We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Alpina

Chalet Alpina
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chalet Alpina to your Saves list
Chalet Alpina
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Frazione Arly 42, 11016 La Thuile, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 La Thuile B&B and Inns
ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little piece of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

From the first contact with the proprieters we were impressed by their willingness to assist us in planning and booking our family skiing holiday.On arrival we weren't disappointed as Eddy and Debbie turned out to be perfect hosts, accompanying us to the ski hire shop,ski school and gondola to smooth the process while also giving us tips on locker hire, local geography and reccommending local restaurants to suit both taste and pocket.

The Alpina Chalet itself is ideally suited within 5 mins walk to the lockers/chairlift. Both rooms were en-suite, immaculate and serviced on a daily basis.The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms always warm and 'toasty'. Breakfast was continental style with a variety of juices, meats, pastries, cereals and yogurts with teas/coffee/hot chocolate etc. The dry room is an excellent idea as are the use of 'crocs' as the common lounge area was always neat and dry, ideal for use of the free wifi. This common area also lends itself to a great informal gathering in the evening as guests exchange stories over a beer and friendships are formed in the planning of the next days adventures.

Our kids(14,11,8) loved this time as it gave them an ideal 'down time' before heading out to dinner. Suffice to say that they have rated this as the best of their three ski trips and have already (2 days) expressed the desire that if we go again they want to return to Chalet Alpina!

La Thuile offered ample variety in the skiing available both in the geography of the pistes and the technical difficulty. The children loved the ski school which offered excellent tuition in Italian and English. Eddy was always available to offer his insight on the following days exploits bearing in mind forecasted weather and predicted crowds. This was a valuable tool and was complimented by Debbies insight into the local hostelries and shopping which ensured a smooth trouble free holiday(which when you are travelling with kids is a godsend)

In conclusion I would have no hesitation in reccommending Chalet Alpina, delight in the friendships that we made and look forward to someday returning to this little piece of paradise

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be of equally high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed at Chalet Alpina in La Thuile from the 28th of December to the 8th of January 2012 with my wife and two children (11 and 9 years) and with friends of ours (family of 4). The experience and service was fantastic and I can strongly recommend it. The hotel management (Eddy and Debbie) are friendly and accommodating and the hotel has a wonderful relaxed feel. Eddy and Debbie are fluent in English and Italian. Facilities are very clean and very comfortable with good heating and good pressure in the showers. Breakfast is from 8am to 9:30am and is good and wholesome. Eddie and Debbie have been in La Thuile for 20+ years and provide excellent advice on where to eat out and also on best options for which runs to ski based on prevailing weather and snow conditions.

The hotel is very well positioned in a quiet area despite being a short walk from the main ski lift and from a variety of restaurants. The skiing in La Thuile is excellent for beginner through to advanced skiier offering many slopes that are generally uncrowded even during peak season.

I can fully recommend Chalet Alpina and La Thuile as a great skiing destination. During our stay we met other couples and families who had an equally enjoyable experience. We will be returning again to Chalet Alpina in December 2012

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgnorth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Upon arrival we were greeted by one of those A4 sheets telling us not to use the front door. No shoes in the house and no food to be brought in either according to the english rules but no mention of that in the italian ones. Breakfast was basic and there was another A4 notice telling us to clear our own trays away. The room was ok but a bit "eighties". Access to the skiing was quite good but a good walk if you have ski boots on. Overall I got the impression that the place was run for the owners rather than the clients. This was my first visit and I won't be going back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peacefullskiing, Owner at Chalet Alpina, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry you found our rules and regulations interfered with the enjoyment of your ski holiday. I assure you they are only imposed to keep the Chalet cleaner and more comfortable for you and for future guests. I have also written to you for an explanation of why you think we list the rules only for English speaking guests and not Italian ones but you have not replied so I assume perhaps you just misunderstood the Italian ones. I am English speaking myself so I have absolutely no reason to be prejudice against our English speaking guests.We have decided however to rephrase our rules and regulations with more of an explanation of why we like our guests to take off their outside shoes and use slippers in the Chalet, not smoke in the Chalet, use the back door entrance in the winter to keep out the snow and salt, use the trays to clear your table as it helps us keep our staff costs down and make your holiday cheaper for you etc, etc. We thought our reasons were obvious but I agree it makes it sound like a military camp instead of a cosy 80's style Alpine chalet which it is. Sorry about that too we are stuck in a time warp but we do try and update the Chalet as much as we can afford but still keep our prices good value and the accommodation clean and comfortable which luckily 99% of our guests appreciate.
I have to disagree however with you on one comment you made that our breakfast is basic. We serve tea, 3 types of coffee, hot chocolate, pure orange and grapefruit juices, Italian biscuits, freshly made croissants and various types of bread, butter and jam, fresh fruit and stewed fruit, yoghurt, 3 to 4 types of French cheeses and 2 types of breakfast cereals including a home made muesli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

