We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cardno's Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaka Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cardno's Accommodation
Save
You added Cardno's Accommodation to your Saves list
8 Marine Terrace, Kaka Point, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Kaka Point B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Cardno’s was had been given good reports on Tripadvisor so we decided that we would book in for 2 nights on our recent trip. We were not disappointed, the room was spacious and very clean with spectacular views of the coast line – what more can I say! A nice feature was a pair of binoculars that were in the room that you could use to look along the coast or out to sea. If the weather was a little better we would have utilised the deck area attached to the room. Cardno's is walking distance to the local pub, which after a busy day was great to relax in, with good pub food. Cardno's was an ideal place to base ourselves for a visit to The Catlins area of NZ. Cathedral Cave is great, but you have to get the timing right for low tide (Clyde had put a leaflet in room information stating when low-tide would be for the following few days), Curio Bay where we spotted a couple of Yellow Eyed penguins, McLeans Falls, etc it is all just a beautiful area that is not commercialised. Two nights is not quite enough to see it all.

If we are in the area again we would not hesitate to book at Cardno’s again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. Great to get feedback from our visitors, and hope you enjoyed your break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington NZ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

These apartments are a great base to explore local beaches and Nugget Point. Clean and well appointed, the hosts are very freindly. The pub on the water front does great Fish & chips. If your lucky you will see peguins at veiewing point. We saw two at 14.30 in the afternoon.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

These apartments are a great base to explore local beaches and Nugget Point. They didn't disappoint in any way - but don't expect too much from the local amenities at Kaka Point or elsewhere in the Catlins. If in doubt, stock up in Balclutha.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Kaka Point is a beautiful place to stay, and if you wish to cook your own meals it does pay to visit the supermarket in Owaka or Balclutha before you get to Kaka Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Haan, Belgium
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Spacious, clean comfortable room, but the decor of room was without much style.
Nice patio, but it is located just beside the street, no privacy
Located in quiet street: you look out at other houses and further you can see the sea
Reception was not particularly cordial and 5% commission for a payment by credit card is somewhat exaggerated
Wifi is oinly free for a short period

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We have not been charging 5% on credit card payments since we became owners of Cardnos in September, so if you check your statement I think you will find you havent been charged. (It does cost us 5% to make a credit card payment on site, therefore we do prefer if our customers can book and pay on our website.) Im sorry you did not like the decor but since we have been here most of our visitors comment on how refreshing and lovely the units are. Wifi vouchers are offered free and we are quite happy to supply extras if usage is not suffient. We try to make all our visitors welcome and try to encourage people to ask if they need anything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night as part of weekend trip to the Catlins.

Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Chocolates on arrival was a bonus! Also a pair of binoculars are provided to look out to the sea.

There was a small decked area outside which was great to catch the sun in the morning whilst eating breakfast. The view of the sea and beach is partial ( this is from room 2).

Nugget point is 15 min drive away down a gravel road.

Only one bar/restaurant in town which is 5 min walk away - served generous portions of typical pub style food.

Would definitely stay here again if passing through. Recommended.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a better sea/beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we are new in the business and value feedback. We really want to provide an excellent service so if you have any thoughts on how we can improve please email us on info@cardnos.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for three nights in Unit 2 overlooking the bay Robyn and Clive were very friendly, helpful hosts and they provided accommodation of a very high standard. The purpose-built unit had everything you needed for self-catering and had it been a little warmer we would have made good use of the patio. Our only minor issue was that of wi-fi access. Our hosts made this available through the purchase of a voucher but it only provided a very limited amount of time.

Kaka Point is well positioned for exploring the Catlins and we would recommend an early stop at the Owaka visitors' centre with its brilliant museum as well as helpful advice about the area. Two whole days was nowhere near enough time for us to explore the area fully but Curio Bay and its petrified forest is a must: as is Surat Bay and the lounging sea-lions and, of course, Roaring Bay and the Yellow Eyed penguin colony.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you Roger for your positive comments- Have noted your comment on the Wifi vouchers. I can supply vouchers with a larger volumn, I will make it a point to ask our visitors of their requirements in future. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed two nights in unit 2. Amazingly good sleep on a large comfy bed, comfy arm chairs in the room as well as furniture on the deck - both positioned to enjoy the wonderful sea views & out towards Nugget Point Lighthouse. Robyn & Clive proved to be excellent hosts, knowledgable about the area & very helpful. Would definately stay again

Room Tip: Both the front rooms have excellent views - the 3rd unit is cheaper, but you miss out on enjoying a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you Diane for your great review - glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cardno's Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardno's Accommodation

Address: 8 Marine Terrace, Kaka Point, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Kaka Point
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kaka Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robyn and Clive Barnett welcome you to their Catlins Accommodation in Kaka Point, you will be well-placed to explore one of the last frontiers of tourist destinations in New Zealand. The seaside accommodation is only 1 hour's drive from Dunedin Airport, following the Southern Scenic Route. The accommodation offers quality, modern contemporary furnished accommodation: either a self-contained unit (apartment-style) with cooking facilities or studio unit with breakfast facilities, both with fantastic sea views. Also there is a well appointed modern styled economy unit, with out sea views. Long stays welcome and tariffs adjusted accordingly. No children or pets;FREE WIFI. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cardno's Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.