We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest and Relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Summit Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Summit Lodge to your Saves list
The Summit Lodge
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4 Admiral Road | Gladstone, Masterton 5883, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Masterton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Rest and Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere to rest up whilst touring the beautiful Wairarapa and all it has to offer then look no further. All the details have been thought of to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Lovely hosts and a warm inviting lodge. All the efforts Tracey went to down to baking our morning muffins were totally appreciated by us. Short drives from here will take you to some lovely vineyards, outdoor walking opportunities and local interest sites such as the Mt Bruce Bird Sanctuary (White Kiwi). We will definitely keep this place in mind for another stay in the future.
You can also get to feed the Alpacas if you wish or take in the Lodge's lovely garden setting or spa pool. Regards Desi and Peter Singer

Room Tip: I had a look at all the three rooms available they are all a similar size and of equal comfort. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

During our trip in New Zealand we stayed 2 nights at the summit lodge. We were very pleased about this luxureus B&B with a very high comfort standard. Tracey, the host and owner is very nice and helpfull person!

Marja and Jan Groot, The Netherlands

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
we are so please you enjoyed your stay with us, Jan and Marja, thank you for your kind words.
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

What a delightful place to stay, gorgeous surrounds and wonderful hosts, We'll be back

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

So glad we found The Summit Lodge on our little spur of the moment trip to the Wairarapa. It was so relaxing, comforting and just what we needed. We loved being out in the country away from the noise of the city and the hospitality and the environment were excellent. We would love to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

I can't say enough wondeful things about the Summit Lodge, my only regret is that we did not stay there longer! Tracey and Jim were wondeful hosts. We had a delicious dinner with them (highly recommend) as well as a wonderful breakfast. The accomodation was very nice, clean and cozy! They were very helpful and knowledgeable about things to do and places to stay in New Zealand. We really can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

My brother and I had a wonderful night at Summit Lodge. We spent the afternoon in the lounge watching DVDs (we took some with us but there is a wonderful selection there). The amazingly comfortable reclining chairs, the log fire, the huge screen and the surround-sound make it better than the movies! We had a wonderful 3 course dinner, all local or home-grown produce, and local wines to match. We then soaked in the spa pool looking up at the clear Wairarapa sky. Breakfast was again nearly all local and homemade produce. Tracey and Jim are wonderful hosts - they go out of their way to accommodate your preferences and make your stay luxurious, relaxing and very affordable. I will be back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, NZ
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We only stayed 1 night but so enjoyed the company of Tracey & Jim, their lovely food and the thrill of feeding the alpacas. The Wairarapa is such a beautiful part of New Zealand. Recommend a relaxing stay at The Summit. Don't forget the wine tastings in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Summit Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Lodge

Address: 4 Admiral Road | Gladstone, Masterton 5883, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Masterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Summit Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Summit Lodge, Gladstone provides 5-star, quiet and peaceful accommodation for a maximum of 6 guests in a private wing of the house. Each guest room has ensuite facilities and a private patio as well as heat pump/air con. A large lounge/home theatre is available exclusively for guest use and the Lodge offers wifi access throughout. Close to several wineries, golf courses and many other Wairarapa attractions. 15 min drive to Masterton and Carterton and 20 mins to Greytown and Martinborough. Local country inn, 3km. Beautiful views of farmland and rolling hills, alpacas to meet and feed and range of cats. Cooked and continetal breakfast options with home baked bread, home toasted muesli, fresh fruit, espresso coffee/teas, free range eggs and locally cured bacon. Dinners available with notice featuring local, seasonal produce; served dinner-party style. Single storey and wheelchair accessible, Child-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Summit Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Summit Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.