We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer, food,and views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stone Trough Inn

The Stone Trough Inn
Kirkham Abbey , Whitwell on the Hill, Kirkham YO60 7JS, England
01653 618713
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Kirkham
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good beer, food,and views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Ate here twice whilst staying nearby. Good outside seating and views. Nicely furnished pleasant interior. Varied reasonably priced menu. Good quality food, nice sized portions. I would not hesitate to recommend this pub to the fussiest of friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    39
    16
    16
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spacious, quaint, homely and superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It was a hot day, so called off for a pint at the Stone Trough Inn. We have a couple to bulldogs too, and they were welcomed as we were in to the Inn.

A wonderful selection of ales, beers, lathers and spirits. Black Sheep is particularly nice.

The food was very good and portions generous.

We even had an elderflower pims that was recommended to us, and glad it was - very drinkable and refreshing.

Overall the staff are incredibly friendly, helpful and kind, the Inn is well maintained throughout, great food, great drinks and a lovely experience. What more could you want!!

Keep up the good work, and you will have a customer for life.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wedding reception June 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had our wedding reception at the Stone Trough Inn in June 2013 and we're very, very impressed. Our guests had a lovely time, the food, drink and service were great. When the weather cleared, we had an opportunity for some photos outside in front of the spectacular valley view.

When we first contacted the manager, Tim, in March to book our reception, we were impressed straight away with his knowledge and professionalism. On the day, all the staff performed wonderfully and made our guests very welcome.

We would highly recommend the Stone Trough Inn at Kirkham Priory for a quick pint, a nice meal or a fully fledged function.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Top notch pub and grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We arrived at the wonderful Stone Trough after a good morning walk from our brilliant B&B in HIgh Stittenham. We were hoping for a good pint and equally good food and we were not disappointed. Yorkshire Real Ale (mild and bitter) and good wine got us off to a good start and the food did not disappoint in either choice and quality. We had found an atmospheric destination pub/restaurant in a beautiful position above KIrkham Abbey and the River. It was such a good find we drove back that night and had an equally good dinner.

Many thanks to Tim (now a friend on Facebook) and his team for looking after us all so well. We will be back, again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lovely location and great pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Went to the The stone trough with my parents. The pub has beautiful surrounding of fabulous Yorkshire, inside the place is traditional and even had a fire which was nice, despite it been June!! You gotta love the English weather.
We were served quickly and ordered fish and chips twice and the burger. When the food came out we were so pleases the fish was huge as was the burger. Truly a delicious meal which I would recommend. I don't easily pay compliment when eating out but I really enjoyed this meal. I even requested a little pot of gravy for my chips which was no problem. Another pleasant surprise was the bill as on a Thursday night they reduce the fish which we had not even realised, bonus.
I would return to this pub and recommend to others.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stone Trough Inn also viewed

 
Leavening, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Stone Trough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stone Trough Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.