We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vinegar instead of Chardonnay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BK'S Chardonnay Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added BK'S Chardonnay Motor Lodge to your Saves list
BK'S Chardonnay Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BK'S Chardonnay Motor Lodge
274 High Street, Masterton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
West Malling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Vinegar instead of Chardonnay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

1. Masterton is certainly not a place where to go before you die...
The outside of the Motel gives you an impression of a well maintained modern Motel....and has a qualmark rating of 4 - so the same rating as for example the Travelodge in Palmerston North (see my review).

The price for a room is on par with prices in Auckland and Wellington - based on what?

The room looked like the interior of an army camp...everything was grey - the furniture in the "lounge" was from the 50th, everything was presented cheap and the signs on the wall telling the visitor not to brekk anything or pay did the rest.

looking at all the other reviews about this place I am certainly the exception with a bad review but my judgement: Never ever again!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
17
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antalya, Turkey
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We only stayed for one night, but agree with all the good things that have already been said about the Chardonnay. We asked for some outside space and were given the disabled suite, which has a small patio. The suite was enormous, beautifully decorated, very well equipped, and spotlessly clean.

The only drawback was we had no cafetiere. If you want one, ask at reception; they keep them there!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Beautiful rooms with top quality furnishings and fittings and prices in the average motel range. We really enjoyed our stay here

Room Tip: Room away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

What a amazing motel from the time you walk in with there amazing hospitality and there spacious clean rooms this is the place to stay nothing was a problem i regularly travel to masterton as a rep and have found this motel the best it caters for everything you could want clean tidy and good location .
The rooms themselves are immaculate and very spacious this is a great motel i feel the best in Masterton.l

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We recently stayed here for 4 nights while attending a convention in Masterton. There were 4 of us so we rented a 2 bedroom unit and it was very good. The only gripe was the $4 charge for the drier when all we needed was a max of 10 minutes to dry a jumper that was a bit wet. The proximity to the main road was a bit of a worry for us when we checked in but it turned out fine, we couldn't hear any traffic during the night because I don't think there is much!!

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed one night on our way from Hawkes Bay to Martinborough. On the South side of town so some distance to go back to town for supermarket etc- needed a car. On the main highway but set back and not noisy. Studio unit clean, comfortable and nice spa bath but disliked a lot of notices in the rooms for fines for this, that and the other if you left any mess, vomited on the sheets etc- we would only ever vomit if we were actually ill as never drink too much and this felt uncharitable. Only 2 bowls, knives, forks, spoons- what if you had a guest over, for dessert, would you have to wash the bowls and spoons in between people to give them their strawberries? It had a Les Mis " 2 percent for looking in the mirror twice" ( from the song " Master of the House") to it and for that reason we would prefer to try elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

I recently stayed four nights here and booked out the whole motel for guests attending a local wedding. While it doesn't have some of the amenities of other local hotels (swimming pool, restaurant) it more than makes up for this with the comfort, spaciousness and cleanliness of the rooms, the friendliness of the hosts Terry & Kathleen, and value for money. Some of the rooms have large spa baths which were very nice to soak in. Our guests all commented on how nice the motel was and how well they slept.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BK'S Chardonnay Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BK'S Chardonnay Motor Lodge

Address: 274 High Street, Masterton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Masterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed in the heart of the Wairarapa, Masterton is surrounded by some of NZ's finest wineries and it's magnificent coastline fishing aplenty,bush clad tramping tracks, long hot summers there's so much to do in the Wairarapa.BKs Chardonnay Motor Lodge has 18 self contained suites, stylishly appointed, all on ground level,with kitchenettes lazy boy chairs,ceiling fans & heater's, deluxe suite's have double spa baths. Make your stay a comfortable when in Masterton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your BK'S Chardonnay Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BK'S Chardonnay Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.