We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Summit Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Summit Lodge to your Saves list
The Summit Lodge
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4 Admiral Road | Gladstone, Masterton 5883, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Masterton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
“A fantastic weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Summit Lodge with two other couples and shared a lovely meal with Tracey and Jim that evening. The rooms were quiet and comfortable and we found the guest lounge great for pre and post dinner socialising. We had a lovely walk around the beautiful garden and enjoyed interaction with the family pets. A lovely part of the Wairarapa to visit.
We returned to our favourite Wairarapa winery, Johner, and also again had lovely food and coffee at Gladstone Vineyard. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
hi Karen - thank you for your review and we are so glad that the weekend lived up to expectations. It was wonderful to meet you all. We agree, Johner is a fabulous winery and we know how lucky we are to have it close by. The only problem we have is choosing which of the 16 varieties of wine to buy! Gladstone Vineyard does do great lunches and in such a lovely setting - a fabulous way to spend a lazy afternoon, eating and drinking good food and wine! See you again soon we hope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Summit Lodge. Our room was very quiet, clean and comfortable. We loved all the animals that were very welcoming. Tracey and Jim were great hosts. Jim loaned my husband his golf clubs to go golfing with. Tracey is an excellent cook - all our meals we had there were too good. I would totally recommend this wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hi Gwen
thank you so much for your review - we really enjoyed hosting you and David. It was a pleasure celebrate special occasions with you and to know you enjoyed your stay in the Wairarapa. PS - Dexter misses David's ear rubbing!
Tracey & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Summit Lodge for the weekend. We wanted to get away from the city and have a relaxing time away.

I was hesitant at first because I wasn't sure if the lodge would be the right fit as we really like to have our own space when we go away.

Long story short I am really glad we stayed at the lodge - we had the privacy we were looking for and the place is awesome! I only met Tracey briefly because we had things booked round Martinborough but my girlfriend and I felt right at home staying here. The room we stayed in was great, the surroundings were really nice and we certainly loved hanging out with the Alpacas.

We had a great weekend and we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
thank you for your review - and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do our best to provide what our guests want and it is good to know that we are delivering. The room you stayed in (Rimu, at the back) does provide good seclusion and privacy, even when other guests are in-house.
Looking forward to seeing you back in the near future - maybe for a winter retreat with open wood fires in lounge and dining and in-room heat pump?
Tracey & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmot47
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Tracey and Jim are great hosts with a lovely B and B ten minutes south of Masterton in New Zealand's beautiful Wairarapa region.

The property is immaculate with great gardens with fruit trees, the rooms are vey comfortable and quiet. We had a very pleasant dinner with the other interesting guests and the finale after a great breakfast was to feed the alpacas! Fully recommended and thank you so much Tracey and Jim.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your review - we really enjoyed meeting you both. It is always fun when we have a group of guests for dinner - such great conversations! It usually happens that guests find things in common and we get to hear wonderful stories.

Plus the alpacas ALWAYS enjoy meeting guests who have food for them!

Hope to see you both again - maybe for the next air show at Hood Aerodrome, Wings over Wairarapa, January 2015, maybe???!

Tracey & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We enjoyed staying at The Summit a few months ago so much that we came back in November 2013 for our 7th wedding anniversary. The hosts are wonderful, the food recommended, the animals lovely and friendly, and the rooms are so comfortable. Plus it's one of the very few places I've stayed with decent sized bath towels!

The Summit is incredibly relaxing. It's been very well planned. It's not the cheapest place in the Wairarapa to stay but it's well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you Ann-Marie - we really enjoyed hosting you both again, particularly as it was your wedding anniversary! We can also confirm that our latest Qualmark assessment, which happened on the Monday after your stay, confirmed our 5star rating - and in addition we now have Boutique and Lodge status as against guest and hosted.
Look forward to seeing you both again in the not too distant future!
Tracey & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My fiancée & I were in the region to visit the annual Toast Martinborough festival of wine, food and music, and needed somewhere restful to stay. Summit Lodge certainly fulfilled that need - and much more. Even before our arrival, Tracey had been very helpful indeed, with advice on how best to organise ourselves for the Toast event, and booking us on a door to door bus service for the big day. The room and ensuite were very well equipped and immaculate, and spotlessly clean. the king-size bed was very comfortable indeed so we slept very well. The Lodge is well away from main roads, and the rooms are double-glazed, so the peace and quiet were great. Wi-Fi access is free and easy to use. We really enjoyed the included cooked breakfasts, and we joined in for the optional evening meals - and we are very glad we did, because the standard of the menus and the cooking are truly excellent. Local produce is used almost exclusively, with much of it coming from the Lodge's own beautiful garden and eggs from their hens. The animals (a chocolate Labrador dog, 5 friendly cats and a small herd of alpacas) are delightful, and very well behaved indeed - so anyone who is not really into animals would not be bothered by them. We cannot recommend Summit Lodge too highly, and will very happily stay there again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. Jim and I are so pleased that you and your fiancé enjoyed your stay. We love the Wairarapa - it's places to explore, events, wine, food and so it is always great to know that our guests have enjoyed themselves too! We try to think of everything that will make a stay with us as relaxing and enjoyable as possible so it is good to know it is appreciated. We both love cooking and always use local, seasonal produce - and what better than to share it with guests?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great place to stay, nice friendly honest people, had a really great time. Recommend the food if you stay as Tracy is a very good cook. Loved the dog Dexter and the cats, it's a really neat place to stay will go back soon, good area to visit and recommend the wineries in the area THANKS Tracy & Jim

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
thank you Christine - it was a joy to host you both and swop building experiences! Yes, lots of lovely wineries in the area...we will be visiting a few ourselves tomorrow now that the new vintage is being released - purely for research purposes of course!!! The best ones will be added to the cellar and menus developed around them. Hope to see you back the next time you need some R&R
Tracey & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Summit Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Lodge

Address: 4 Admiral Road | Gladstone, Masterton 5883, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Masterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Summit Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Summit Lodge, Gladstone provides 5-star, quiet and peaceful accommodation for a maximum of 6 guests in a private wing of the house. Each guest room has ensuite facilities and a private patio as well as heat pump/air con. A large lounge/home theatre is available exclusively for guest use and the Lodge offers wifi access throughout. Close to several wineries, golf courses and many other Wairarapa attractions. 15 min drive to Masterton and Carterton and 20 mins to Greytown and Martinborough. Local country inn, 3km. Beautiful views of farmland and rolling hills, alpacas to meet and feed and range of cats. Cooked and continetal breakfast options with home baked bread, home toasted muesli, fresh fruit, espresso coffee/teas, free range eggs and locally cured bacon. Dinners available with notice featuring local, seasonal produce; served dinner-party style. Single storey and wheelchair accessible, Child-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Summit Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Summit Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.