We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Coq Maf

Le Coq Maf
Via Marcello Collomb 39, La Thuile, Italy
0039 348 3866298
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 33 Restaurants in La Thuile
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Peterborough, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What a steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I don;t think I'll eat a steak in Egland again! Huge and properly cooked. Not only that but less than £15. Better order soem veggies/salad though as they won't serve anything but the meat otherwise!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    30
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Being rated #1 on trip advisor was expecting it to be really good. Menu fine if you want beef. Food was pretty average and compared to other places we ate pricy. Was a very casual dining experience, which we don't mind, but expected it to be more special. Been, tried, won't be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not bad but we expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was recommended to us as a steak house for our second night in La Thuile - we were so ready for a steak after two days of ski so looked forward to this, but in end were slightly disappointed. The place was nice enough, and the steaks weren't bad, but we were expecting to be blown away but in the end the steaks were average. Maybe we caught them on a bad night?

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Steak Tagliatelle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

You will not get a better Steak Tagliatelle anywhere. Great service from all the staff and a smile from Monica. A good choice of wines by the bottle or only 2.50 euro for a large glass.
Always busy and looks like it could be overcrowded from the road, but go in, there is a restaurant at the rear and downstairs, plus an outside area at the back, although it was under a couple of foot of snow when we went.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javea, Spain
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
“Great food, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Well worth a visit, one of the best restaurants we ate in whilst in La Thuile. Service was efficient and friendly and although the menu is short on content the food was very good, We had a table upstairs beside the bar which was lively but not overwhelmingly loud. Only negative was that they did not have a house wine available by the carafe; somewhat disappointing and unusual for this area but not a massive problem. Food was not overpriced and represented good value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Coq Maf also viewed

 
La Thuile, Valle d'Aosta
La Thuile, Valle d'Aosta
 

Been to Le Coq Maf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Coq Maf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.