We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy but good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ten O'Clock Cookie

Ten O'Clock Cookie
180 Queen Street, Masterton, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 35 Restaurants in Masterton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Large, bustling and vibrant bakery and cafe serving breakfast, snacks and lunches. Excellent choice, quality and value.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Busy but good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I often have a coffee with staff at 10CC and occasionally buy lunch there. it's usually busy - staff are very good. Excellent food - priced accordingly. Their baking is mouthwatering and coffee consistently good. I've lost count of how many Chelsea buns I've eaten over the years and love their spicy Easter buns. Definitely worth a visit or two!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    20
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington NZ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We've been wanting to try this place for quite a while and finally had the chance recently. We find its usually closed on Saturdays by the time we are in Masterton - late afternoons every weekend. We were there for a very late lunch and purchased pies and cakes. The pies were very nice - not the usual 'gravy milkshakes' that are often around these days and had a good flavour. I had an afghan biscuit which I love if made properly and must say these were pretty darn good! My husband very much enjoyed the chocolate type slice he had. The cappuccinos we had were nice too tho the coffee was just a little stronger than I like it - but then thats just me!
We managed another visit the following Saturday.
My only tiny quibbles could be the serving staff seeming a little sullen perhaps, something we'd noticed on both visits - perhaps they are dying to get home after a long day! Also the food is very pricey so not somewhere we would go regularly because of the cost.
Overall though an excellent cafe and definitely one to go back to.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best pies I've tested for a while”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Food was glorious, if a little pricey, but given the New Zealand awards they have won, I guess the prices are to be expected.
Beautiful cakes as well
Worth the stop

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good baking - lacks peace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This cafe has beautiful award winning baking and the resturant is nicely decorated, if a bit crowded with tables. I never go there though because it is too crowded and noisy, and there are no quiet nooks to sit in.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wairarapa, New Zealand
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good food in the middle of Masterton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Their food, especially their baking, has won numerous awards.
Unfortunately, I'm gluten-free which cuts a lot of it out - but they have salads and fries and great coffee to keep us happy. They have comfortable couches and an up-beat, happy-feeling setup. It's good to have this place in the centre of Masterton.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ten O'Clock Cookie also viewed

Masterton, Wairarapa
 

Been to Ten O'Clock Cookie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ten O'Clock Cookie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.