We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never forget. Did not even get past reception.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of South Park Motel

South Park Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added South Park Motel to your Saves list
South Park Motel
55 High Street, Masterton 5810, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Will never forget. Did not even get past reception.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

New owner. Booked by phone night before as was travelling up from South Island. Upon phone booking I let know we were travelling with our fur kid ( Jemma doggie). Motel advertised as being pet friendly. All was ok.
So after a long drive up the islands we finally arrived.
Met lady in tiny reception area who ignored us while "busy" on computer....? When she finally deemed it acceptable to greet her customers we relayed that we had made a booking the night before. When our fur kid was mentioned she immediately said that no dogs were allowed. WHAT.....? We told her we had pointedly made the booking because it was a dog friendly motel. She then said it would be acceptable if Jemma slept in our car. I have had my do for 17 years! She is senior with diabetes and sleeps on our bed. Sleeping in a car is completely out of the question!!!!! The biggest poi t of this is that I had searched dog friendly motels in masterton and contacted this place purely from the phone call the night before. It was an existing booking. We told her that we would not be happy to leave our dog in the car and made a move to leave. As we were getting back into our car she suddenly screeched like a banshee " well f yous then,,,," I will never forget it.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
11
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bulls, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Clean, comfortable and convenient and well priced, what more could you ask for. Located just out of the CBE on State highway 2 this Motel is ideally located to visit the Wairarapa Coast or the Tararua Forest Park. Good sized rooms, well furnished and serviced. Hosts friendly and helpful. Sky 50 channels and internet included.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night while visiting family in the Wairarapa. We really had an enjoyable stay - the owners were lovely, very friendly and helpful. Room had everything that we needed, was nice and warm, and very clean. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We had a booking made through the internet for another motel not prepared to stay there.
We came off the road to check for vacancy and were made so welcome. This motel is beautiful, fully equiped with luxury your own air conditioning fantastic. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We found this to be a very modern motel with all the features you would expect in a nice motel including a spa bath. We found our stay to be very pleasant and comfortable and stayed an extra night. We found the owners to be very helpful and friendly. We would DEFINITELY recommend this motel. You should find your stay to be as good as ours.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Park Motel

Address: 55 High Street, Masterton 5810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star plus Qualmark 12 Air conditioned suites, LCD TVs , wireless internet, 1&2 bdrm suites, 4 with spa bath, all self catering. 2-bdrm deluxe suites, full kitchen & spa bath, private patio. 90 minutes drive to Interisland ferry / Wellington airport / city. Short drive to Greytown & Marintborough and visit the wineries. Napier - 3 hours drive. Find us on State Highway 2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your South Park Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Park Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.