We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a relaxing view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stone Trough Inn

The Stone Trough Inn
Kirkham Abbey , Whitwell on the Hill, Kirkham YO60 7JS, England
01653 618713
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Kirkham
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
England
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Such a relaxing view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Having just visited the magnificent Kirkham Priory, we drove the short distance up the hill to the Stone Trough Inn. Initial impression - a very pretty, well cared for building and, as we discovered, an equally elegant & quirky interior. It was such a lovely warm Sunday lunchtime that we sat out on the terrace and enjoyed the beauty of the Howardian Hills. Knowing we were going to feast in York that evening, we chose 2 different salad dishes - a smoked duck & toasted pine nut salad with an orange dressing; and a pigeon & bacon salad - both really tasty. The staff were really attentive, prompt and very courteous. We shall definitely be returning for an evening there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    39
    16
    16
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A perfect setting for our big day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We recently held our wedding ceremony here and we couldn't say enough great things about the Stonetrough Inn! The day flowed beautifully due to the fantastic staff. Tim & the team were on hand for us all day. It is a long day for them, but not once did that show!
Leading up to the wedding communication with Tim & the team was excellent, always putting our minds at ease and nothing was too much for them to do.
Many of our guests complimented us on our lovely choice of venue and on how delicious the food was. From start to finish the Stonetrough have been superb, we cannot wait to visit again, and to top it all off we now have our wedding photos featuring the beautiful views from the pub.
A huge thank you again to Tim & the team, you all went above and beyond for our special day !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north tyneside
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

After making a booking for a party of six including three children for 7.30 we had to wait over one and half hours for our meal and ended being the last customers to leave the restaurant around 10.30. We were told after complaining that this was due to an influx of passing trade customers taking advantage of the good weather. We complained and the manger accepted it was an unacceptable situation and that they should have honoured the booking. A discount was given but in our view we had no confidence the same thing would not happen again. We will not be going back

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An amazing wedding venue!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My sister held her wedding ceremony and wedding reception at the Stone Trough on Saturday and I cannot say enough good things about the Stone Trough. It is an amazing wedding venue with absolutely stunning views (such a lovely backdrop for photos)!! Tim and team were very welcoming from the moment we got there. They helped in every way they possibly could. The food was delicious and I still think it's amazing that there was so much choice, you can go to a lot of other wedding venues which are much more expensive where you don't even get half the choice you did at the Stone Trough. It was a lovely day so we were able to make the most of the outside space. They did such a good job at decorating the tables too, they looked amazing!! I would just like to say a massive thank you to Tim and his team for making my sister's wedding a dream come true, it was a day we will never forget!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great pub for food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We visited The Stone Trough after a weekend away, on our way home from Durham

When we arrived, the manager (Tim) greeted us and made us feel welcome as always. We ordered from the specials menu which always has a great selection of locally-reared, seasonal dishes and as we have to eat gluten-free, they put on a separate frier to make sure that there was no cross-contamination when we have chips.

Our food arrived quickly and was delicious. The wine list is supplemented by a regularly changing specials list and we ordered a bottle of their delicious pinot noir.

Thanks again to Tim and the team for a fantastic meal. We stayed to enjoy "The Shamrockers" which were fantastic and despite planning to leave early, we stayed until the end as it was such a good "craic".

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stone Trough Inn also viewed

 
Leavening, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Stone Trough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stone Trough Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.