We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20th wedding anniversary trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   230 High Street, Masterton 5840, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“20th wedding anniversary trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Having made it to 20 years married we had our first night away together without the children since the end of 1997 when we first became parents! We had a package of one night in the hotel, a bottle of bubbly, three course dinner, and full breakfast the next morning. It was a great day away together - we enjoyed a coffee in the cafe, my wife had a swim, the dinner was really good at The Grill, breakfast was nice and everyone in the hotel was just lovely. We've stayed here a few times before with the kids and it is also a really good place for them with the family restaurant on the grounds of the hotel. This hotel keeps its standards really high and I recommend a stay here. The wine list at the restaurant is almost entirely made up of Wairarapa wines which I think is a really nice touch.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a superior room. These are a cut above the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Congratulations on your 20th Wedding Anniversary and thank you for the lovely comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and had time to relax and use the facilities. It is our goal to provide a high standard of service in an outstanding country location and we hope you will come and enjoy the hospitality again in the future. With regards Jerry Crump.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    86
    36
    14
    5
See reviews for
46
67
5
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hotel was nice and clean price is very reasonable. Amenities are good and hotel is well equipped. Food service was awesome and reasonably priced. Room was very clean and staff are very friendly. Check in was very easy and we were able to get a room even without any reservation. I would highly recommend the hotel, service is excellent.

Room Tip: Never had a chance to look to other rooms but it looks the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your pleasant comments. We are pleased you enjoyed the amenities at the hotel and the family had a good time. Thank you for staying at the Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park and we hope to see you again in the future. With regards Jerry Crump.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you use internet, be prepared to pay more in the small town of Masterton than you would in New York City or Paris. You can pay $10 for 100MB (OK if you just want to check your email), but $30 for 500 MB (it is not even unlimited at this price!). They also do not take Millenium/Copthorne Hotel Loyal Club cards (even though they are listed as a participating hotel on the website).
I was told that this is because they are independently owned. Well, then, take your name off the Loyalty Club Website!
Room was basic, more like a motel than a "resort". No complaints there. But there are better places to stay in Masterton, in my opinion, where internet is free and rooms are just as comfortable. There is no wireless access in the lobby (but they said they are going to put it in). They have two terrible computers next to the children play area which are free, but they are so slow and unresponsive that they are unusable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review. We are disappointed you did not have an enjoyable stay and found the internet service unsatisfactory. We are members of the Millennium Group of Hotels and therefore do accept Loyal Club Memberships we are apologise if you were told otherwise. We are in the process of improving our lobby wireless service and have recently updated our internet in all the rooms however we will look into our costing system. We would like the opportunity to discuss this matter further and you are welcome to contact me on jerry@solway.co.nz. With regards Jerry Crump, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Was nice to be able to find a Luxurious room in Masterton to treat my wife whilst over for a sports event, room was clean, comfortable, well stocked, complete with Slippers and Robe etc,etc, very nice food and wine in the restaurant and genuine nice service, wish we had more time there as they have a great array of amenities .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and had an enjoyable Birthday dinner in The Grill at Solway Park. We hope you will come againin the future and have time to enjoy all the facilities. With regards Jerry Crump.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I stayed one night here and found it to be very good. I did not have a reservation and arrived earlier than check in time but the staff were very helpful and easily accommodated me. Hotel facilities seem good although I did not take advantage of them. The friendly and helpful staff were great!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. We aim to provide great customer service and we are pleased to hear that the staff were very accommodating. I do hope you are able to make use of all the great facilities at the Hotel on your next visit.
With regards Jerry Crump, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk vulcan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

just stayed for one night but found it to be a comfortable hotel with friendly staff. the room was on the small side - especially for a disabled access room and it was a bit of a squeeze with 2 suitcases and a wheelchair. Beds were OK. comfortable with good sleep experience. food was fine in a nice restaurant. a relaxing place to stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for comments. We are pleased you had a relaxing stay and we value your comments on the disabled room access. The hotel is constantly being upgraded and we will consider your comments when we are making our room improvements. We look forward to having you stay again in the future.
With regards Jerry Crump, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Recently Hubby and I did a road trip through the Wairarapa/Bush area, and made Masterton our central point. We stayed three nights in total at the Copthorne in Masterton. For an average cost of $120 per night, we had a well appointed room with everything we needed. Also access to the Fitness Room, Indoor and Outdoor swimming pool, Spa pool, Golf driving range, Cafe and Restaurant. Certainly will return and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms around the back near the Driving Range well suited for a good restful nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hi Karen, Thank you for your positive comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and made use of the great facilities at the Hotel. We hope to see you again on your next road trip. With regards Jerry Crump, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

Address: 230 High Street, Masterton 5840, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park's completion of a NZ$7 million refurbishment has seen it become one of Wairarapa’s most luxurious hotels, now holding a 4 Star Plus Qualmark rating. Located in the heart of an internationally acclaimed wine region, the resort is set in 10 hectares of landscaped grounds & native bush on the outskirts of Masterton, Wairarapa's largest town. Nearby attractions include vineyards, Tui Brewery, Vintage Aviator Collection & PMB National Wildlife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Copthorne Hotel Masterton
Masterton Solway Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.