My husband and I Stayed at the Chalet Alpina for a week during Feb half term as part of a package booked through Interski. The Chalet is spotlessly clean. Outdoor footwear is not allowed indoors and Eddie and Debbie have a selection of crocs for guests to wear if you do not have your own slippers. As a result the Chalet remains immaculately clean at all times. There is a drying room for boots and equipment which was always heated. Our room was nicely decorated and of a good size with plenty of storeage space. The bed was a little on the firm side, but we have experienced this on numerous occassions in Europe, so I suspect its the norm. The whole Chalet was always lovely and warm. The breakfast is continental, with more than enough choice to fill you up before heading out for a day on the slopes. There is a small lounge/bar area where drinks are served early evening. The walk to the slopes is approx 10 minutes, which does involve negotiating a steep zig-zag path. We hired a locker, from Only Ski, in the Planibel complex so we didnt have to tackle it in ski boots. (20 euro for a week for 2 sets of skis) The Chalet is in a quiet location but within walking distance of many restaurants and the village centre. The owners Eddie and Debbie are professional but friendly and hospitable and very helpful with restaurant choices and advise . Most other guests in the Chalet during our visit had been staying at the Chalet year upon year. What better recommendation!! I would definately recommend this Chalet to anyone looking for beautiful, clean chalet in a quiet and peaceful location, with a friendly atmosphere. We are looking forward to staying here again next year!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed at Chalet Aplina as a result of a skiing holiday with Interski. The slopes and snow in La Thuile were excellent and Chalet Alpina was just a pefect base. A short walk to the main cable car and restaurants and always warm and inviting on our return from the slopes. Simple but everything we needed. Comfortable and very clean bedrooms and an ideal (with some home backed croissants) breakfast. The owners couldn't have been more helpful and friendly with hints and restaurant bookings - they helped make our holiday just perfect. The Alpina was full (many of the other guests were repeat clients) but never crowded - the boot and drying room was ideal for our use and hot showers always available. A great secret place for an ideal (and quiet) winter holiday - we will be back. (Hope I haven't spoiled the secret).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

We stayed at Chalet Alpina with our group of ten people in January 2010. From the first e-mailed enquiry the owners Debbie and Eddie could not have been more helpful. They helped organise transfers, booked taxis and restaurants and generally made our trip as hassle free as possible.

The hotel is a basic place where every opportunity to improve it has been taken. There is free wi-fi in all the rooms, a very social lounge area with a bar, TV and chess boards, a library if you want to do some reading, and a snug - a mezzanine filled with cushions and accessed via a ladder for relaxing after a day on the slopes.

Bedrooms are basic but with TVs and are very clean. There wasn't any shampoo or body wash in the rooms so make sure you bring some with you.

Opposite the hotel is a new bar: Konver Music Cafe. It had only just opened when we got there but the staff were very friendly, giving our group free drinks every now and then during our visits.

The hotel is close to the lifts but accessed via a zig-zag path down a hill which can be a little slippy.

Our whole group thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Chalet Alpina and would recommend it to anyone who wants a clean, basic, good value hotel, with excellent customer service. We've been organising group trips of anything from 10-40 people to ski resorts for 8 years now and this is the hotel we've enjoyed the most.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

This was a one-week ski trip with a (late) teenage daughter and we stayed in Chalet Alpina It is a small hotel, very clean, very well run, and the owners - Eddie and Debbie - are very helpful. We had a car problem (-12 degrees in mid-morning and car wouldn't start - don't rent a Fiat diesel if heading to ski !) and Eddie was great, made all the calls to car rental etc. But back to the hotel ... its between 5 and 10 minutes walk to the gondola and it does entail a zig-zag path but its not a hassle. Rent the lockers in the Planibel or if you rent skis from Berthod then the lockers are free. La Thuile was great on new Years Eve -- who said it isn't a fun resort. There's a great pub called "Le Pub" which is relaxed about meals and children, and another posh restaurant called "Le Raclette" where you can get a pizza for €6.50, and they have linen tablecloths (!), and the skiing is good, but a bit cold and windy because the sun doesn't reach the La Thuile slopes that much. But if you're looking for a relaxed holiday which is all about the skiing rather than the night life then Chalet Alpina will server you well. Rooms are fine, big enough and have all the facilities you'd want. There's a ski room which dries out your gear overnight. My only qualm would be the breakfast, and I know its been mentioned before, but a bit more choice in, say, the cheeses, and fresh fruit, that would make it even better.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Alpina

Address: Frazione Arly 42, 11016 La Thuile, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > La Thuile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in La Thuile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Alpina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent value Hotel in La Thuile with just 16 comfortable rooms and ideally situated in the village in a tranquil position with easy access to the ski lifts, shops, bars and restaurants. Short 5 minute walk across a bridge to the main ski lifts. The Hotel is presently been renovated with some suites already in completion stage for winter 2014/15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chalet Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Alpina Hotel La Thuile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Alpina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.