been informed of your comments. We hope you will return again in the future. With regards Jerry Crump
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This hotel offers very good value for money. Our room was comfortable and spacious and well setup for a family of four. If I had a quibble it's that the decor is a little tired. It has a good standard of facilities and it's spacious setting works well for children. Having an indoor & outdoor pool means that there's options regardless of the weather. The restaurant is no better than average however. The food is good but the service is not really up to standard. It's slow and both times we have visited the waiter has not known much about the menu, drink options or much else to do with the restaurant. Overall though I'd definitely consider staying here if visiting Masterton again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hi Frank, Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased you and your family enjoyed the hotel and resort facilities. We are disappointed that the service in The Grill was not satisfactory, we endeavour to provide excellent service in all areas of the hotel and your comments will be passed onto our Food and Beverage Manager to address. We hope you will stay again in the future. With regards Jerry Crump, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed two nights in a room in the 300 location. Room was large with two queen size beds, tea making facilities, TV, small table and 2 chairs, fridge, very clean and modern bathroom with toiletries supplied. Could not fault the hotel for cleanliness and comfort. We were extremely close to the indoor pool but the sound proofing was great. If you have children there are lots of different activities to keep them occupied. Visited Café Solway for a cake but came away disappointed not a great choice of cakes available. Did not eat at hotel as breakfast prices are expensive but we had come prepared so no big deal. Had had a very nice meal several years ago at the Grill Room so knew that prices would be very expensive there so found a nice place in Masterton to eat at. Think our only complaints were that the spa pool was too cold to enjoy and also the wooden outdoor furniture on our little patio was too dirty to sit on without clothing becoming marked and part of the table had an area of rotten wood on the top. Apart from this we would be quite happy to stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
HI Wilma, Thank you for your positive and detailed review. We are pleased you found your room clean and comfortable and enjoyed many of the facilities at the hotel. We have passed your comments regarding the Café cake selections onto the chef and in regards to the outdoor furniture you will be pleased to know we are in the process of upgrading all the tables and chairs. We hope you will come and stay again in the future. With regards Jerry Crump.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great hotel great facilities good location. Nice pool restaurant, walking distance to a mini mart. If you had kids it would be good playground. Nice bar, good sized rooms with 2 queen beds. Nice gardens, laundry avail if needed

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the facilities to your liking. We hope you will come and stay again in the future. With regards Jerry Crump.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

Address: 230 High Street, Masterton 5840, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park's completion of a NZ$7 million refurbishment has seen it become one of Wairarapa’s most luxurious hotels, now holding a 4 Star Plus Qualmark rating. Located in the heart of an internationally acclaimed wine region, the resort is set in 10 hectares of landscaped grounds & native bush on the outskirts of Masterton, Wairarapa's largest town. Nearby attractions include vineyards, Tui Brewery, Vintage Aviator Collection & PMB National Wildlife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Copthorne Hotel Masterton
Masterton Solway Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.