We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find! Absolute gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grapes Inn

The Grapes Inn
Railway Street, Slingsby YO62 4AL, England
01653 628076
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Slingsby
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“What a great find! Absolute gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We found this place just by driving past. There's plenty of places to park and lovely places to sit outside. Lot of attention to detail has be made with the interior which has a charming oldy woldy antique style.

Menu is small but perfect, every single pub classic on there.

We'll definitely come back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    14
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional food, lovely staff, beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The pub was recommended to us by our lovely hosts at Lime Kiln b&b when we recently stayed with them for a family wedding weekend at Castle Howard. They recommended booking which we did, and glad we did as it was full on arrival. Staff were welcoming on arrival, the interior was cosy and we were shown to our table to choose our meals. Menu was smaller than expected but so much choice we watched meals arrive at the next table which the helpful waitress explained each dish. I choose salmon fillet on a bed of leek & peas, there was also a burger and a salad order from my party of four. All meals arrived quickly, and the portions were enormous. Every morsel was eaten as it was hugely delicious. When the bill arrived, I was amazed each dish was only £9.50 each. Totally fantastic value. We finished our drinks outside in the pretty gazebo covered seating area, by the roaring fire pit whilst watching a charming wedding evening reception being hosted at the bottom of the garden. It looked so pretty, and makes me want to ship my family to Slingsby for my own wedding next year :0) Would defo return and recommend. Just remember to book

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Reasonable prices. Nicely cooked. Good service.Needs a wider selection on the menu if I were to return as the menu is far too small.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Food was good to a point, my partner was not keen on the Steak and ale pie as has been spoilt by the one at the Blacksmiths Arms at Westow but other than that everything was alright, the steaks were a little too fatty and more Starter choice would have been nice as if you don't like fish its no good, only 3 choices, prawns, crab or whitebait!! Would go back if I ever fancied a nice Chicken Caesar salad as this was very nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawcliffe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Something's Happening Here....and It's Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

A fine sunny day and a recent article in the Yorkshire Post on The Grapes was our motivation for lunch here yesterday. We were already aware their menu was fairly limited; what genuinely and pleasantly impressed us was the quality of our meals. My wife judged her steak and ale pie the best she has ever tasted and whilst we don't normally have desserts at lunchtime, we thought we'd break with habit on this occasion, and pleased we were that we did! Both the sticky toffee pudding and the chocolate torte were exceptional. Hostess Catherine was welcoming and attentive throughout and the soft jazz and fabulous decor were a lovely backdrop to our meal. Enterprise and quality such as this merits support....we'll be back, even from 40 miles away!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grapes Inn also viewed

Nunnington, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
Hovingham, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Grapes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grapes Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.