We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place to stay in the Wairarapa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   230 High Street, Masterton 5840, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to stay in the Wairarapa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Have had a lovely 4 day stay, beautiful meals at the Grill and also a great indoor outdoor cafe. Lots of extra things to do such as gym, indoor /outdoor pool and adventure playground etc. Very comfortable and stylish rooms, would recommend to anyone. Would also definitely return for another stay sometime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Jen
Thank you for your positive review. It is great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and were able to make the most of our facilities. We do hope you come back soon and look forward to seeing you then.
Kind regards,
Jerry Crump, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    86
    36
    14
    5
See reviews for
46
67
5
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Newly renovated rooms are great. Nice bathrooms, comfortable beds in a very nice quiet setting (no road noise) and a tasty good value buffet meal (meals from menu a bit expensive). The only minor issue was small televisions.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park. We are very glad that you were pleased with the accommodation and hope to see you again. Kind regards, Jerry Crump, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Fabulous hotel, especially for families.I stayed with my 2 young children and a friend stayed with her 2 teenage children, both in junior suites which we were interconnecting which was ideal. The rooms alone were 5 star and the decor was impeccable.
Facilities are excellent, no chance of boredom for the young or old ones alike. We ate in The Grill restaurant on site and the meal was outstanding!


Thoroughly recommend it!

Room Tip: Junior Suite is superb for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Julie,

Thank you for posting your comments on your recent stay at The Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park. It is great to know that you had such an enjoyable stay in the Junior Suites and I have passed on your positive feedback to the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards,
Jerry Crump
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was most impressed with finding such a high class hotel in a small rural area. They exceeded my expectations. Parking outside our unit with entrances from the car park and into the corridor was a nice touch. I also enjoyed hitting a couple of buckets of balls at their very own golf driving range.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear HamishLink,

Many thanks for your positive review and five-star rating. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Jerry Crump
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in the junior suite. I guess the motel "area" looked a bit dated, but the hotel-front and inside our room was more modern, Sky TV and free wifi. Personally, I thought they had an excellent set of amenities, including bathrobes and slippers - and bathroom had good shower and tub and heated floor tiles! Very clean too.
We were supposed to get fresh cooked breakfast included in the package, I thought from a menu, but had to do buffet because it was a weekend. Maybe it's normal for a country motel. Breakfast buffet and dinner food at The Grill was average, but I liked the room service food we got.
Check-out was interesting as the system had overcharged us for an additional night but no drama to sort out. Friendly staff, but seemed understaffed, especially at the restaurant. I would stay there again (I really like the room), but maybe when the heated indoor pool is not full of kids.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your positive review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay in our junior suite. The hotel is in a constant state of refurbishment and we have recently upgraded the gym, squash courts and indoor pool. Your stay coincided with a national children’s soccer tournament and the recreational facilities were indeed busier than usual. We look forward to having you stay at the hotel again in the future and your comments regarding the breakfast and dining have been noted. If you wish to email me direct please do not hesitate.
Kind regards,
Jerry Crump
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

A very dated building, peeling paint outside, long corridors, rest-home feel. Some of the rooms have been refurbished to a very average standard but not at all worth the $190 for a junior suite. Very surprised at the high prices. Apart from the restaurant and bar area, it was all just a bit shabby in general. It portrays itself as something quite fancy on the website but the reality was rather disappointing. The homestead family restaurant next door is worth a visit if you have children.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Sorry that you felt that way - we have a vigorous ongoing maintenance programme which strives to complement our Qualmark 'Four Star Plus' status, and 'shabby' isnt and adjective we hear often.

Glad you enjoyed the Homested Family Restaurant - we also have children's menus in both 'The Grill at Solway Park' and 'Cafe Solway', the latter of which also has its own childrens playground, and access to the ten-bay golf driving range, indoor heated pool, spa pool and squash court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed overnight at Solway Park for business and was surprised at how large the rooms were. Two lovely comfortable twin beds to choose from, good shower pressure and a nice touch was new magazines for guests to read in the room. Breakfast was included in the room rate - this was down at "The Grill" below. Completely yum - a choice of hot and cold food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your positive posting. Our newly refurbished Standard Rooms are of a high standard and are very spacious indeed. With two queen beds they are very well suited to two people sharing or family stays. We are delighted to hear you had a comfortable stay with us and you enjoyed your buffet breakfast at The Grill at Solway Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

Address: 230 High Street, Masterton 5840, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park's completion of a NZ$7 million refurbishment has seen it become one of Wairarapa’s most luxurious hotels, now holding a 4 Star Plus Qualmark rating. Located in the heart of an internationally acclaimed wine region, the resort is set in 10 hectares of landscaped grounds & native bush on the outskirts of Masterton, Wairarapa's largest town. Nearby attractions include vineyards, Tui Brewery, Vintage Aviator Collection & PMB National Wildlife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Copthorne Hotel Masterton
Masterton Solway Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.