We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castlepoint Holiday Park and Motels

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masterton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlepoint Holiday Park and Motels
Save
You added Castlepoint Holiday Park and Motels to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   1-3 Jetty Road, Masterton 5889, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

There's not many accommodation options in Castlepoint but the cabin we had was perfectly located just across the road from the beach and ideal for a small family. Yes the television is small by today's standards but you really shouldn't be coming to Castlepoint for the TV! The cooking facilities are basic but good enough and there is a washing machine as well. Our cabin was down the road away from the main holiday park which was quite a good thing considering it was coming up to New Year's Eve and there was a bit of noise about. I can't comment on the value for money as someone else paid but overall it suited our needs perfectly and CastlePoint is a great place to visit!

Room Tip: Our cabins were down the road, away from the main holiday park which was good to keep the noise down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Masterton, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

what a Beautiful place to stay, the views are great and the camp is well run, friendly office staff and very helpful, The camp is very well set up and everything is lovely and clean. Highly Reccomended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Wow what a motor camp. To wake up in the morning and look out at that view is fantastic. The motor camp itself is very clean and everything you require is there. The office lady is very helpful and made our stay very pleasant. I am looking forward to going to the camp again.

Room Tip: All camp sites were well situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed in a caravan on a powered sight overlooking the amazing Castlepoint beach views. Fantastic place to stay with children of all ages. Staff were friendly and helpful. Amenities were immaculate at all times.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Probably the most basic you could expect in a motel.

A good stay doesn't start through passive aggression by the staff.

Rooms are of good size, but feel like they haven't had any update of amenities for a good few decades. Beds are uncomfortable, TV is tiny, and don't expect sky. For $140 a night, this place is a total rip off.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Good value for money and located right on the beach.. Make sure you take all your own stuff though as the opening hours for the local store are limited. Also pack correct change for the showers and don't expect the water to be hot for the most part.. Good summer stay over though.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stopped for one night on a powered site, whilst travelling between Napier and Wellington. Really lovely stop off, with very clean amenities and a great location over looking the sea/beach and the lighthouse. Very quiet and peaceful setting and well worth the slight detour off the main highway. The owners were very friendly and accommodating and we very much enjoyed our stay. Definitely take a trip further down the road and visit the lighthouse and we took a walk along the beach and saw a seal very close to the beach, altogether delightful.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castlepoint Holiday Park and Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlepoint Holiday Park and Motels

Address: 1-3 Jetty Road, Masterton 5889, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Masterton
Hotel Class:4 star — Castlepoint Holiday Park and Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castlepoint Holiday Park and Motels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.